A. Using the Document Setup Wizard ...............4
B. Opening files ..................................6
C. Sharing files ................................... 6
D. Importing and exporting MIDI files ...............7
Navigating Your Music 8
A. Choosing a view ...............................8
B. Zooming In and Out ...........................10
C. Dragging the Visible Score Region ..............11
D. Switching pages ..............................11
Entering Your Music: Simple Entry 12
A. Entering notes with your mouse ................12
B. Entering notes with your computer keyboard .....13
C. Typing notes into the score with your computer
keyboard .....................................14
D. Entering notes into the score with a MIDI keyboard 16
E. Working with Layers ...........................16
Playing in Your Music —HyperScribe
® 18
A. Recording a performance ......................18
B. Setting the smallest note value ..................18
C. Recording into two staves ...................... 19
Selecting Music 20
A. Selecting regions and measures ................20
B. Expanding selection ...........................21
Using Contextual Menus 22
Copying, Pasting, and Inserting 24
A. Drag-copying .................................24
B. Clipboard-copying .............................24
C. Inserting music ...............................25
Changing the Measure Layout 26
A. Fitting a certain number of measures per system ..26
B. Adjusting the measure layout manually .......... 27
Working with Staves 28
A. Adding instruments ...........................28
B. Deleting instruments ..........................28
C. Applying Alternate Notation ....................29
D. To move staves ..............................29
Markings and Text 30
A. Adding expressions ...........................30
B. Adding articulations ...........................31
C. Adding slurs and hairpins ......................32
D. Adding text ...................................33
Key Signatures, Time Signatures, and Clefs 34
A. Defining a key signature .......................34
B. Defining a time signature ......................35
C. Defining a clef change .........................35
Lyrics, Chords, and Repeats 36
A. Typing in lyrics ................................36
B. Typing in chord symbols .......................37
C. Creating repeats with 1st and 2nd endings .......37
Playback 38
A. Playback Controls .............................38
B. Changing the playback tempo ..................38
®
C. Using Human Playback
.......................39
Page Layout 40
Sharing Your Music 41
A. Printing your score ............................41
B. Exporting an audio file ......................... 42
®
C. Sharing your music online with Finale NotePad
Online customer service
and technical support:
www.finalemusic.com/support
7615 Golden Triangle Drive, Suite M
Eden Prairie, MN 55344-3848
www.finalemusic.com
..42
MakeMusic
Table of ConTenTsTable of ConTenTs
wiNdowswiNdows
Page 3
Getting Started
A. Using the Document Setup Wizard
3
Add or remove instruments
and click Next.
SongWriter’s Document Setup Wizard is usually the fastest way to begin a new score.
The pages in this wizard allow you to quickly specify all the basic score elements.
From the File menu, choose New >
1
Document with Setup Wizard.
Choose the ensemble and Document
2
Style and click Next.
Document Styles include fonts and
markings designed for particular
types of documents, in this case,
a choral jazz arrangement.
See “Setup Wizard” in the User Manual for details.
4
GeTTinG sTarTedGeTTinG sTarTed
wiNdows
4
On pages 3 and 4, indicate
the desired score elements,
and click Finish.
Pages 3 and 4 allow you to specify the:
• Title
• Credits and copyright
• Key signature
• Time signature
• Tempo indication
• Pickup measure
• Number of measures
wiNdows
5
Page 4
B. Opening files
D. Importing and exporting MIDI files
Open a SongWriter file by choosing Open from the File menu. SongWriter 2012 can open all Finale® notation files
(*.MUS) saved in SongWriter 2012 or earlier, as well as those saved in other Finale-family notation products.
C. Sharing files
SongWriter's native file format is the Finale Notation file (*.MUS). These files are cross-platform, which
means the same file can be opened on either a Macintosh
not backwards compatible, which means a SongWriter 2012 document cannot be opened in SongWriter
2010 or any previous version of SongWriter. To open a SongWriter 2012 file in SongWriter 2010, export the
file in MusicXML format.
6
GeTTinG sTarTedGeTTinG sTarTed
®
or a Windows® computer. SongWriter files are
SongWriter 2010SongWriter 2012
MusicXML
SongWriter 2012
SongWriter 2010
wiNdows
SongWriter can import and export standard MIDI files. MIDI files can be understood by most music
programs including sequencers and digital audio workstations. If you prefer to compose by recording into
your favorite sequencer, you can save your piece as a standard MIDI file. Then, open the file (File > Open)
and SongWriter will convert it to notation. Saving your SongWriter document as a MIDI file is just as easy...
To save your score as a MIDI file
1
From the File menu, choose Save As.
2
From the Format popup menu,
choose MIDI File (*.MID).
3
Click Save.
wiNdows
7
Page 5
Navigating Your Music
Getting the best view of your score-in-progress is crucial to working with SongWriter efficiently.
A. Choosing a view
You can view your music in Page View or Scroll View.
From the View menu, choose Scroll View or Page View.
8
naviGaTinG Your MusiCnaviGaTinG Your MusiC
wiNdows
ctrl
Press +
E
to switch between Page
View and Scroll View
wiNdows
Page View
displays your music exactly as it will appear on the printed
page. Use this view for system and page layout.
Scroll View
displays your music in
one continuous horizontal
system, free from page
constraints.
Search “Views” in the User Manual for more details.
9
Page 6
B. Zooming In and Out
C. Dragging the Visible Score Region
You can find zoom commands under the View menu, but to save time, use keyboard shortcuts.
ctrl
Press + to zoom in
+
=
Zooming in and out using your mouse cursor:
Click with the middle mouse button to zoom in to the position clicked.
ctrl
+ click with the middle mouse button to zoom out.
For more, search “Zoom” in the User Manual.
10
naviGaTinG Your MusiCnaviGaTinG Your MusiC
ctrl
Press + to zoom out
—
–
wiNdows
Use SongWriter’s Hand Grabber Tool to reposition your view of the score.
Right-click and drag to move the score.
D. Switching pages
In Page View, use the arrow buttons in
the lower left corner of your screen to
navigate between pages. Or, use the
keystrokes listed here:
Page
Down
Search for “Page View” in the User
Manual for more information.
wiNdows
ctrl
Press +
to move to the previous page.
Search for “Hand Grabber” in the User
Manual for more information.
ctrl
Press +
Page
Up
to move to the next page.
11
Page 7
Entering Your Music: Simple Entry
1
Click the Simple Entry Tool
2
Note the Simple menu (a) appears at the top of your screen. You will use
this menu to change settings and refer to keyboard shortcuts.
3
Note the Simple Entry Palette (b), which you will use to specify note
durations and other note properties.
A. Entering notes with your mouse
1
Click the note duration in the Simple Entry Palette, as well as
the accidental, tie, tuplet, or grace note.
2
Position your mouse cursor where you would like to enter the note.
3
Click to enter the note. SongWriter flips the stem direction
when appropriate.
.
a.
b.
B. Entering notes with your computer keyboard
Use your numeric keypad (c) to choose note durations before you click them in. Use
the image to the right as a guide. To remove extra tools, double-press as shown below.
To change the
selected duration.
(press once)
To select only the
duration and remove
(press twice)
the dot and flat.
Notes are purple when you enter them,
indicating they can be edited with a keystroke.
Change the duration of the note you just
entered by pressing Alt + # (1-8).
Press numpad 9 and
click to add a triplet.
c.
LAPTOP USERS: Use the
“Laptop Shortcut Table” to
improve the efficiency of your
smaller keyboard. Choose
Simple > Keyboard Shortcut
Set > Laptop Shortcut Set.
12
Tip: Double-click one of these tools to
de-select all other tools in the Simple
Entry Palette.
enTerinG Your MusiC: siMple enTrYenTerinG Your MusiC: siMple enTrY
wiNdows
wiNdows
alt
+
6
All Simple Entry keyboard shortcuts
are listed under the Simple menu.
13
Page 8
C. Typing notes into the score with your computer keyboard
Using your computer keyboard to type notes into the score is faster than clicking. To do so, type the
duration, then:
enter
enter
shift
5
Press Shift-down arrow to move
the caret down an octave.
ctrl
+
Moves selection
Moves selection up/down.
+
left/right.
14
1
Press Enter to activate the
Simple Entry Caret, which is
SongWriter’s entry cursor.
4
Or, simply type the letter of the
desired pitch, 0 (zero) for a rest.
enTerinG Your MusiC: siMple enTrYenTerinG Your MusiC: siMple enTrY
23
Use the up and down arrows
to choose the pitch.
ABC0D
Press Enter to enter the note.
wiNdows
Here are some common ways to modify a selected note.
—
=+–
Sharp FlatAdd tieFlip stem Flip
wiNdows
T
L\3
enharmonic
Add
interval
third
//
Break/join beam
+–
Half step
increase
(numpad)
Half step
decrease
(numpad)
See “Simple Entry” in the User
Manual for more information.
15
Page 9
D. Entering notes into the score with a MIDI keyboard
Use the following shortcuts to quickly change layers.
You can use your MIDI keyboard (or other MIDI
device) to quickly enter notes. With the caret
active, simply play the desired note or chord to
add it to the score.
Check Simple > Use MIDI Device for Input,
to use a MIDI keyboard for note entry.
E. Working with Layers
When a second voice with a different rhythm is required within a measure, like the eighth notes shown here,
enter the line in a new layer. Each layer is a rhythmically independent voice. Simply choose the new layer and
enter as you would normally.
16
enTerinG Your MusiC: siMple enTrYenTerinG Your MusiC: siMple enTrY
See “Speedy Entry” and
“HyperScribe
Manual for other ways to enter
music using a MIDI keyboard.
®
” in the User
The layer selection buttons are located in the lower
left corner of the SongWriter window.
wiNdows
alt
alt
alt
alt
shift
+
shift
+
shift
+
shift
+
+
+
+
+
1
= Layer 1
2
= Layer 2
3
= Layer 3
4
= Layer 4
From the Document menu, choose Show Active Layer
Only to work with a single layer independently.
+
See “Multiple Voices” in the User
Manual for more information.
wiNdows
Always use layers 1 and 2 first when notating
multiple voices. If there are three or four voices in
a single staff, then use layers 3 and 4 as needed.
Show Active Layer Only allows you to edit or clear
individual layers without affecting the hidden layers.
(Compare to figure above).
17
Page 10
Playing in Your Music —HyperScribe
HyperScribe allows you to record directly from your MIDI
keyboard into the score. To configure your MIDI keyboard
(or other external MIDI device) for use with SongWriter, see
“Setting up your MIDI system” in the Tutorials section of the
SongWriter User Manual.
A. Recording a performance
3
1
Click the HyperScribe Tool.
2
Click a measure.
Wait for two countoff measures and begin playing.
4
When you’re done, click the score.
®
Choose MIDI > Quantization
Settings to open this dialog box.
Results of your HyperScribe
recording depend on the
Smallest Note Value selected
and other quantization settings.
C. Recording into two staves
B. Setting the smallest note value
Since a live performance is never perfect, SongWriter rounds off your performance to the nearest note
value you choose. For example, if your piece does not include any notes shorter than an eighth note, tell
SongWriter this by specifying eighth as the smallest note value to ensure there will not be sixteenth notes in
the transcription. This setting is configured in the Quantization Settings dialog box.
18
plaYinG in Your MusiC—HYpersCribeplaYinG in Your MusiC—HYpersCribe
wiNdows
1
Click the HyperScribe Tool
2
From the HyperScribe menu, choose Record
Mode > Split Into Two Staves.
3
Enter the split point (middle C = 60) and click OK.
4
Record your performance.
wiNdows
.
19
Page 11
Selecting Music
The Selection Tool is SongWriter's universal editing tool. It can be used to select, move, delete, copy, paste,
or otherwise edit any region of measures and virtually any individual item in the score.
B. Expanding selection
Use keyboard shortcuts to expand or contract
the selected region on a single staff...
A. Selecting regions and measures
Click
Drag
20
Click and drag diagonally
across any measure region
(partial or whole measures)
to select a measure region.
Tip: See “Selecting Music” in the
User Manual for more details.
seleCTinG MusiCseleCTinG MusiC
Click on the staff lines
(between beats) to select
a full measure.
Double-click a full measure, or
Command-click between beats.
Copying measure-specific
items or deleting full measures
requires a stack selection.
wiNdows
...or on multiple staves.
wiNdows
To next beat
To end of measure
To end of score
shift
shift
ctrl
shift
+
shift
+
shift
+
2
+
end
+
+
(again)
A selected region including full
measures in every staff
is called a measure stack
and is indicated by highlighting
that extends from the top to the
bottom staff, including
the area between staves.
21
Page 12
Using Contextual Menus
22
Transpose, add
Right-click to open contextual menus.
You can perform many common tasks using contextual menus.
repeats, insert
measures, and make
other changes to
measure regions.
Edit or
delete text.
Or, choose from one of the many other options. By context-clicking a region you can perform a multitude
of additional tasks:
• Edit measure attributes
• Change the barline style
• Create or break multimeasure rests
• Cut, copy, or paste
Change the key.
• Transpose
• Add, insert, or delete measures
• Change the key, meter, or clef
• Apply alternate notation
• Add repeats
usinG ConTexTual MenususinG ConTexTual Menus
wiNdows
wiNdows
23
Page 13
Copying, Pasting, and Inserting
SongWriter offers a great deal of control over copying, pasting (replacing), and inserting.
A. Drag-copying
If the source and target regions are both visible on your screen, quickly copy music by dragging the selected region.
1
Click and hold
B. Clipboard-copying
If the source and target regions are not both visible on your screen, copy music
to the clipboard, then paste the contents of the clipboard to the target region.
24
CopYinG, pasTinG, and inserTinGCopYinG, pasTinG, and inserTinG
ctrl
+
1
C
2
Select the target
ctrl
+
3
V
C. Inserting music
Using the above methods, SongWriter overwrites the content in the target region. When you insert, all
subsequent music is pushed toward the end of the score, usually increasing the total number of measures.
alt
2
Drag
Release
3
Tip: See “Copying Music” in the
User Manual for more details.
wiNdows
+ click and drag to insert instead of paste.
A red insertion bar indicates the inserted
music will nudge music toward the end of the
score. Full measures will not be inserted.
wiNdows
A green insertion bar appears when copying and inserting
stacks. It indicates SongWriter will insert the full measure(s),
pushing subsequent measures toward the end of the score.
25
Page 14
Changing the Measure Layout
A. Fitting a certain number of measures per system
1
Select the measures you would like to fit.
2
From the Utilities menu, choose Fit Measures.
Type the number of measures and click OK.
3
To add, delete, or insert measures,
see “Measures” in the User Manual.
SongWriter automatically adjusts the
measure layout to fit the specified
number of measures throughout the
selected region.
B. Adjusting the measure layout manually
You can move individual measures from one system to the next, or to the previous.
1
Select the measure(s).
ctrl
2
Press to
move to the next system, or
to move to
ctrl
the previous.
Tip: To add a pickup measure,
from the Document menu,
choose Pickup Measure.
+
+
Tip: See “Measure Layout” in the
User Manual for more details.
26
CHanGinG THe Measure laYouTCHanGinG THe Measure laYouT
wiNdows
wiNdows
27
Page 15
Working with Staves
A. Adding instruments
1
Choose Window > ScoreManager.
2
Click
the instrument you would like to insert.
and select
SongWriter adds the
instrument in the selected
score order, properly
grouped according to
instrument type.
B. Deleting instruments
Click the X in the ScoreManager to delete an
instrument from the score.
C. Applying Alternate Notation
1
Select the measure region.
2
Right-click the region and select the
desired Alternate Notation Style.
Alternate Notation can be used to apply a notation
style, such as the following, to a portion of a staff.
D. To move staves
Click a staff handle and drag to move it vertically
for one system only. (Double-click the handle and
drag to position the staff in all systems.)
See “To move staves” in the User Manual for more details.
28
1-bar repeats
SongWriter removes
the staff and repositions
adjacent staves
accordingly.
WorkinG WiTH sTavesWorkinG WiTH sTaves
wiNdows
wiNdows
Rhythmic notation
Slash notation
29
Page 16
Markings and Text
Most markings and text are added with one of three tools; the
Expression Tool, Articulation Tool, or Smart Shape Tool. In this
section, you will learn how to easily add these figures, and
which tool to use.
A. Adding expressions
Six different types of figures are added with expressions,
each with its own category:
Articulation Tool
Expression Tool
Smart Shape Tool
B. Adding articulations
Articulations are markings attached
to a single note, including:
Ornaments
Accents
Staccato
Tenuto
Add an articulation
to a single note:
1
Click the Articulation Tool
2
Single-click the note.
3
Double-click the articulation.
.
F
Adagio = 40
accel.
con brio
arco
A
30
Add an articulation
Add an expression:
1
Click the Expression Tool
2
Double-click the score.
3
Choose the category.
4
Double-click the expression.
MarkinGs and TexTMarkinGs and TexT
.
wiNdows
wiNdows
to multiple notes:
1
Click the Articulation Tool
2
Drag-select a region of notes.
3
Double-click the articulation.
.
31
Page 17
C. Adding slurs and hairpins
Lines, curves, and other shapes are added with
the Smart Shape Tool.
TrillsOttavas (8va/8vb)
HairpinsSlurs
D. Adding text
Titles, subtitles, composer, arranger, lyricist, and other
text that does not need to adjust with the music is added
with the Text Tool.
Titles
Subtitles
Composer
Adding a Smart Shape:
1
Click the Smart Shape Tool
2
Choose the desired tool from
the Smart Shape Palette.
3
Double-click and drag to add
the Smart Shape.
32
MarkinGs and TexTMarkinGs and TexT
Setting a document’s title page text:
.
Drag the diamond
handles to adjust the
slur contour.
wiNdows
1
From the Window menu, choose
ScoreManager and click the File Info tab.
2
Enter the page text information.
3
Click OK.
wiNdows
To enter Lyrics,
use the Lyrics Tool
Adding other text on a page:
1
Double-click to display the text frame.
2
Type the desired text, or, choose an insert.
3
Press Return.
.
To add a text insert,
choose Text > Insert.
33
Page 18
Key Signatures, Time Signatures, and Clefs
Changing the key, time, or clef:
1
Choose the Selection Tool
2
Right-click a measure.
3
Choose the Key Signature, Time Signature, or
.
Clef command and choose the desired option.
A. Defining a key signature
Time Signatures
Key SignaturesClef Changes
B. Defining a time signature
1
Click the Time Signature Tool
2
Double-click
a measure.
3
Use the Number
of Beats slider
to specify the
number of
beats per measure.
4
Use the Beat Duration slider to specify the
duration (e.g. eighth, quarter, etc.).
.
C. Defining a clef change
1
Click the Clef Tool
2
Double-click
a measure.
3
Double-click
the desired clef.
.
1
Click the Key Signature Tool
2
Double-click a measure.
3
Use the slider next to the key signature
preview to specify the key.
4
Click OK.
34
keY siGnaTures, TiMe siGnaTures, and ClefskeY siGnaTures, TiMe siGnaTures, and Clefs
.
wiNdows
5
Click OK.
wiNdows
35
Page 19
Lyrics, Chords, and Repeats
A. Typing in lyrics
1
After the notes are entered, click the Lyrics Tool
2
From the Lyrics menu, check Type Into Score.
3
Click a note to display a blinking cursor beneath the staff.
4
Type a syllable and then press the spacebar to advance.
Use - (dash) to add hyphens between syllables.
When typing chord symbols, use “b” for flat
and “#” for sharp.
.
4
Press spacebar. SongWriter converts your text
to a chord symbol.
To show guitar fretboards, from the Chord menu, choose
Show Fretboards.
C. Creating repeats with 1st and 2nd endings
4
1
Click the Repeat Tool
2
Select the region of measures you would like to
enclose in repeat barlines, including the first ending
.
measures.
3
From the Repeat menu, chose Create Simple Repeat.
Select the first ending measures.
5
From the Repeat menu, choose Create First
and Second Endings.
Type: “Amin7 [spacebar]”
36
lYriCs, CHords, and repeaTslYriCs, CHords, and repeaTs
wiNdows
wiNdows
37
Page 20
Playback
A. Playback Controls
The Playback Controls
are located in a floating
palette that gives you
tape deck-like buttons for
controlling the playback
of your score.
Hold down and click a measure to start playback (no HP).
ctrl
Press + + click and drag to spot-check.
spacebar
spacebar
C. Using Human Playback
®
The proper performance of any piece of music depends on the genre and style. For example, you wouldn’t
expect a jazz piece to be performed the same way as a classical sonata. Tell SongWriter how you want your
piece performed using Human Playback. Human Playback performs the music in the style specified, and even
interprets the markings you’ve added. To choose a Human Playback style, from the MIDI menu choose Human
Playback, and then select the desired style.
1
From the MIDI menu, choose Human Playback and then
select the desired style.
2
To turn off Human Playback, from the MIDI menu,
choose Human Playback > None.
ctrl
Press + + + to spot-check a single staff.
B. Changing the playback tempo
If you have not defined a tempo marking:
1
In the Playback Controls, click the Tempo popup
menu and choose the desired note duration.
2
Enter the number of beats per minute in the adjacent text box.
38
plaYbaCkplaYbaCk
shift
spacebar
Tempo marking expressions override
the tempo indicated in the Playback
Controls. See “Tempo Marks” in the
SongWriter User Manual.
wiNdows
Choose MIDI > Human Playback > Jazz to activate the Swing submenu
(under the MIDI menu) where you can select the type of swing feel to
add (light, standard, or heavy).
wiNdows
39
Page 21
Page Layout
Sharing Your Music
40
Adjusting the position of systems and page margins should be the final step before printing your
score. Use the following techniques to finalize the page layout:
Click and drag these handles
to adjust the position of the
page margins for this page.
Click and drag these
handles to adjust the
system’s top margin.
Click and drag a system to adjust the
position of the system, which also adjusts
all subsequent systems vertically.
A. Printing your score
ctrl
+
To print, press and click OK.
P
Click and drag these handles to adjust the
system's bottom margin.
ctrl
+ click and drag to move
a system independently.
See “Page Layout” in the User Manual
for more details on laying out your pages.
paGe laYouTsHarinG Your MusiC
wiNdows
See “Printing”in the User Manual for details.
wiNdows
41
Page 22
B. Exporting an audio file
1
From the File menu, choose Export to Audio File.
2
Choose a location and filename.
3
Choose whether to save a compressed
or standard audio file.
4
Click Save.
C. Sharing your music online with Finale NotePad
Share your music with anyone over the Internet, even if they don’t own a Finale-family product.
Simply instruct your recipient to download and install the free Finale NotePad available here:
www.finalemusic.com/notepad
Then, e-mail the file as an attachment, or post it to a website such as www.finaleshowcase.com.
With Finale NotePad, anyone can open, play, and print your masterpiece.
42
sHarinG Your MusiC
®
wiNdows
Loading...
+ hidden pages
You need points to download manuals.
1 point = 1 manual.
You can buy points or you can get point for every manual you upload.