Canon PowerShot SD400, PowerShot SD500, ImageBrowser 5.1 Software User's Manual

Page 1
5.1
1 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 2
Table of Contents (1/2)
Chapter 1 What is ImageBrowser ?
What Can ImageBrowser Do? .................................................. 5
Guide to the ImageBrowser Windows ..................................... 6
Chapter 2 Downloading and Printing Images
Downloading Images to Your Computer .................................. 8
Chapter 3 What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Camera Control Window ........................................................ 16
Downloading Images Automatically—Camera Operations ......... 18
Downloading Images Automatically—Computer Operations .....19
Checking Images in the Camera before Downloading ............22
Deleting Images from the Camera ..........................................24
Other Features of the Camera Browser Window ....................25
Saving the “My Camera Settings” to the Camera .................... 26
Setting up Slide Shows on the Camera .................................... 34
Setting the DPOF Print Settings ............................................... 35
Checking and Modifying the Camera Settings ........................37
Adding Computer Images to the Camera ................................38
Operating the Camera Shutter from a Computer ................... 39
Chapter 4 Viewing Images
Starting ImageBrowser ............................................................43
Selecting Folders ..................................................................... 44
Changing the Display Mode .................................................... 46
Changing the Browser Window Display ..................................48
Opening Images ...................................................................... 50
Using the Viewer Window ...................................................... 51
Chapter 5 Organizing Images
Selecting Images ...................................................................... 55
Setting Star Ratings ................................................................. 56
Assigning Keywords ................................................................58
Sorting Images ........................................................................ 60
Renaming Images .................................................................... 62
Searching Images .................................................................... 64
Moving and Copying Images ...................................................66
Deleting Images ...................................................................... 68
Rotating Images ...................................................................... 69
Viewing Image Information .................................................... 70
Creating Folders ...................................................................... 71
2 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 3
Table of Contents (2/2)
Chapter 6 Using Supplementary Features
Editing Images with Other Programs ......................................76
Creating Images for E-mail ...................................................... 77
Exporting Images .................................................................... 79
Running Slide Shows ...............................................................82
Adding Sounds to Images ........................................................ 85
Printing Images over Multiple Pages ....................................... 95
Sorting Images by Date and Time - TimeTunnel ......................96
Playing Movies ........................................................................ 98
Converting RAW Images ....................................................... 102
Stitching Panoramic Images - PhotoStitch ............................. 107
Appendices
Supported Image Types ......................................................... 108
Customizing Preferences .......................................................109
Troubleshooting .................................................................... 112
Index
Index ..................................................................................... 113
3 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 4
Notations and Conventions
Symbol Usage
This guide uses the following symbols.
Information essential to operations, such as explanations of functions or terminology, follows this symbol.
Information about the steps to perform follows this symbol.
Operating tips and convenient ways of using the program follow this symbol. Read these topics as you see fit.
IMPORTANT
Points that you need to follow to perform the procedures and other important topics follow this symbol. Always read these topics.
Terminology Usage
The following terms are used in this guide as indicated below.
• CF card, SD card, PC card, multimedia card ➜ memory card
NOTE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• This guide uses Mac OS X v10.3 screen shots and procedures in the explanations. The screen shots and procedures may vary slightly if you are using another version of the Mac OS.
REFERENCE
Supplementary explanations and procedures follow this symbol. Read these topics as you see fit.
4 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 5
Chapter 1
What is ImageBrowser?
What Can ImageBrowser Do?
This section provides a brief explanation of the ImageBrowser features.
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
• Download images from the camera to the computer.
• Save computer images to the camera.
• Operate the camera shutter remotely from the computer (only on models supporting remote shooting).
• Set up camera slide shows or DPOF print settings (only available on some models).
• Check and modify camera settings.
• Set the My Camera Settings (start-up image, start-up sound, operation sound, self-timer sound and shutter sound).
View Images
• Display the downloaded images and their shooting information.
• Switch between display modes (Preview, List and TimeTunnel)
Use the Additional Features
• Print images.
• Edit images and movies.
• Stitch panoramic images.
• Convert RAW images to standard images (only available on some models).
• Format images as screensaver and wallpaper files.
• Export image shooting information as a text file.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• The Canon CD-ROM supplied with the camera contains My Camera Settings files. These files are automatically copied to your computer when ImageBrowser is installed.
Organize Images
• Assign a Star Rating or keywords to images.
• Sort images according to their shooting date or Star Rating.
• Perform image searches.
5 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 6
Chapter 1
What is ImageBrowser?
This section briefly introduces the purposes and features of the two main windows for operating ImageBrowser.
Guide to the ImageBrowser Windows (1/2)
Camera Control Window
The Camera Control Window is the window that automatically opens when you connect a camera to the computer or insert a memory card into a memory card reader. You can download the camera or memory card images in a few easy steps. You can also use the computer to change some camera settings.
Browser Window
This window opens when you start ImageBrowser. The Browser Window is for displaying and organizing downloaded images.
6 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 7
Chapter 1
What is ImageBrowser?
Using Contextual Menus
When you hold down the [control] key and click the mouse button, a menu is displayed. This is a contextual menu. In ImageBrowser, you can access many useful functions through contextual menus. For example, the following contextual menu appears when you press and hold the [control] key and click an image in the Browser Area.
Guide to the ImageBrowser Windows (2/2)
A contextual menu is, as its name implies, a menu whose options vary according to the context. It is a collection of the most commonly used buttons and commands that apply to a given situation. Contextual menus allow you to use ImageBrowser more efficiently. When you feel comfortable with ImageBrowser, try using the contextual menus in different situations.
7 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Contextual menu
Page 8
Chapter 2
Downloading and Printing Images
Downloading Images to Your Computer (1/6)
This chapter explains a sequence of ImageBrowser basic procedures in order, such as downloading images from the camera and printing downloaded images. This section starts by explaining the procedures for downloading images from the camera.
IMPORTANT
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• This guide assumes that all the relevant software programs and drivers have been correctly installed on your computer. If you have not yet installed them, read the guides for the software supplied with your camera and install them.
Auto Start Settings the First Time ImageBrowser Is Used
This section explains the settings for automatically opening the Camera Control Window when you connect your camera to a computer.
IMPORTANT
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You must perform this step before connecting the camera to a computer for the first time.
1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
Mac OS X v10.2/v10.3
Start Image Capture.
Image Capture is a program supplied as part of Mac OS X. It is usually contained in the Applications folder.
In the [Image Capture] menu, select [Preferences].
In the [When a camera is connected, open:] list box, select [Other].
Select [CameraWindow] in the application selection window and click [Open].
CameraWindow is found by opening the [Applications] folder, followed by the [Canon Utilities] and [CameraWindow] folders.
Click [OK] and close Image Capture.
8 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 9
Chapter 2
Downloading and Printing Images
Mac OS X v10.1
Downloading Images to Your Computer (2/6)
1.
2.
3.
4.
Start Image Capture.
Image Capture is a program supplied as part of Mac OS X. It is usually contained in the Applications folder.
In the [Hot Plug Action] list box, select [Other].
Select [CameraWindow] in the application selection window.
CameraWindow is found by opening the [Applications] folder, followed by the [Canon Utilities] and [CameraWindow] folders.
Close Image Capture.
9 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 10
Chapter 2
Downloading and Printing Images
Downloading Images to Your Computer (3/6)
Connecting the Camera to Download
This section describes two methods for downloading images shot with the camera to a computer.
Downloading Images with Camera Commands
You can use this method to download images with cameras that support the direct transfer function.
Downloading Images with Computer Commands
This method uses commands entered on the computer to download images from a memory card in a camera or in a memory card reader. This method can be used regardless of whether your camera supports the direct transfer function or not. This method is explained later in the Using Computer Commands to Download Images section.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• This section uses the “Download All Camera Images Not Yet Downloaded” method, a simple method, to download images. Chapter 3 explains in greater detail how to select images for downloading from a camera or memory card and how to perform tasks such as changing the file destination.
• If images shot on different dates are contained on the memory card, the images will be grouped in folders by shooting date when they are downloaded and the folder with the most recent shooting date will display.
1.
Using Camera Commands to Download Images
You can download images using camera commands if your camera supports the direct transfer function (camera has a (Print/Share) button).
Connect the camera to the computer with the interface cable.
If a Camera Control Window similar to the one below opens, proceed directly to Step 2. If your camera features a Share) button, it will flash and a Direct Transfer menu similar to the lower right one will appear on the camera’s LCD monitor.
Camera Control Window
IMPORTANT
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
* If the Direct Transfer menu does not appear in the camera's
LCD monitor, you cannot download images using camera procedures.
(Print/
10 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 11
Chapter 2
Downloading and Printing Images
Downloading Images to Your Computer (4/6)
2.
Some camera models must have settings, such as the Playback mode, set to communicate with the computer. If your camera requires this, consult your Camera User Guide to set the necessary settings for communication.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• If a remote shooting window opens, the Camera Control Window will not open. Please close the remote shooting window.
• A dialog will appear if a camera and a memory card reader are both connected to allow you to select the device from which images are shown. Select the desired device from the list box and click [OK].
Set the Direct transfer settings on the camera, and push the
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• See your Camera User Guide for explanations of the settings and commands related to the Direct Transfer menu that appears in the camera’s LCD monitor.
• If you click Settings on the computer, you can change the destination folder for image files. See “Downloading Images Automatically” in Chapter 3 for instructions on how to change the destination folder.
• By the default settings, downloaded images are saved to the [Pictures] folder.
(Print/Share) button or [SET] button.
The images will begin to download. The downloaded images will be saved into folders according to the shooting date. The images will display in the Main Window when the download is complete.
Downloaded Images
11 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 12
Chapter 2
Downloading and Printing Images
Downloading Images to Your Computer (5/6)
Using Computer Commands to Download Images
1.
Connect the camera to the computer with the interface cable.
The Camera Control Window will display.
Some camera models must be set, such as setting the camera to Playback mode, to communicate with the computer. If your camera requires this, consult your Camera User Guide to set the necessary settings for communication.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• If you are using a memory card reader, you can set it using the same procedures as with the camera to have the Camera Control Window open automatically. After you set the settings, the Camera Control Window will open automatically when you insert a memory card into the reader. The window appears slightly different from the camera version, but functions similarly.
12 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Camera Control Window with a Camera Connected
Camera Control Window with a Memory Card Reader Connected
• Different windows from those shown here may appear for some camera models. In that case, please read the user guides provided with the software bundled with the camera.
Page 13
Chapter 2
Downloading and Printing Images
Downloading Images to Your Computer (6/6)
2.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• A dialog will appear if multiple memory card readers are con- nected and loaded with memory cards, or if a camera and a memory card reader are both connected, to allow you to select the device from which images are shown. Select the desired device from the list box and click [OK].
Click [Starts to download images].
All the images that have yet to be downloaded will start to download. When downloading is complete, ImageBrowser's Browser Window will open and display the downloaded images.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• According to the default settings, folders named according to the image shooting dates are created within the [Pictures] folder and the images are downloaded to them.
13 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 14
Chapter 2
Downloading and Printing Images
Printing Images (1/2)
This section explains the procedures for printing downloaded images on a printer.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• Images recorded in the Adobe RGB color space will appear unsaturated when printed using PhotoRecord. Color space settings are only available on select camera models.
1.
2.
Click an image in the Browser Window to print.
A blue frame appears around the image.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can select multiple images by pressing and holding the [shift] key or [ you hold down the [option] and [shift] keys together and click on two images, you can select all the images between them.
] (command) key while clicking on images. If
Click [Print] and select [Layout Printing] from the displayed menu.
3.
In the Layout Options dialog, leave the [Custom layout printing] option selected and click [Next].
Print Window
Layout Options Dialog
The Layout Options dialog and Print window open. The selected images are automatically laid out in the Print window. You can select a layout option in the Layout Options dialog. For the moment, just print the images without making any changes.
14 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 15
Chapter 2
Downloading and Printing Images
Printing Images (2/2)
4.
5.
If the Page Setup window appears, set the settings as appropriate and click [OK].
The Layout Options dialog will close.
In the Print window, click [PRINT].
6.
If the Print dialog appears, click [Print].
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You cannot click [Print] in the Print window while the Layout Options dialog is open.
• For details on print operations, see the Printing Images section in Chapter 6.
15 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 16
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Camera Control Window (1/2)
This chapter explains the procedures performed with the Camera Control Window.
Opening the Camera Control Window
When you are using the camera's Direct Transfer function, the downloading procedures for camera images are explained here.
You can download all images at once using computer procedures.
Or you can check the images and then download them using computer procedures.
Selects a Camera Window function.
Sets the download method, file destination and auto download settings.
■ Auto Start Settings Selected
When you connect the camera to the computer and prepare it for communication, the Camera Control Window will automatically open.
■ Auto Start Settings Not Selected
After you connect the camera to the computer, double-click the [Canon CameraWindow] icon on the desktop to open the Camera Control Window.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• Depending on the selections you make during installation, the Canon CameraWindow icon may not appear on the desktop. In this case, open the Camera Control Window by double-clicking the [Applications] folder, followed by the [Canon Utilities] and [CameraWindow] folders, and double-click the [CameraWindow] icon.
16 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 17
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
To open the Camera Control Window from ImageBrowser’s Browser Window , click [Canon Camera] in the Explorer Panel section or on the Control Panel.
Camera Control Window (2/2)
Closing the Camera Control Window
Click [Quit] to close the Camera Control Window.
You can also open the Camera Control Window by clicking the [File] menu and selecting the [Canon Camera] submenu, followed by [Connect to Camera].
17 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 18
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Downloading Images Automatically—Camera Operations
1.
Starting Auto Downloading
Set the Direct Transfer settings on the camera, and start the direct transfer.
This will download images automatically to the computer.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• See your Camera User Guide for explanations of the settings and commands related to the Direct Transfer menu that appears in the camera’s LCD monitor.
Changing the Auto Downloading Settings
Change the destination folder for images downloaded to the computer.
2.
3.
Select [Change direct transfer download destination folder] and click [Next].
Select a destination folder for the downloaded images and set the new folder creation method for downloads, then click [Finish].
1.
18 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Click [Preferences].
This concludes the settings procedure.
Page 19
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Downloading Images Automatically
—
Computer Operations (1/3)
1.
Starting Auto Downloading
Click [Starts to download images] in the Camera Control Window.
This will download all the images automatically that have not yet been downloaded to the computer.
1.
2.
Changing the Auto Download Settings
Change the type of image to download or the destination folder.
Click [Preferences].
Select [Change auto download settings] and click [Next].
19 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 20
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Downloading Images Automatically
—
Computer Operations (2/3)
3.
4.
Select the type of image to download and click [Next].
Select a destination folder for the downloaded images and set the new subfolder creation method for downloads, then click [Next].
5.
Set the process to initiate after the images are downloaded and click [Next].
To simply display the images in ImageBrowser's Browser Window, select [Display the folder at the save destination]. To have a different process initiated, select [Perform selected processes consecutively], click [Select] and select a process in the process selection window.
20 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 21
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Downloading Images Automatically
—
Computer Operations (3/3)
6.
7.
To initiate the selected auto download process immediately after the camera and computer are connected, place a check mark beside [Images are automatically downloaded to computer while camera is connected].
Click [Finish].
This concludes the settings procedure.
21 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 22
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Checking Images in the Camera before Downloading (1/2)
1.
Selecting Images and Initiating the Download
Click [Lets you select and download images] in the Camera Control Window.
The Camera Browser Window will open and display the images contained in the camera.
Camera Browser Window
2.
3.
Select images for downloading in the Camera Browser Window.
A blue frame displays around selected images. You can select multiple images by pressing and holding the [shift] key or [ images. You can also select a series of adjacent images by pressing and holding the [option] and [shift] keys together while clicking on the first and last images.
Click [Download Images].
] (command) key while you click on successive
22 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
A window for setting the destination folder and other settings will open.
Page 23
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Checking Images in the Camera before Downloading (2/2)
4.
Set whether or not to change the file name, specify a destination folder and click [Start Download].
The image will be saved.
To change the file name, set the text characters for the file prefix and the consecutive numbering system.
Specify a folder as the destination for downloaded images.
Set whether or not to create a subfolder and specify the name.
Click here to change the destination folder.
23 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 24
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Deleting Images from the Camera
This section explains how to use the Camera Browser Window to delete images from the camera.
1.
Click [Lets you select and download images] in the Camera Control Window.
2.
3.
Select images for deleting in the Camera Browser Window.
A blue frame displays around selected images. You can select multiple images by pressing and holding the [shift] key or [ images. You can also select a series of adjacent images by pressing and holding the [option] and [shift] keys together while clicking on the first and last images.
Click (Delete).
] (command) key while you click on successive
Camera Browser Window will open.
24 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
4.
A confirmation dialog will display.
Click [Erase].
The image will be deleted.
Page 25
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Other Features of the Camera Browser Window
This section explains the other features of the Camera Browser Window.
Selects whether the image border and image number are shown or hidden.
Changes the size of the image thumbnail (tiny version).
Selects the image selection method.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can also download images displayed in the Camera Browser Window by dragging and dropping them into ImageBrowser’s Browser Area or Explorer Panel section.
Selects whether the image information at the window’s right is shown or hidden.
Starts ImageBrowser.
Displays separate histograms of brightness or RGB data.
Histogram
25 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Image Information
Page 26
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
This section explains how to save the “My Camera Settings” on your computer to the camera or vice versa.
Saving the “My Camera Settings” to the Camera (1/8)
What are the My Camera settings?
Displaying the My Camera window
Display the existing My Camera Settings supplied with ZoomBrowser EX.
The start-up image for the camera and sounds such as the start-up sound, the shutter sound, operation sound and the self-timer sound are collectively referred to as the My Camera Settings. You can add your favorite images and sounds from your computer to the My Camera Settings in the camera.
1.
2.
Click the [Set to Camera] tab in the Camera Control Window.
Click [Set My Camera].
The My Camera window displays.
26 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 27
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Saving the “My Camera Settings” to the Camera (2/8)
3.
Change the [Type].
The My Camera Settings (image and sound files) display in the Computer list. The current camera settings display in the Camera list. Only the settings that can be changed display.
Switches between settings types.
You can save the files that appear in this list as My Camera Settings to your camera.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can also open the My Camera window when the ImageBrowser's Browser Window is open by clicking the [File] menu and selecting [Canon Camera], followed by [My Camera] from the submenu.
• The theme in the [Type] list box contains a start-up image, start­up sound, operation sound, selftimer sound and shutter sound regrouped as a set. By selecting a theme, you can change the start-up image, start-up sound, operation sound, selftimer sound and shutter sound in one easy step.
• You can also add new files as My Camera Settings to the Com­puter list (the procedure is explained later in this section).
My Camera Settings that are already on your computer display here.
27 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
My Camera Settings in your camera display here.
Page 28
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Saving the “My Camera Settings” to the Camera (3/8)
1.
Saving the My Camera Settings to the camera
This topic explains how to save the previously prepared My Camera Settings files to the camera.
Select a settings type.
2.
In the [Computer] list, select a setting you would like to add to the camera.
When you select [Theme]: When you select a setting, the image will preview in the area to the right and the start-up sound, the operation sound, the self­timer sound and the shutter sound will play in order.
When you select [Start-up Image]: When you select a setting, the image will preview in the area to the right.
When you select [Sound]: When you select a setting, the sound will play automatically.
28 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 29
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Saving the “My Camera Settings” to the Camera (4/8)
3.
In the [Camera] list, select a setting that you would like to change and click
When you click [OK] in the confirmation dialog, the settings file in the camera will now be replaced with the one you specified from the computer.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• Please note that the original settings file in the camera is over- written and permanently erased. To restore the original settings file, you must add it once more to the camera. Before you overwrite a settings file in the camera, confirm that it appears in the Computer list.
.
4.
5.
Click the [Save to Camera] button.
The settings files in the Camera list are saved to the camera.
Click the [Close] button to close the window.
This concludes the procedure for adding settings to the camera.
See your Camera User Guide for instructions on changing the start-up image, start-up sound and other settings.
IMPORTANT
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• Never detach the interface cable, turn off the camera power or do anything to stop communication between the camera and computer while the My Camera Settings are being saved to the camera.
Select the setting you want to replace and click
Repeat steps 1-3 to replace all the settings files with those you wish to save to the camera. Up to this stage, only the settings in the Camera list change, not those in the camera itself.
29 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
.
Page 30
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• To delete settings files in the Camera list, select the file and click the [Delete] button.
• You can check the settings in the camera (sounds) by clicking [Play].
Saving the “My Camera Settings” to the Camera (5/8)
Adding new files to the My Camera Settings
Create a new image or sound file and save it to the computer and then add that file as a My Camera Settings file.
Click here to delete a file from the list.
Click here to check the camera settings (sounds).
Displays the camera settings when an image file is selected.
30 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 31
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Saving the “My Camera Settings” to the Camera (6/8)
Create new files before adding them
1.
Create an image or sound file that will become the camera start-up image or sound setting and save it to the computer.
■ Creating a Start-Up Image File
Create an image file using an image editing program. The image should be a JPEG, 320 x 240 pixels and less than 20KB in size.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• See the manual and help facility for the editing program for a detailed explanation of how to use it.
■ Creating a Sound File
Record the sound as an 11.025 kHz or 8.000 kHz, 8 bit, Mono sound and save it in the WAV file format.
Sound files that can be added to the camera should conform to these guidelines.
2.
3.
Open the My Camera window and select the settings type in the [Type] list box.
Click [Add].
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• The My Camera Settings file cannot be added when the Type list box is set to Theme.
Type
Start-Up Sound
Operation Sound
Self-Timer Sound
Shutter Sound
1.0 sec. or less
0.3 sec. or less
2.0 sec. or less
0.3 sec. or less
Duration in Seconds
11.025 kHz
31 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
8.000 kHz
1.3 sec. or less
0.4 sec. or less
2.0 sec. or less
0.4 sec. or less
Page 32
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Saving the “My Camera Settings” to the Camera (7/8)
4.
Select the file you created in the Open dialog and click [Open].
The selected file will appear in the Computer list. The newly added settings will appear here.
You can save the newly created settings to the camera using the procedures described in the Saving the My Camera Settings to the Camera section.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• To delete a settings file, select it and click the [Send to Trash] button beneath the Computer list.
• Previously created settings can also be added as My Camera Settings with the same procedures as above, but have to com- ply with the specifications listed in the Create new files before adding them section.
32 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 33
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Saving the “My Camera Settings” to the Camera (8/8)
1.
2.
Saving the Settings to the Computer
You can copy the My Camera Settings from the camera to the computer.
Select an option from the [Type] list box.
Select the setting you would like to copy from the Camera list.
When you select [Theme]: When you select a setting, the image will preview in the area to the right and the start-up sound, the operation sound, the self- timer sound and the shutter sound will play in order.
When you select [Start-up Image]: When you select a setting, the image will preview in the area to the right.
When you select [Sound]: When you select a setting, the sound will play automatically.
3.
4.
5.
Click [ ].
Assign a name to the settings file and click [OK].
The settings file will copy to the computer disk. If there is a settings file with the same name, it will be over-written.
Repeat steps 1-4 as required to save the settings files you wish to copy to the computer.
Click [Close] to close the My Camera window.
This completes the copying process.
IMPORTANT
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• Never detach the interface cable, turn off the camera power or do anything to stop communication between the camera and computer while the My Camera Settings are being saved to the computer.
33 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 34
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Setting up Slide Shows on the Camera
You can edit a camera slide show from the computer (if your camera supports the slide show function).
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• See your Camera User Guide for instructions how to use and play slide shows.
1.
2.
Click the [Set to Camera] tab in the Camera Control Window.
Click [Set Slide Show/ DPOF].
4.
Drag an image from the list on the left and drop it into the area on the right to line up the images to be used in the slide show.
3.
Click the [Slide Show] button at the top left of the next window and select the number of the slide show you wish to edit.
34 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
5.
When you are done arranging the slide sequence, click [Save to Camera].
This saves the slide show and completes the setup.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• If you want to change the sequence of some images, just drag them to the right place in the area on the right.
• If you want to remove an image from the slide show, select the image. On the [Edit] menu, click [Clear].
Page 35
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Setting the DPOF Print Settings (1/2)
You can use ImageBrowser to register print settings on a memory card, including the images to print and the number of copies.
IMPORTANT
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• This feature does not directly work with RAW images. If you want to print RAW images, you need to convert them first, then copy them to the camera and perform this operation.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• DPOF is a standardized format for recording print settings, such as the image selection and number of copies. After DPOF print settings have been set, you can take a memory card to a cam- era store or developing laboratory and have the images printed according to the settings.
• For details on DPOF, refer to the documentation that comes with your camera.
How to set the DPOF print settings
3.
Click the [Print Order (DPOF)] button at the top left of the next window and select the print type.
■ Standard Print
Prints the specified number of copies of the images that you selected.
■ Index Print
Prints only thumbnails of the images that you selected.
■ Both (Standard/Index)
Prints the specified number of copies of the images that you selected. In addition, it produces an index print of small versions of all the images.
1.
Click the [Set to Camera] tab in the Camera Control Window.
2.
Click [Set Slide Show/ DPOF].
35 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can also select [Include in Index print] from the [Edit] menu to include the image date and file number in the prints.
• If you copy the image to the camera after changing its size, the date the image was copied will be printed.
Page 36
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Setting the DPOF Print Settings (2/2)
1.
Standard printing
Use the arrows next to the boxes to select the number of copies you want.
The number under each image indicates the number of copies to print.
1.
Index printing
Select the check box under the image to include it in an index print.
Select the check box to include the image in the index print.
Allows you to specify the number of copies to print.
The standard print icon displays when a number of copies is specified.
2.
When you are done with your selections, click [Save to Camera].
This saves the information and completes the print setting.
36 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
2.
The index print icon displays when a check mark is added to the image.
When you are done with your selections, click [Save to Camera].
This saves the information and completes the print setting.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• The procedure described above also applies when the print type is [Both (Standard/Index)].
Page 37
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
You can check and modify the camera settings from the computer.
Checking and Modifying the Camera Settings
1.
2.
Click the [Set to Camera] tab in the Camera Control Window.
Click [Confirms/changes camera settings].
3.
Type the name of the owner of the camera here.
Click this button to synchronize the camera’s date and time settings with the computer.
Click this button to format the camera’s memory card (not supported by some camera models).
You can set the date and time from here.
After you have checked the camera settings and made necessary changes, click [OK].
This will open the Camera Settings dialog, which can be used to change the settings shown on the right.
37 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 38
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Adding Computer Images to the Camera
You can copy images (JPEG only) from the computer to the camera (or memory card).
IMPORTANT
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• If you are using a memory card reader, ensure that a memory card is inserted in the reader.
1.
Click the [Set to Camera] tab in the Camera Control Window.
2.
Click [Uploads images to the camera].
A dialog will appear, allowing you to select image files.
3.
Select files to copy and click [Open].
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can also copy more than one image at a time.
4.
If a window similar to the following opens, select an option as required and click [Add].
This will add the image.
Select this to add images to the camera without making changes.
Select this to resize the image before uploading it to the camera. The shooting information will be lost if you add the image to the camera after changing the image size.
Select the image size in the list box beneath. (With a memory card reader, the image size is input as numerical values. If [VGA Size] is selected, 640 and 480 appear automatically.)
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• If multiple images have been selected, then the selected resizing option will affect all the selected images.
• RAW images and movies cannot be uploaded to the camera.
38 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 39
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
This section explains the procedures for remote shooting, the process of operating the camera shutter remotely from a connected computer.
Operating the Camera Shutter from a Computer ( 1 / 4)
Remote Shooting Procedures
IMPORTANT
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• See your Camera User Guide to check whether your camera supports the remote shooting function or not.
• On camera models with lens covers, open the lens cover before remote shooting.
• Ensure that you turn off your computer’s sleep feature before you begin remote shooting. The results cannot be guaranteed if the computer goes to sleep while remote shooting.
• Except for the shutter button, the camera’s buttons and switches, including the zoom, cannot be manually operated while the camera is being remotely controlled.
• The time lag between pushing the shutter button and the release of the shutter is slightly longer for remote shooting compared with the normal mode of operation.
• Depending upon your camera model, a program different from the one shown here may start up. Please refer to the manual for the software supplied with your camera if this occurs.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• See the Help menu (it can be opened from the [Help] menu in the remote shooting window) for detailed operating procedures for remote shooting.
1.
2.
3.
4.
Begin the procedure with the camera connected to the computer and placed in the correct mode for connection.
Click the [Remote shooting] tab in the Camera Control Window.
Click [Starts Remote Shooting].
In the [Choose a Folder] window, select the destination folder and click [Choose].
A RemoteCapture Task window like the one below will open.
Click the [Release] button.
The image will record.
The image captured by the camera displays here.
Switches between showing or hiding the image.
39 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 40
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Features of the RemoteCapture Task Window
Switches between showing and hiding the viewfinder and the detailed settings sections.
You can add a comment to an image by clicking to place a check mark here and inputting text in the box below.
Operating the Camera Shutter from a Computer ( 2 / 4)
Selects the image’s recording size and resolution
Sets the rotation setting of the image being recorded. This setting cannot be adjusted if your camera’s Auto Rotate function is set to [On].
Releases the camera shutter. (You can also release it by pressing the camera’s shutter button or the space bar on the keyboard.)
Viewfinder
40 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Sets the camera’s zoom.
Turns the viewfinder display on or off.
Refreshes the exposure, focus and white balance settings. (These settings remain fixed until this button is clicked.)
Sets the shooting settings. It is divided into the [Field angle/ flash] tab and the [Shooting settings] tab. (The settings categories vary according to your camera model.)
Page 41
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a Camera Connected
Operating the Camera Shutter from a Computer ( 3 / 4)
Other Remote Shooting Features
■ Interval Timer Shooting
Interval timer shooting is the method of capturing images in which a set number of frames is recorded at set intervals of time.
Click the [Edit] menu in the RemoteCapture Task window and select [Interval Timer Shooting]. Click [OK] in the warning message to open the window shown to the left. Set the values and click [Start] to start shooting. The interval may be set to a range from 5 seconds to 60 minutes.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You may not be able to record at the set interval if it is too short for the camera to transfer and save the image data.
■ Timer Shooting
Timer shooting is the method by which a single image is recorded after a set number of seconds.
Click the [Edit] menu in the RemoteCapture Task window and select [Timer Shooting] to open a window like the one shown here. Set the number of seconds for the delay and click [Start]. The timer may be set to a range from 2 seconds to 30 seconds.
■ Saving and Recalling Shooting Settings
You can save the current zoom settings and the settings in the “Field angle/flash” and “Shooting settings” tabs by clicking the [File] menu in the RemoteCapture Task window and selecting [Save Shooting Settings].
Later when you wish to recall those settings, click the [File] menu in the RemoteCapture Task window and select [Batch Shooting Settings].
■ Displaying the Subject in the Camera’s LCD Monitor
You can use the camera’s LCD monitor or a television connected to the camera to view the subject while shooting remotely.
Click the [File] menu in the RemoteCapture Task window and select [Camera Display Settings] to open a window like the one shown here.
Select [Video Out terminal] or [Camera’s LCD monitor] and click [OK].
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• See your Camera User Guide for information about connecting the camera to a TV.
41 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 42
Chapter 3
What You Can Do with a
Camera Connected
Operating the Camera Shutter from a Computer ( 4 / 4)
Remote Shooting Default Settings
You can display the default settings for remote shooting by clicking the [RemoteCapture Task] menu and selecting [Preferences].
■ [File Settings] Tab
Sets whether images are saved only to the computer, or also to the camera’s memory card.
Sets the root file name for saved images. For example, if you type “Capture,” file names are automatically assigned in ascending order starting from “Capture_00001.jpg”. You can also change the number of assigned digits and the starting number.
■ [Release Hotkey] Tab
You can release the shutter using the key specified here.
Folder to which recorded images are saved (Folder selected in Step 3 of “Remote Shooting Procedures.”)
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• If you select [Computer only] in the [Save Images On] category, you can record images when the memory card in the camera is full and will not accept more images or when it is not present.
42 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 43
Chapter 4
Viewing Images
This chapter explains the methods for displaying images in ImageBrowser.
Starting ImageBrowser
Double-click the [Canon ImageBrowser] icon on the desktop to start ImageBrowser and open its Browser Window.
You can also start ImageBrowser by double-clicking [ImageBrowser] in the Camera Browser Window.
Starting ImageBrowser
Closing ImageBrowser
Click the [ImageBrowser] menu and select [Quit ImageBrowser] or click the red button in the Browser Window.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• Depending on the selections you make during installation, the Canon ImageBrowser icon may not appear on the desktop. In this case, start ImageBrowser by double-clicking the [Applica- tions] folder, followed by the [Canon Utilities] and [ImageBrowser] folders, and double-click the [ImageBrowser] icon.
43 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 44
Chapter 4
Viewing Images
In this section, you will learn how to use the Explorer Panel Section to choose a folder containing the images that you want to see.
Selecting Folders (1/2)
How to select a folder
Clicking a folder in the Explorer Panel section displays the images it contains in the Browser Area. To show or show the folder contents, click the
or button beside the folder
Browser Area
[Favorite] and [All]
Two buttons, entitled [Favorite] and [All], display in the upper portion of the Explorer Panel section.
If you select [Favorite], folders that have been already registered as your favorites will display. You will find it convenient to register a folder that you use regularly as a favorite.
Selected folder
Explorer Panel
44 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Pre-Registered Folders
If you select [All], all the disks that are connected to your computer will display (along with their folders).
Connected Drives
Page 45
Chapter 4
Viewing Images
Selecting Folders (2/2)
Registering a Folder as a Favorite Folder
■ Favorites Selected
Click [Add] at the bottom of the Explorer Panel section, select a folder in the window that opens and click [Select].
■ All Selected
After you open the folder in the Explorer Panel section that you wish to register, click [Add to Favorites] at the bottom of the Explorer Panel section.
Deregistering a Favorite Folder
Select [Favorite], then the folder you wish to deregister, and click [Remove] at the bottom of the Explorer Panel section.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can also deregister a Favorites folder by clicking the [File] menu and using the [Favorites Folders] submenu.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• A star symbol displays on the folder icons that have been registered as favorites (
• You can also register folders as favorites by clicking the [File] menu and using the [Favorites Folders] submenu.
).
45 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 46
Chapter 4
Viewing Images
Changing the Display Mode (1/2)
You can change the display mode in the Browser Window and Browser Area for ease of use.
Three Display Modes
The three display modes for the Browser Area are the Preview mode, List mode and TimeTunnel mode, which can be switched by clicking the buttons at the top of the Browser Area.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can also switch between display modes by clicking the [View] menu and using the [View Mode] submenu.
• Folders display on the left of the Browser Area. Select either [Favorite] or [All]. The images in the folder you click will display in whichever mode you select.
■ Preview Mode
Displays the images as thumbnails (tiny versions) at the bottom of the Browser Area and the selected thumbnail and the Information Panel (display image information) in the upper part.
Selected Image
Selected Thumbnail
You can change the thumbnail size.
Information Panel
46 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can also change the thumbnail size by clicking the [View] menu and selecting the [Display] submenu, or [Enlarge] or [Reduce].
Page 47
Chapter 4
Viewing Images
Changing the Display Mode (2/2)
■ List Mode
Uses the entire Browser Area to display image thumbnails (tiny versions).
You can change the thumbnail size.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can also change the thumbnail size by clicking the [View] menu and selecting the [Display] submenu, or [Enlarge] or [Reduce].
■ TimeTunnel Mode
Displays image thumbnails (tiny versions) chronological order on a concentric grid that looks like a time tunnel.
Use this Control Panel to move the display.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• See the Sorting Images by Date and Time-TimeTunnel in Chap­ter 6 for instructions for operating TimeTunnel and adjusting its settings.
47 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 48
Chapter 4
Viewing Images
Changing the Browser Window Display (1/2)
This section explains how to switch between showing and hiding each panel in the Browser Window and how to display information other than file names by the thumbnails.
Switching between Showing/Hiding Panels
You can use the Display Control Panel to switch between showing and hiding the Control Panel, Explorer Panel section and Information Panel when the display mode is set to Preview or List mode.
Information Panel
Switches between showing/hiding the Explorer Panel section.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can also switch between showing/hiding each panel by clicking the [View] menu and using the [View Settings] submenu.
Filtering Thumbnails by Star Ratings
The Star Rating is a three-level ranking that can be assigned to images. You can limit the images displayed in the Browser Window to only those assigned a Star Rating.
You use the Display Control Panel menu to display only star rated images.
Explorer Panel Section
Control Panel
48 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Switches between showing/hiding the Control Panel.
Switches between showing/hiding the Information Panel.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• See the Setting Star Ratings in Chapter 5 for the settings proce­dures.
Page 49
Chapter 4
Viewing Images
Changing the Browser Window Display (2/2)
Setting the Information Displayed with Thumbnails
You can set the image information that displays beneath thumbnails when the display mode is set to the Preview or List mode.
Click the [View] menu, select the [View Settings] submenu and place a check mark beside a display option.
Place a check mark beside a display option.
Sorting Thumbnails
You can select the criteria for the display order when the display mode is set to the Preview or List mode.
Click the [View] menu, select the [Sort] submenu and place a check mark beside a criterion.
Place a check mark beside the sorting criterion.
Example showing the “File Name”, “Shooting Date” and “Shooting Time” selected.
49 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Switch between ascending and descending order.
Page 50
Chapter 4
Viewing Images
Opening Images
This procedure involves opening the Viewer Window from the Browser Window to open images.
How to open an image
Double-click the image that you want to open in the Browser Area to open it in the Viewer Window.
Double-click the thumbnail of the image that you want to see.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can also open an image by selecting it in the Browser Area and clicking [View Image] in the Control Panel, or by clicking the [View] menu and selecting [View Actual Image].
Opening several images
You can select multiple images by pressing and holding the [shift] key or [ images. You can also select a series of adjacent images by pressing and holding the [option] and [shift] keys together while clicking on the first and last images.
Once you have selected multiple images, you can open all of them at once by clicking [View Image] in the Control Panel.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• The Display Control Panel menu is convenient to use if you intend to select all the images or deselect images.
] (command) key while you click on successive
Viewer Window
50 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 51
Chapter 4
Viewing Images
Using the Viewer Window (1/4)
This section explains how to use the Viewer Window.
Using the Full Screen Display
Opening the Previous or Next Image
You can display the image ahead or behind the displayed image by clicking [Back] or [Next] in the Viewer Window.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• If you select multiple images and display them in the Viewer Window, you can click Back or Next to move the selection between images.
Changing the Display Magnification
You can change the image display magnification using the menu beneath the images.
You can display an image at the full screen size by clicking [Full Screen] in the Viewer Window. To restore the standard display, click the mouse or press any key on the keyboard.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can also change the display magnification by clicking the [View] menu and selecting the [Display] submenu, or [Enlarge] or [Reduce].
51 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can also switch to the full screen display by double-clicking the image display area in the Viewer Window.
Page 52
Chapter 4
Viewing Images
Displaying Multiple Images
You can display two to four images at once in the Viewer Window by using the [Number of Displays] menu.
Using the Viewer Window (2/4)
When multiple images are displayed in the Viewer Window, clicking the [Back] and [Next] buttons replaces all the images with the next set of images ahead or behind.
Synchronizing Multiple Images
When multiple images are displayed in the Viewer Window, clicking [Synchronize] sets the display magnification and position on the image to the same for all images.
Currently selected image.
Example of a 4-Image Display
Synchronizes the display magnification and display position.
52 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 53
Chapter 4
Viewing Images
Using the Viewer Window (3/4)
Displaying the Autofocus Frame
When you click the [Show AF Frame] button, an autofocus frame showing the focus position at the time of shooting will appear.
Autofocus Frame
IMPORTANT
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• Please see the guide for the software bundled with your camera to see whether your camera supports the display of the autofocus frame.
Converting and Displaying RAW Images
When a RAW image is displayed in the Viewer Window, the [Display Original Image] button displays beneath the image.
Click the [Display Original Image] button and [Yes] in the confirmation dialog box. The converted image will display in the Viewer Window.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can also display the position of the autofocus frame by clicking the [View] menu and selecting [Show AF Frame].
53 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 54
Chapter 4
Viewing Images
Using the Viewer Window (4/4)
Playing Movies
You can also play a movie in the Viewer Window.
Closing the Viewer Window
Click to close the Viewer Window, or click the [File] menu and select [Close].
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• See the Editing Images in Chapter 6 for information on the Viewer Window’s editing function.
54 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 55
Chapter 5
Organizing Images
This chapter explains the features in ImageBrowser for managing images.
Selecting Images
Selecting All the Images
In this section we reintroduce the methods for selecting images in the Browser Area as one of the basic image management procedures.
Selecting a Single Image
Click an image to select it. The background color of the selected image(s) will change to blue.
Selecting Multiple Images
To select multiple images, press and hold the [shift] key or [ ] (command) key while you click on successive images. You can also select a series of adjacent images by pressing and holding the [option] and [shift] keys together while clicking on the first and last images.
Select all the images in a folder at once by clicking [Selecting Images] in the Control Panel in the Browser Window and selecting [Select All]. You can also click the [Edit] menu and choose [Select All].
Deselecting All Images
Deselect all the images at once by clicking [Selecting Images] in the Control Panel in the Browser Window and selecting [Deselect All]. You can also deselect them by clicking the [Edit] menu and selecting [Deselect All].
55 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 56
Chapter 5
Organizing Images
This section explains the procedures for setting Star Ratings used in image searches and to display subsets of images.
Setting Star Ratings (1/2)
Other Settings Methods for Star Ratings
What is a Star Rating?
You can assign one of three ratings [✩✩✩], [✩✩], [✩] to an image. When a camera image is downloaded to the computer it is assigned a two-star [✩✩] rating.
Setting the Star Rating
To set a rating for an image, set the display mode in the Browser Area to Preview, select the image, and choose a rating from the [Star Rating] menu in the Information Panel.
■ Menu Method
Select the image in the Browser Area, click the [Edit] menu and select [Change Star Rating] in the submenu, followed by your ratings choice.
■ File Information Dialog Box Method
Set the display mode to [List] or [TimeTunnel]. Select the image in the Browser Area and click the [File] menu and select [Get Info]. In the File Information dialog box, set the Star Rating in the list box.
56 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 57
Chapter 5
Organizing Images
Setting Star Ratings (2/2)
■ Viewer Window Method
Display the image in the Viewer Window and set the Star Rating in the list box.
■ Slide Show Method
While a slide show is in play, use the menu at the bottom of the window to set the Star Rating for the displayed image.
57 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 58
Chapter 5
Organizing Images
Assigning Keywords (1/2)
This section explains the procedures for assigning keywords to images for searches.
Keywords
A keyword is information used to perform searches on images. Select a keyword that matches the image content from the keywords in categories such as People, Places, or Events. For example, if you have an image from a family holiday to the ocean, you might assign keywords such as Family in the People category, or Beach in the Places category or Holiday in the Events category.
Assigning Keywords
1.
Set the Browser Area to the Preview mode and select an image.
3.
Place a check mark beside appropriate keywords.
Place a check mark beside appropriate words in the various categories, such as People, Places, Events or Others, and click [OK].
To add a new keyword, type it in the box and click [+].
2.
Click [View/Modify Keywords] in the information display panel.
The View/Modify Keywords window will display.
58 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 59
Chapter 5
Organizing Images
Assigning Keywords (2/2)
Other Ways to Assign Keywords
■ Menu Method
Select an image in the Browser Area, click the [Edit] menu and select the [Keyword] submenu, followed by [Settings].
■ File Information Dialog Box Method
Set the display mode to List or TimeTunnel. Select an image in the Browser Area, click the [File] menu and select [Get Info]. In the File Information dialog box, click [View/Modify Keywords] and assign keywords.
Managing Keywords
1.
Click the [Edit] menu and select the [Keyword] submenu, followed by [Manage].
A window similar to the following will display.
2.
Add, delete or restore keywords.
■ Add Keywords
Select a category from the list box, type a new keyword into the text box at the bottom of the list and click [+].
■ Delete Keywords
59 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Select a category from the list box, place a check mark beside the keyword and click [Delete].
■ Restore Keyword List
This function restores the keyword list based on the keywords assigned to images. This is convenient if you deleted a keyword that was used in the past.
Page 60
Chapter 5
Organizing Images
You can sort selected images into folders by the shooting dates or by Star Ratings.
Sorting Images (1/2)
Sorting by Shooting Dates
1.
2.
3.
Selecting a Sorting Method
Select the images to sort in the Browser Area.
Click the [File] menu and select the [Organize Image] submenu, followed by [Sort Images].
The Sort Images dialog will appear.
Select the shooting date option or Star Rating option and click [Next].
1.
Set the options and click [OK].
The program will start sorting the images.
Select the destination folder.
Select the name assigned to the folder created during sorting.
Use this to add a prefix to the folder name.
Sample of the name of the actual folder that will be created.
60 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Select [Copy] to retain the file in its original location or [Move] to shift it to the new location.
Page 61
Chapter 5
Organizing Images
Sorting by Star Ratings
Sorting Images (2/2)
1.
Set the options and click [OK].
The program will start sorting the images.
Select the Star Ratings of the images that will be copied (or moved).
Select the destination folder.
61 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Select [Copy] to retain the file in its original location or [Move] to shift it to the new location.
Page 62
Chapter 5
Organizing Images
This section describes how to rename images.
Renaming Images
Renaming Images (1/2)
1.
2.
Click the name of the image that you want to rename.
After a moment you can type the new name.
Type the new name and press [return].
62 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 63
Chapter 5
Organizing Images
Renaming Images (2/2)
1.
2.
3.
Changing Multiple Image File Names
You can rename multiple image files at once.
Select the images you wish to rename in the Browser Area.
Click the [File] menu and select the [Organize Image] submenu, followed by [Rename].
The renaming settings window will display.
Set the options in this window and click [OK].
The image file names will change.
1.
2.
Renaming Folders
In the Explorer Panel, click on the folder name.
After a moment, you can type the new name.
Type a new folder name and press the [return] key.
Place a check mark here if you wish a file with the new name to be created separately from the original file.
Select a name format.
Type the text in the “New Name” spot for the name format selected above.
63 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Set the Number of digits and the starting number for the name format selected above.
Sample of the name of the actual folder that will be created.
Page 64
Chapter 5
Organizing Images
Searching Images (1/2)
You can search images using such criteria as Star Ratings, shooting dates, keywords or comments.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• For information about Star Rating settings, see the Setting Star Ratings and for information about keyword settings, see the Assigning Keywords in this chapter.
1.
2.
Select a folder to search in the Explorer Panel section.
Click the [File] menu and select [Search].
The search criteria settings window will open.
3.
Sets whether images are searched according to all the parameters or just one.
Set the search criteria.
Place a check mark beside your chosen criterion and set its individual settings.
64 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Clicking here allows you to hide the search parameters.
Set the search parameters here.
Page 65
Chapter 5
Organizing Images
Searching Images (2/2)
4.
5.
Click [Search Now] when you finish setting the criteria.
A list of images found by the search will display.
Check the search results and click [Finish].
To reset the search criteria, click [Back] and repeat steps 3-4.
This concludes the search.
When you click [OK] in the confirmation dialog, the “Search Results” folder is created in the Explorer Panel section and displays the images matching the search criteria.
65 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can select, print or copy the images in the Search Results folder to another.
• Images will remain registered in the Search Results folder until you close ImageBrowser or perform another search.
Page 66
Chapter 5
Organizing Images
This section describes how to move and copy images between folders.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• Moving or copying images in ImageBrowser affects the actual location in which those images are stored on your computer.
• When you use the Finder to modify files or folders while ImageBrowser is open, those changes might not be reflected in the ImageBrowser window. To remedy this, click [Refresh] on the [View] menu.
Moving and Copying Images (1/2)
Moving or copying in the Explorer Panel Section
When you want to move an image, you first need to display it in the Browser Area. Then, drag that image to the destination folder in the Explorer Panel Section. When you want to copy an image, proceed as above, but press and hold the [option] key before releasing the mouse button to drop the image.
A Drag the image that you want to move. B Drop it at the desired location.
66 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 67
Chapter 5
Organizing Images
Moving or copying images using two Browser Windows
You can display a second Browser Window by clicking [New Browser Window] on the [View] menu.
You can move or copy images between folders by displaying different folders in two Browser Windows, then dragging images from one Browser Window to another.
Moving and Copying Images (2/2)
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• To copy an image, press and hold the [option] key before releasing the mouse button to drop the image.
• Up to two Browser Windows can be open simultaneously.
Other Methods
The First Browser Window
A Drag the image that you
want to move.
The Second Browser Window
(Display a different folder)
B Drop it at the desired
location.
■ Moving or Copying Multiple Images
You can move or copy multiple images at once. Select them by pressing and holding the [shift] key or [
] (command) key, or the [option] and [shift] key together while you click on successive images and then drag and drop them in this state on the destination.
■ Moving or Copying Folders
You can move or copy folders one at a time by dragging them in the Explorer Panel section on top of another folder and dropping them.
Duplicating Images
To duplicate an image (copy the same image file within a single Browser Window), select the image in the Browser Area, click the [File] menu and select [Duplicate].
67 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 68
Chapter 5
Organizing Images
This section explains how to delete images and folders (send them to the Trash).
Deleting Images
Deleting Folders
1.
2.
How to delete an image
Select an image in the Browser Area to delete.
Click the [Send to Trash] button in the Control Panel.
Select an image to delete.
Click here.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• If you mistakenly delete an image, retrieve it by double-clicking the Trash in the dock to open its window and dragging and dropping the file onto its original folder (in the Finder window not in the Explorer Panel section).
1.
2.
Select the folder in the Explorer Panel section.
Click the [Send to Trash] button in the Control Panel.
IMPORTANT
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• When you delete a folder, all its images and subfolders are deleted too.
Other Methods
■ Sending Multiple Images to the Trash
You can send multiple images at once to the Trash. Select them by pressing and holding the [shift] key or [ or the [option] and [shift] key together while you click on successive images and then click [Send to Trash].
■ Using the Menu to Send Images to the Trash
Send images to the Trash by selecting them, clicking the [File] menu and selecting [Send to Trash].
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• To completely delete the images or folders from the disk, after these procedures click the [Finder] menu and select [Empty Trash].
] (command) key,
68 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 69
Chapter 5
Organizing Images
Rotating Images
This section describes how to rotate images to the desired orientation. This is useful for images taken by holding the camera vertically.
IMPORTANT
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• When you rotate an image in ImageBrowser, the actual image file on the disk is over-written with the rotated image.
How to rotate an image
1.
2.
Select the image.
Click the [Edit] menu and select the [Rotate] submenu, followed by your rotation option.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• [90 degrees right] is a clockwise rotation and [90 degrees left] is a counterclockwise rotation.
• There are two settings for rotating images. The default setting rotates the original image.
• You can also set it to display the image in both the original and rotated positions. Click the [ImageBrowser] menu, select [Prefer­ences] and [Processing When Rotating], and click to place a check mark beside [Retain original when rotating JPEG images].
• When you rotate an image other than a JPEG, only the rotated image displays. The original image file is overwritten.
More ways of rotating images
■ Rotating multiple images
You can rotate multiple images at once. Select them by pressing and holding the [shift] key or [ [option] and [shift] key together while you click on successive images and then perform the rotation procedure.
] (command) key, or the
69 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 70
Chapter 5
Organizing Images
Viewing Image Information
You can click images and look at the various shooting information about them.
How to view image information
1.
2.
Set the display mode to List or TimeTunnel, and select an image in the Browser Area.
Click the [File] menu, and select [Get Info].
File Information dialog box will appear.
Hides the detailed information display at the right.
You can rename files.
You can play sounds if they are attached to images.
The File Information dialog box contains such information as the camera model, the date the image was shot, and the camera settings at the time of shooting.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• When an image taken by the camera is modified and saved by another program, information about the camera settings might be lost.
• If you select multiple images and display the File Information dialog box, clicking [Back] and [Next] switches between the information for the images in the selection.
You can open or close the details for each category by clicking the
Set a Star Rating.
Input a comment.
Set a keyword.
beside it.
Placing a check mark here prevents the image from being overwritten or deleted.
You can view the shooting information for the image next or previous to the displayed image.
70 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Histogram
Shooting information shown here will vary according to the camera model and image shooting settings.
Page 71
Chapter 5
Organizing Images
Creating Folders
This section describes how to create folders within disks or other folders.
How to create a folder
1.
2.
In the Explorer Panel Section, click the disk or folder in which you wish to create the new folder
On the [File] menu, click [New Folder].
A new folder called [Untitled Folder] will be created.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• See the Renaming Images (2/2) for the procedures for renaming folders.
• See the Deleting Images for the procedures for deleting folders.
• When you create a new folder in ImageBrowser, a new folder of the same name appears in the Finder.
71 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
New Folder
Page 72
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Editing Images (1/4)
This chapter explains the methods for handling images managed by ImageBrowser.
This section explains the procedures for editing images displayed in the Viewer Window.
About the Editing Features
Using ImageBrowser, you can perform the following editing operations.
■ Trimming
You can extract part of an image, leaving out parts that you don’t need.
■ Adjust Color
You can significantly alter the effect of an image by adjusting the chroma, luminance and lightness of the RGB (red, green, blue) channels.
■ Editing with Other Software
See the Editing Images with Other Software.
■ Save
After you have modified an image, you can save it under a different name with this function.
Detailed explanations of these procedures start on the next page.
72 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
IMPORTANT
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• RAW images and movies cannot be edited in the Viewer Window.
Page 73
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Editing Images (2/4)
1.
2.
Trimming
Use this to delete unnecessary portions of the image and leave only the necessary portions.
Click [Edit] in the Viewer Window and select [Trimming].
The Trimming Dialog Box will appear.
Position the mouse pointer over the image and drag it to select the trimming area.
Drag to specify the trimming area.
Click this button.
3.
4.
Click [Trimming].
The specified area is trimmed.
Check the trimmed image and click [Finish].
This completes the trimming procedure.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can also start the trimming procedure by clicking the [Edit] menu and selecting the [Edit Still Image], followed by [Trimming].
Use this to reset the specified area.
You can change the display magnification.
You can adjust the trimming area by dragging the corners or center points of the sides.
73 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
You can also specify the trimming area with numbers.
Page 74
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Adjusting Color
This function adjusts the chroma, luminance and lightness of the RGB channels.
Editing Images (3/4)
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can also start the color adjustment procedure by clicking the [Edit] menu and selecting the [Edit Still Images] submenu, followed by [Adjust Color].
1.
2.
Click [Edit] in the Viewer Window and select [Adjust Color].
The Color Adjustment Dialog will appear.
Use the sliders to adjust the color attributes and then click [Finish].
This button switches between adjustment dialogs.
RGB Adjustment Dialog Color Adjustment Dialog
You can use this button to compare the pre-correction image and the post-correction image by placing a check mark here.
74 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Clicking [Undo] reverses the action taken immediately prior. Clicking [Redo] restores the action cancelled by clicking Undo. Clicking [Restore] restores the image to the state before the adjustments.
Page 75
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Saving images
Save the edited image under a different name.
1.
2.
After you modify an image, click [Save].
The file save dialog box will appear.
Type a file name, specify the image type and click [Save].
Editing Images (4/4)
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• If you do not save the image after editing and close its window, a confirmation dialog will display to confirm whether or not you wish to save it.
To save the changes, click [Save]. In the save dialog box, type a name and specify the image type that you want to use. Then, click [Save]. If you do not want to save the changes, click [Don’t Save].
• You can also save the image by clicking the [File] menu and selecting [Save] or [Save As].
• Exif JPEG is an image type that adds information such as shooting data to a JPEG image. This data can be handled in the same fashion as conventional JPEG images.
To overwrite the original with the edited image, save the new file with the original file name in the file save dialog box.
75 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 76
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Editing Images with Other Programs
This section explains how to start other image editing programs to edit an image selected in ImageBrowser.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• If you installed the image editing program included with your product (contained on a CD-ROM other than the Solution Disk), it should automatically be registered in the ImageBrowser menu.
• To register other programs, click the [ImageBrowser] menu and select [Preferences] and [Browser Window], and add the pro- gram to the [Register Application] category.
1.
How to start other image editing programs
Click [Edit] in the Viewer Window, select [Edit with Other Application] and select an editing program from the submenu.
Select your application from this submenu (program names vary according to the camera model).
76 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
The image editing program starts and displays the selected image.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can also start another program by clicking the [Edit] menu and selecting it from the [Start Application] submenu.
Page 77
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Creating Images for E-mail (1/2)
This section explains how to create email with image or movie attachments.
How to send an image by e-mail
1.
2.
3.
In the Browser Area, select the image that you want to send.
You can also select several images.
Click [Internet] in the Control Panel and select [Create Image for Email].
Specify the compression method that you want to apply to the image.
Use this option when you do not want to reduce the size of the image. Use this option when you want to reduce the size of the image.
Confirm the total size of the file for transmission here.
4.
5.
Click [Next].
The Create Image for Email dialog box appears. (However, if you selected the “Send without changing the file size” option, the Send Email dialog box appears and you can proceed to step 7.)
Specify the reduction ratio and the image quality.
Specify the reduction ratio relative to the original size of the image.
Use it to check the file size when you actually compress the image. (The file size appears in the Total Size After Compression category.)
Click here to preview how the image will appear after.
Set the image quality and play time here to send a movie.
Specify the image quality. (The lower the quality, the rougher the image becomes, but the size of the file also becomes smaller.)
77 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 78
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Creating Images for E-mail (2/2)
6.
7.
Click [Next].
The last window appears.
Save the image and select whether you want to start your e-mail program.
Save the image and place a checkmark here if you want to start your e-mail program.
A warning message displays when the file size is large.
Click here to check an image after changing it.
• When you click [Finish], your e-mail program starts automatically if you have selected “Start email application after closing” in Step 7. Please note that some e-mail programs may not support auto startup.
• You can send the image you just created by opening a new e­mail and attaching the image to the e-mail message.
• With e-mail programs, you can attach images to e-mail messages simply by dragging them from the Browser Area to the new message window.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• Changing the Email Program that Starts Automatically
Mac OS X v10.1/10.2
Open [System Preferences] and select [Internet]. Use the [Email] tab to select the program.
Mac OS X v10.3
Open the [Applications] folder on the startup disk and double­click [Mail] within it to start the Mail program. Click the [Mail] menu and select [Preferences]. Use the [General] tab to select the program.
• In Mac OS X, open the following folders to find the folder containing e-mail images. On the startup disk open [Users], [your user log-in name], [Library], [Preferences], [ImageBrowserUserData] and [Mail].
8.
Click [Finish].
• If this is the first time you send an image in e-mail, the [Email Images] folder appears in the Explorer Panel Section, and the image is saved in that folder. If the [Email Images] folder already exists, the image is saved in that folder.
78 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 79
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
This section explains how to change the size, resolution or data type of a selected image and write it to a new file, and to export the shooting information to a text file.
Exporting Images (1 / 3)
Exporting Images
Export Options
The following types of image export options are available.
■ Edit and Save Image
You can change the data type or size and the file name and save it. Select one of four data types: JPEG, PICT, TIFF or BMP. You can also add identifying characters to the start of the file name.
■ Export Shooting Properties
You can select the necessary data from the detailed shooting information and export it to a tab-delimited text file.
■ Export as a Screensaver
You can export a selected image as a screen saver file.
■ Export an Image as Wallpaper
1.
2.
3.
Select the image(s) in the Browser Area.
You can export a multiple selection of images except when the Export an Image as Wallpaper option is selected.
Click the [File] menu and select [Export Images].
A dialog for selecting the export options will open.
Select an export option and click [Next].
You can export a selected image as a wallpaper file.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• Only the Export Image Shooting Properties option can be used with movie files and RAW images.
79 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
4.
Set the export settings.
The procedures from this point onward vary according to the export format.
Page 80
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Exporting Images (2/ 3)
Editing and Saving Images
Click [Finish] after specifying the settings.
Changes the image size.
Changes the image type.
Changes the image file name.
Exporting Shooting Properties
Click [Finish] after specifying the settings.
Place check marks beside the export categories you want.
You can insert or remove all check marks at once.
Destination Folder
Calculates the post­conversion file size.
Changes the destination folder.
80 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
You can confirm the post-conversion image.
Destination Folder
You can input a file name.
Changes the destination folder.
Page 81
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Exporting Images (3/ 3)
Exporting as a Screen Saver
Click [Finish] after specifying the settings.
Input a screen saver name.
Destination Folder
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• Use the Mac OS X System Properties window to select and configure a screen saver.
Exporting an Image as Wallpaper
Click [Finish] after specifying the settings.
Selects a display method for the image.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• Use the Mac OS X System Properties window to select and configure wallpaper (desktop images).
81 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 82
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Running Slide Shows (1/3)
This section describes how to use slide shows that display multiple selections of images in sequence at full screen size.
IMPORTANT
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• RAW images and movies cannot be shown in slide shows.
Setting up a slide show
First, you need to specify how to run the slide show.
1.
2.
Click the [View] menu and select [Slide Show Options].
Set the display options and click [OK].
Select this option if you want to continue running the slide show when it ends.
Place a check here if you do not wish the buttons to show while a slide show is in progress.
Select the transition effect to be used when moving from one slide to another. (When you click an effect, you can get a preview of how the effect looks in the area to the right.)
Select the “Auto Play” option if you want the slide show to proceed automatically and go to the next slide after a predetermined number of seconds. Select the “Control with Mouse or keypad” option if you want to control the progress of the slide show manually.
82 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 83
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Running Slide Shows (2/3)
1.
2.
How to run a slide show
Select the images for the slide show in the Browser Area.
Click [SlideShow] in the Control Panel.
Slide show will start.
Slide Show Control Panel
While running a slide show, you can use the control buttons at the bottom of the window to control the show.
Pause
Back one image Next image
Go to first image Advance to last image
Star Ratings Button
You can set the Star Rating for an image while it is being displayed in a slide show.
Print Settings Button
Click this button during a slide show when you see an image you would like to print (a check mark appears beside the button to indicate marked images). After the slide show finishes, a dialog for printing the marked photos will automatically appear.
Stop slide show
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• To show all of the images in a folder in a slide show, it is conve- nient to click the [Selecting Images] menu in the Display Control Panel and select [Select All].
• You can also start a slide show by clicking the [View] menu and selecting [Slide Show].
83 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Image Selection Button
Click this button during a slide show to select/ deselect images (a check mark on the button indicates a selected image). After the slide show finishes, the deselected images are no longer selected in the Browser Window. You can also use this function to place a check mark on needed images while they are displayed in the slide show. This is useful when you wish to move selected images (images with a check mark) in the Browser Area to a different folder.
Page 84
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Running Slide Shows (3/3)
If you selected “Control with Mouse or keypad” in the Slide Show Options dialog box, you can control the slide show as follows:
■ To move to the next image
Press the [return] or [ ] key. Click the image.*
■ To return to the previous image
Press the [ ] key. Hold the [shift] key and click the image.*
■ To end the show
Press the [esc] key.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• The operations marked with an asterisk can only be used when [Hides buttons] has been selected in the Slide Show Options dialog. (The mouse actions are disabled when the buttons are displayed.)
If you selected Hides Buttons in the Slide Show Options window, you can display the control menu while a show is in progress by pressing and holding the [control] key while clicking with the mouse. You can control the slide show with this menu. (This procedure can also be used if you selected Auto Play.)
84 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 85
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Adding Sounds to Images (1/2)
You can add sounds to your images and play them later.
IMPORTANT
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You cannot add sound files to movies.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You use the Mac OS X recording function to record ImageBrowser sounds. Prepare the microphone if one is pro- vided with your computer, and confirm that the settings are correct for recording by opening the [System Preferences] dialog box and selecting [Sound].
How to add a sound to an image
1.
2.
Select an image in the Browser Area.
Click the [File] menu and select the [Sound] submenu, followed by [Record].
4.
To stop recording, click [Save].
The sound is added to the image. The following mark appears when an image is accompanied by sound.
The following dialog box appears.
3.
When you click , the [Save] button becomes enabled and recording starts.
85 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
This mark indicates an image with sound.
Page 86
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
How to play sound added to an image
1.
2.
Select an image with a sound attached.
Click the [File] menu and select the [Sound] submenu, followed by [Play].
Sound will play.
You can control playback by clicking [Pause] or [Stop] on the [Sound] menu.
Adding Sounds to Images (2/2)
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can also play sounds by clicking in the Information Panel when the display mode is set to Preview or in the File Information dialog box.
• To delete a recorded sound, select the image to which it is attached, click the [File] menu and select the [Sound] submenu, followed by [Send to Trash].
• You can record a new sound by selecting an image that has a sound attached already, clicking the [Sound] menu and select­ing [Record].
• When you add a sound to an image, the sound file is created in the same folder as the image file as an AIFF format file with the [.AIF] file name extension.
86 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 87
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
This section explains the procedures for printing.
Printing Images (1/8)
Displaying the print layout
1.
2.
Select an image in the Browser Area.
Click [Print] in the Control Panel and select [Layout Printing] from the displayed menu.
The Layout Options dialog and Print window will open.
The selected images will automatically be laid out in the Print window. You can select a layout option in the Layout Options dialog.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• When the Print window is open, the shooting date and file name appear as captions under the image when the respective options have check marks in the Preferences dialog. Click the [ImageBrowser] menu and select [Preferences], and in the [Print] category place a check mark in the [Shooting Date] and/or [File Name] options.
Select images.
Print Window
Layout Options Dialog
Click here.
87 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 88
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Selecting a layout
Printing Images (2/8)
1.
Select a layout type from among the following, and click [Next].
Layout options will vary according to your printer model.
■ Custom layout printing
Allows you to specify the size and location of the images freely.
■ Index printing
Allows you to select between large, medium and small thumbnails to print the index.
■ Fixed photo size printing
Allows you to squeeze images together to fit the specified paper size. After printing, you can obtain photo-like prints by separating the images with a cutter.
■ Tiled photo printing
Allows you to have the program lay out and print the specified number of images per page with no gaps between images on the page.
A print preview displays on the right after you select a layout.
88 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 89
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Printing Images (3/8)
2.
3.
In the following dialog, select more detailed settings.
The available settings will vary with the layout option selected.
Set settings here (the available settings will vary with the layout option selected).
When you finish adjusting the settings, click [OK].
The Layout Options dialog closes and you can now change the layout and print settings in the Print window.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• If you do not want the Layout Options dialog to appear while the Print window is open, remove the check mark beside the [Display this dialog when the Printing window displays] option.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• To open the Layout Options dialog again, click the (LAYOUT OPTIONS) button in the Print window.
Click here.
Adding Images
You can add images by dragging them from the Browser Area and dropping them into the Print window.
Deleting Images
You can clear images from the Print window by selecting them, clicking the [Edit] menu and selecting [Clear].
89 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 90
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Printing Images (4/8)
Moving or changing the size of an image
When [Custom layout printing] is selected in the [LAYOUT OPTIONS] dialog, you can move or change the size of an image.
Drag the image that you want to move.
Reorganizing and rotating images,
and specifying the number of images per page
When [Custom layout printing] is selected in the [LAYOUT OPTIONS] dialog, you can use the following functions.
Click to reorganize the images according to their file size.
Click here to change the orientation of an image. Select an image, click the button and click a rotation angle on the menu.
Specify the number of images that you want to see on each page.
90 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Drag any side of the frame of the image to change its size.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can also select a rotation angle on the [Rotate] submenu on the [Edit] menu.
Page 91
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Typing a caption
Printing Images (5/8)
The location of the caption differs depending on what kind of layout you have selected.
You can type captions for individual images. Select an image and on the [Edit] menu, click [Edit Caption]. The Edit Caption window appears. Type your caption and specify the font and its size, as well as any styles that you want. Click [OK].
Font (typeface) Font Size Text Alignment
Custom Layout Example
Fixed Photo Size Example
Font Style Tracking Text Color
91 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 92
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Typing text
Printing Images (6/8)
Text surrounded by a frame is called a “text box.” You can control text boxes as follows:
You can type text anywhere you want in the layout. First, make sure that noting is selected and on the [Edit] menu, click [Add Text]. A window where you can type text appears. Type your text and specify the font and its size, as well as any styles that you want. Click [OK].
The text appears in the center of the page.
■ Moving text boxes
You can move text boxes by dragging them.
■ Changing the size of text boxes
You can change the size of a text box by dragging its left or right edge. The number of lines in the text box changes automatically according to its size.
■ Editing text boxes
First select a text box and on the [Edit] menu, click [Edit Text]. A window where you can edit your text appears. Edit your text. Another way to open this window is to double-click the text box.
92 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 93
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Printing Images (7/8)
Typing a header
You can type a page header. First, make sure that noting is selected and on the [Edit] menu, click [Edit Header]. The Edit Header window appears. Type your text and specify the font and its size, as well as any styles that you want. Click [OK].
The header appears at the top of the page.
Duplicating images
After selecting an image, click the [Edit] menu and select [Copy Image] to display the copy dialog. Specify the number of copies in this dialog and click [OK] to create only the specified number of copies. (This cannot be used for Index printing.)
Clipping images
You can clip part of an image. After selecting an image, click the [Edit] menu and select [Clipping]. When the image appears, drag to specify the area you are clipping out and click
.
93 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Clipping area
Page 94
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Printing Images (8/8)
Initiating Printing
Once you have finished making all the adjustments you want in the Print window, click
The Print dialog will open. Confirm the settings and click [Print] to start printing.
IMPORTANT
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• It may take relatively long to print if there are many images or the images are large.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can save the layout you created by clicking the [File] menu and selecting [Save].
• You can open the Index printing settings window by clicking [Print] in the Control Panel in the Browser Window and selecting [Index printing] from the displayed menu. The index will print out immediately after you set the thumbnail and paper size settings and click [Start printing].
• You can also start printing by clicking the [File] menu, selecting [Print] and choosing [Layout printing] or [Index printing] from the submenu.
(Print).
Click here.
Printing for Better Results
ImageBrowser supports the Exif 2.2 (nicknamed Exif Print) standard. This feature can generate better print results because it automatically corrects images.
To use this feature, click the [ImageBrowser] menu and select [Preferences] followed by [Print] in the list box. Set the Exif 2.2 settings in the [Image Correction Settings] category. Then use the procedures in Printing Images 1/8 to print the image. See the Print
Dialog section of the Customizing Preferences (3/3) topic in the Appendices for information about Exif 2.2 settings.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• Images captured by cameras that support the Exif 2.2 standard have the shooting settings data, such as the shooting condi­tions and shooting mode, embedded in them. The Exif Print function uses this data to more accurately reflect the conditions at the time of shooting when it corrects the image.
• The image correction settings apply to all of the images printed from ImageBrowser.
94 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 95
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Printing Images over Multiple Pages
This function prints images, such as panoramic images created with PhotoStitch, over several pages. You can paste the printed pages together after printing to create one large print.
Multiple page printing
1.
2.
Select an image in the Browser Area for printing.
Click the [File] menu and select the [Print] submenu, followed by [Multiple Page Print].
3.
Adjust the print settings in the dialog box illustrated below and click [Print].
Sets the overlap for binding.Position setting
Printing starts.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• If you are going to change the print size, you must make the change before you print over multiple pages. Open the print resolution settings window by clicking the [File] menu and selecting the [Print] submenu, followed by [Multiple Page Print Options]. The smaller you make the resolution, the larger the image is printed. Similarly, the larger you make the print resolution, the smaller the image is printed.
95 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 96
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Sorting Images by Date and Time - TimeTunnel (1/2)
This section describes how to use TimeTunnel to sort images by date and time, like arranging images in a time tunnel.
Displaying images in TimeTunnel
Select [View Mode], followed by [TimeTunnel] to perform the following operations in TimeTunnel display.
The date/time at which the images were shot appears on the red line. You can change this date/ time by double-clicking it on the display. A window similar to the one below appears. Specify the new date/ time.
Point at an image and wait a moment. The information about the image is displayed.
Double-click a thumbnail to display it in another window.
Control Panel
Drag this bar up or down to shift the tunnel display.
Click to display the control panel menu (the menu is explained on the next page).
If you select “Find and Show Item” and no images with that date are found, the closest match to the date is displayed instead.
96 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 97
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Sorting Images by Date and Time - TimeTunnel (2/2)
Using the Control Panel menu
The Control Panel menu allows you to control TimeTunnel.
Click to display the tool panel.
Enables or disables [Auto Cruise]. When [Auto Cruise] is active, the time movement continues even after you have moved and released the bar.
Click to play a sound attached to a selected image.
Using the Tool Panel
Adjusting settings from the Display menu
On the [View] menu, you can also select the [View Settings] submenu to adjust the settings.
Click the [Change Viewpoint] menu and select [Mouse Click Point] to have the tunnel end move to the point where you click.
To display the following tool panel, click [Display Tool Panel] on the Control Panel menu.
Allows you to specify the date for the images displayed.
Select this option to make the TimeTunnel look curved.
97 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Select this option to make the TimeTunnel rings octagonal.
Allows you to change the number of TimeTunnel rings.
Page 98
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Playing Movies
ImageBrowser supports movies.
You can download movie files and display them in the Browser Area just like ordinary images. The movie thumbnail and movie icon will show in the Browser Area. You can play the movie displayed at the larger size by clicking the controller beneath it.
Use this button to play the movie.
The Viewer Window will open and display the movie if you double-click the thumbnail. You can also play the movie in the Viewer Window.
Movie mark
98 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Use this button to play the movie.
Page 99
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Editing Movies (1/3)
You can create movies by adding various effects: linking movies and still images that have been downloaded to a computer, superimposing titles and other text, and adding background music.
Editing Movies
1.
2.
3.
Select a file (movie or still image) to edit in the Browser Area.
You can select multiple movies or still images.
Click the [Edit] menu and select [Movie Edit].
Edit the movie by following the steps displayed on the tabs in the window’s midsection, then finish by saving it.
The features and procedures for each step are explained on the following pages.
REFERENCE
○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○○
• You can set the default preferences for movie edits by clicking the [MovieEdit Task] menu and selecting [Preferences].
Follow these steps to proceed, switching between tabs as appropriate.
Movie Symbol
Storyboard Area
Displays thumbnails of the selected images. Links images in order from left to right.
Guidance
Transition Box
Displays the icon of the transition effect used to link adjacent images.
Click this button for detailed help with operating procedures.
You can change thumbnail sizes in the storyboard area.
99 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Page 100
Chapter 6
Using Supplementary Features
Features of the [1. Arrange] Window Features of the [2. Effect] Window
Editing Movies (2/3)
Plays the entire movie being edited.
Adds images
Moves the selected image one position to the left or right.
Displays the properties of the selected image.
Rotates the selected image.
Superimposes titles and other text on the image selected in the storyboard area. You can set the font, display duration, display position and scrolling attributes of the text.
You can change the movie or still image selected in the storyboard area into a sepia or monochrome version, or add noise for a film simulation.
Removes the selected movie from the storyboard.
You can set the playback range (start and stop points) for a movie by selecting it and clicking this button.
You can set the play duration of a still image by selecting it and clicking this button.
100 ImageBrowser Software User Guide
Magnifies part of the selected image.
You can set the transition effect between images by selecting the transition effect box in the storyboard area and clicking this button.
Loading...