Viso Systems LabSpion User Manual

Page 1
LabSpion
Patent pending
User guide
Preliminary edition
Page 2
© 2007 Viso Systems ApS, Denmark
All rights reserved. No part of this manual may be reproduced, in any form or by any means,
without permission in writing from Viso Systems ApS, Denmark.
Information subject to change without notice. Viso Systems ApS and all affiliated companies
disclaim liability for any injury, damage, direct or indirect loss, consequential or economic loss
or any other loss occasioned by the use of, inability to use or reliance on the information
contained in this manual.
Dimensions
190cm
162,5cm
80cm
45cm
122cm
150cm
Maximum lamp length 8cm C-plane base height
9,5cm LabSpion base height
65cm
Page 3
3 LabSpion user guide
Sensor distance L
Measurement method: Far Field
D
L = 10 x D
Please note the sensor distance to the lamp must be minimum 10 x the diameter of the lamp.
The ”Far Field” measurement method requires this distance for accurate measurement data.
Page 4
4 LabSpion user guide
Weight
15 Kg
25 Kg
16 Kg
2 Kg
3 Kg
LabSpion weight
56 Kg
LabSensor weight
5 Kg
Total shipping weight: 69 Kg
Packages: 4 pcs
Total weight: 63 Kg
Shipping packages
1. C-Plane goniometer 140x50x15cm 17Kg
2. LightSpion base 50x50x20cm 27Kg
3. 3 point base table 140x50x15cm 19Kg
4. Sensor + tripod 100x35x35cm 6Kg
Shipping dimensions
Shipping weight
Page 5
5 LabSpion user guide
Contents
Introduction ........................................................................ 8
About the LabSpion ........................................................ 8
System content .............................................................. 8
About this document ....................................................... 9
Installation ....................................................................... 10
Software installation ..................................................... 10
Connecting power ........................................................ 11
Connecting USB ........................................................... 12
Connecting LabSensor ................................................. 13
Connecting C-plane goniometer ................................... 14
Connecting lamp power ................................................ 15
Connecting diagram ..................................................... 16
Making measurements ..................................................... 17
Alignment of sensor ...................................................... 17
Alignment of lamp ......................................................... 18
Quality selection ........................................................... 19
Full automatic ............................................................... 20
Manual power control ................................................... 23
Manual integration time setup ....................................... 24
Free running spectrometer ........................................... 25
Measurement data ........................................................... 26
Power details ................................................................ 29
CRI details .................................................................... 31
Page 6
6 LabSpion user guide
Spherical limit ............................................................... 33
Attaching pictures ......................................................... 34
Saving measurement ................................................... 35
Exporting to IES/LDT .................................................... 36
Exporting to PDF .......................................................... 37
Exporting to PNG ......................................................... 37
Exporting to CSV .......................................................... 39
Emailing measurement ................................................. 40
Specifications ................................................................... 41
Page 7
7 LabSpion user guide
Safety Information
Warning! This product is not for household use.
Read this manual before installing and operating the controller, follow the safety precautions listed below, and observe all warnings in this manual.
Preventing electric shocks
Always ground (earth) the power supply. Use only a source of AC power that complies
with local building and electrical codes, and that
has both overload and ground-fault protection. If the controller or power supply are in any way damaged,
defective, wet, or show signs of overheating, disconnect the power supply from AC power and contact Viso Service for assistance.
Do not install or use the device outdoors. Do not spray with or immerse in water or any other liquid.
Do not remove any covers or attempt to repair the device or power supply. Refer any service to Viso.
Disposing of this product Viso products are supplied in compliance with Directive
2002/96/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of the European Union on WEEE (Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment), as amended by Directive 2003/108/EC, where applicable.
Help preserve the environment! Ensure that this product is recycled at the end of its life. Your supplier can give details of local arrangements for the disposal of Viso products.
Page 8
8 LabSpion user guide
Introduction
About the LabSpion
The LabSpion is a revolutionary new far field goniometer system using a spectrometer sensor making it possible to measure all photometric measurement fast and easily. The Light Inspector software makes fast and easy to make, save and export measurement data.
System content
The LabSpion package contains the following items.
LabSpion goniomtere base  C-plane goiniometer with lamp bracket  3 point base table  LabSensor  Tripod for LabSensor  Light Inspector USB stick (Windows)  5 m IEC power cord
C-Plane goniomter with lamp bracket
LabSpion base with all gonio drivers, power analyser integrated
3 point base table for LabSpion base
LabSensor with spectrometer sensor and integrated laser for distance measurement to LabSpion.
Tripod for LabSensor.
Page 9
9 LabSpion user guide
5 m USB cable  20m RJ45 cat 5 for connection between LabSpion and
LabSensor
About this document
This guide describes how to install and use the LabSpion controller, and how to make measurement of different light sources.
Page 10
10 LabSpion user guide
Installation
Software installation
Before you can start using the LabSpion, the “Viso Light Inspector” software must be installed. Supported on all windows platforms.
Use the following link to download the latest version:
http://www.lightdataserver.com/software/Viso%20Systems/Ligh tInspector.htm
Please make sure the LabSpion is not connected to the computer during software installation.
Run the msi file and follow the installation instruction.
USB drivers are automatically installed.
Your measurements are not lost, when installing newer versions or uninstalling. All measurements always remain in your document folder.
Page 11
11 LabSpion user guide
Connecting power
The LabSpion comes with a standard IEC power in connector and with standard euro power cable, but any power cable can be used as the LabSpion support any outlet voltage from 90-260VAC.
The power in connector supplies power to the goniometer motor and to the power analyser and subsequent to the light source to be measured, meaning that power supplied will be identical to power supplied to the light source to be measured.
AC power supply cable plug
Warning: Risk of electric shock! Plug installation shall be performed by a qualified electrician.
A grounding-type (earthed) power plug that fits the local power outlet must be used which you can acquire an IEC power cable with a suitable grounding-type plug from most consumer electronics stores.
When installing the plug connect pins as follows: yellow and green wire to ground (earth)
blue wire to neutral brown wire to live
Page 12
12 LabSpion user guide
Connecting USB
The LabSpion is connected to the computer using a USB connector type B. A 2m USB cable type A to B is included with the LabSpion but any USB cable supporting USB2.0 can be used.
The USB supplies communication and power to the LabSpion’s main board processor, power analyser and photo spectrometer, meaning that the photo spectrometer can be used only with USB connected.
After connecting USB start the “Viso Light Inspector”
software and connection to the LabSpion will automatically be established. A successful connection is shown with a green
“Connected” icon in the upper right corner of the “Viso Light
Inspector” software.
USB can be connected and disconnected without the need
of restarting the “Viso Light Inspector” software, as
connection always is established automatically as soon as the USB connector is plugged in and vice versa.
Page 13
13 LabSpion user guide
Connecting LabSensor
Connection to the LabSensor is done by using a RJ45 cable between the LabSpion base and the LabSensor. The LabSpion supplies all power and data communications the LabSensor via the RJ45 cable.
Warning do not connect the LabSensor to C-plane
motor connector, this could damage the LabSensor.
Page 14
14 LabSpion user guide
Connecting C-plane goniometer
The C-plane goniometer is connect to the LabSpion base via a RJ45 cable. The LabSpion will automatically detect the C-plane goniometer.
Warning do not connect the C-plane motor to the
LabSensor connector, this could damage the LabSpion.
Page 15
15 LabSpion user guide
Connecting lamp power
The LabSpion has a build in power analyser and power switch. The power switch is used to switch of the lamp before a measurement is made so the ambient light can be measured and subtracted from the subsequent measurement.
The maximum supported lamp current is 3A which is 660W at 220VAC and 330 at 110VAC.
AC power supply cable plug
Warning: Risk of electric shock! Plug installation shall be performed by a qualified electrician.
A grounding-type (earthed) power plug that fits the local power outlet must be used which you can acquire an IEC power cable with a suitable grounding-type plug from most consumer electronics stores.
When installing the plug connect pins as follows: yellow and green wire to ground (earth)
blue wire to neutral brown wire to live
Page 16
16 LabSpion user guide
Connecting diagram
Below is a connection diagram showing the different connection needed to make the system operational.
Mains IN
Page 17
17 LabSpion user guide
Making measurements
Alignment of sensor
Before a measurement can be made is it important place the sensor at the correct distance and align it correctly.
The LabSpion is a so called “Far Field” goniometer system meaning the distance between the sensor and the lamp is determined by the lamp size.
The recommended distance between the sensor and the goniometer is 10 times the lamp length/diameter.
The distance can easily be measured using the build-in laser in the LabSensor.
IMPORTANT !! The distance should be measured to the centre of rotation of LabSpion base goniometer, use the centre stick as laser target.
Use ”Alignment stick”
Centre of rotation
Laser Distance >= lamp length x10 (minimum x8)
Page 18
18 LabSpion user guide
Alignment of lamp
Before making a measurement is it necessary to align the lamp to be measured to the centre of rotation.
By loosening the 4 screws on the C-Plane goniometer can it be slide to adjust the lamp into the centre position.
The 4 finger screws are placed in pairs on each side of the C-Plane goniometer as shown below.
Centre of rotation
Finger screws
Page 19
19 LabSpion user guide
Quality selection
Before making a measurement is it possible to select the measurement quality by clicking on Setup->Measurement quality.
As default does the “Viso Light Inspector” use the “low
resolution”. It is possible
to select 3 levels: low, medium and high. Each quality level increases the number measurements made during goniometer measurements and also increases the photo spectrometer integration time lowering noise level of photo spectrometer measurements.
Increasing the quality results in substantial extended measurement time.
Page 20
20 LabSpion user guide
Full automatic
By default does the “Viso Light Inspector” software make
full automatic measurement, meaning adjusting photo spectrometer to the background light environment by turning off the light source and measuring the background light levels which subsequent is subtracted from measurements so that measurements can be done even in a lit room. The adjustment of the exposure time of the photo spectrometer also known as integration time is also done automatically.
A measurement is simply started by clicking on the play icon.
Then is integration time automatically set.
Then is the ambient light level automatically measured by turning off the light source.
The light source is then turned 180 degrees to prepare for measurement.
Power is then measured and stored.
Page 21
21 LabSpion user guide
Before detailed auto re-scan
After detailed
The complete 360 degrees angular light field is then measured and the beam angle is calculated.
Light sources having a narrow beam angle can result in the number of measurements made in the beam section being too few to generate an accurate measurement. In this case will the “Viso Light Inspector” software automatically ask you if you want to make a more detailed scan of the beam section.
The increase in measurement quality after a detailed re­scan of the narrow beam section can be seen below.
Page 22
22 LabSpion user guide
When the measurement is complete is the total luminous flux is calculated in lumen and CRI, lumen/watt, peak light output in candela, power and power factor, is also calculated.
Further details about the measurement data can be found in the chapter “Measurement data”.
Page 23
23 LabSpion user guide
Manual power control
It can in some cases be necessary to control the light source power manually. Such a case could be when measuring a flash light which is powered using batteries where the LabSpion’s power analyser is unable to turn on and off the light source automatically. Another case could be when measuring a low voltage light source such as LED chips with external power supply that has a low response time when turned on and off and therefore would give an inaccurate result of the ambient light level.
To enable manual power control simply select Setup->Power control and select manual power control.
When manual power control has been selected will the
“Viso Light Inspector” ask you manually to turn on and off
the light source when necessary as shown below.
Page 24
24 LabSpion user guide
Manual integration time setup
It can in some rear cases be desirable to setup the integration time of the photo spectrometer manually. One case could be when measuring a light source emitting most of the light to the sides instead of in direction of centre. As the automatic setup of integration is done in the centre at 0 degrees could the integration time be set to high, resulting in the saturation of the photo spectrometer giving an inaccurate measurement.
The integration time of the photo spectrometer can be set manual by selecting Setup->Integration time.
Page 25
25 LabSpion user guide
Free running spectrometer
The photo spectrometer can also be used as free running to test different light sources that might be too large for a complete goniometer measurement or just to have a real­time update of how a light source behaves over time.
To start the photo spectrometer free run simply click on the start spectra scan icon
During free run mode is light output in candela, CRI, and colour temperature continuously updated.
The integration time can be changed during free run scan as explained in previous chapter to ensure correct resolution.
NOTE: After changing photo spectrometer integration time should the spectra be “Calibrated to ambient light”.
Page 26
26 LabSpion user guide
Measurement data
After a goniometer measurement is complete will the following results be displayed.
1. The angular light distribution shows the amount of light of the non-rotation symmetrical part of the light source. This field distribution is used to calculate the beam angle.
2. The complete integrated spherical spectra is shown in the spectra window. Integrated spherical spectra means that it is a spectra that is created based on all the radiated
spectra’s in all angular direction
measured, this means that the displayed spectra will be equal to that measured using an integrating sphere.
3. The complete integrated spherical spectra calculated in step 2 is used to calculate the complete luminous flux in lumens.
The peak output in candela is also displayed, which is the highest level of light output measured during goniometer measurement.
4. The power is measured by sampling voltage and current at a rate of 50.000 samples per second to ensure high resolution and thus high power precision.
Page 27
27 LabSpion user guide
The power factor (PF) which indicates the quality of power consumption where 1.0 is the best normally achieved by a pure resistive load such as a tungsten lamp and where 0.0 is the worst. The power factor (PF) value should be between 1.0 - 0.5 to be within a satisfactory level. Please refer to quality charter standards for different countries and regions to acquirer power factor limits.
5. The efficiency in lumens per watt is calculated by dividing lumens with power consumption. The result is display in the efficiency bar where 100 lumen/watt it displayed as most green. The scientifically maximum value of 100% efficacy is 683 lumen/watt.
6. The CRI is calculated using 8 reflectance standard colors to calculate the ability of the light to reflect colors thus indicating the quality of the light radiated. 0 being the worst quality and 100 being the best quality equal to that of the sun.
The CRI can only be used for white light, if CRI is not displayed is indicating that the radiated light does not meet the criteria for white light or that light levels are too low to be measured.
7. The color temperature indicates the color of white light and is displayed in kelvin. Where 6000K is observed as cold and 2500K as warm. The kelvin scale is derived from the temperature of the tungsten filament thus explaining that high temperature of the filament results in cold light and vice versa. If color temperature is not displayed is indicating that
Page 28
28 LabSpion user guide
the radiated light does not meet the criteria for white light or that light levels are too low to be measured.
8. At maximized view is the color radiated shown as x,y coordinates in a CIE1931 diagram. The CIE1931 diagram illustrates all colors visible to the human eye, and is based on experiment made in 1931 with a series of test persons to find out how the human eye observes colors.
The black line in diagram is called the black body curve and illustrates all colors that are defined as white colors from warm to cold. The point of the measured color is shown with a black cross and can be used to check the whiteness of a color, by checking how close it is to the black body curve, the closer to the black body curve the more accurate white is the color.
Page 29
29 LabSpion user guide
Power details
A detailed voltage and current scope can be viewed by clicking on the scope button or selecting “View- >Power details”
In the power details window can the time scope of the voltage and current be seen where the green line illustrates voltage scope which should be a sinus curve. The top of the voltage sinus curve can in some cases have a flat top due to distortion from the power grid. The current is illustrated with a red line and displays how current is consumed by the light source.
The power factor is an indication of how well the current is consumed through a voltage period. The power factor is calculated by taking real consumed power and divide it by the product of the voltage and current independently as shown here: PF = Power / (Voltage x Current) = 5,2 / (238,6 x 0,035) = 5,2 / 8,35 = 0,62.
When current is not consumed by the light source efficiently will it consume more current than necessary and therefore must the cabling in an installation be dimensioned accordingly. Consuming more current will also increase the loss of power due to heat in cables etc. A rule is that a 10W light source of a power factor 0.5 must be connected to an installation capable of supplying 20W, and can be calculated like this. Installation W = Power / power factor.
Page 30
30 LabSpion user guide
Example 1
Shows a standard 60W tungsten bulb having a perfect power factor of 1.0 with a current shape that is identical to the voltage shape.
Example 2
Shows a LED bulb that has passive capacitive power supply which results in high phase shift between current and voltage and thus resulting in a very low power factor of 0.19.
Example 3
Shows a LED bulb having a medium quality switch-mode driver with a high capacity peak load and thus a medium quality power factor of 0.62.
Example 4
Shows a LED bulb having a switch­mode driver with very bad filtering resulting in very high noise level of the current. This level of noise would probably not be able to pass EMC noise level requirements.
Page 31
31 LabSpion user guide
CRI details
The CRI describes the quality of white light also known as the Color Rendering Index or Ra. The value describes how full the spectra is, thus how good the light is to reflect colors of an object being illuminated.
The CRI is calculated using test colors to test chromatic adaptation of the light according to the test colors.
The test colors consist of 15 test colors but only the first 8 known as R1-R8 is used to calculated the CRI, the remaining R9-R15 are not used. But LED lights can in some cases be missing the red light component contained in R9 which is not included in the CRI measurement therefore has it been common to measure the R9 component as well.
R9-R15 values can be view by opening the CRI details window by clicking on the CRI bar or selecting View->CRI details.
We can see from the CRI details above that the level of red light R9 is quite low compared to the rest. R9 can in some cases become negative due to very low levels of red light.
Page 32
32 LabSpion user guide
Example 1
Shows a standard tungsten lamp having a full high color response on all test colors.
Example 2
Shows a Philips LED bulb having low red R9 value.
Example 3
Shows a standard LED bulb having a negative red R9 value due to the lack of red light in the spectra.
Example 4
Shows a LED bulb
having red LED’s
added to boost the red R9 to higher levels.
Page 33
33 LabSpion user guide
Spherical limit
Spherical limit allows the user to limit area of lumen integration, this is also known as measuring luminous flux in a Φ cone.
Luminous flux measurement is normally done at full 360° in all direction. But new EU regulations (EU No 1194/2012) require that directional lamps are measured in a 90° or 120° cone, meaning that only light illuminated in the cone is calculated efficient luminous flux.
The spherical limitation can be set by clicking Edit->Spherical limit.
Spherical limitation does not need to be set before making a measurement but can be set afterwards, also on previous made full 360° measurements. Below is an example of difference in lumen at 90° cone, where 57 lm is wasted outside the 90° cone.
Page 34
34 LabSpion user guide
Attaching pictures
It is possible to attach pictures to your measurement simply by dragging and dropping a picture to the picture frame.
It is also possible to use the webcam to quickly snap pictures of the light source measured to have a quick reference. To use the webcam simple click on the picture frame to open picture editor.
Then just click on the start webcam button, the webcam will then start and as many pictures as desired can be added. The first pictures in the picture editor will be used as primary picture which is shown as default with the measurement.
Pictures can be moved or deleted by right clicking on each pictures.
Page 35
35 LabSpion user guide
Saving measurement
Before saving a measurement can information about the measurement be filled in to be stored along the measurement as show.
To save the measurement simply click on the save icon or select File->Save as.
Measurement are stored in the Measurement library in alphabetic order.
Measurements are physically stored in “My documents\Viso Systems\Light Inspector\” as .fixture files.
The folder can also be opened selecting file->Open measure folder. Files can be copy and replaced as desired. If files are added or removed must the program be re-started before they appear in the library explorer.
Page 36
36 LabSpion user guide
Exporting to IES/LDT
It is possible to export the measurement to IES or LDT format to be used in Dialux or other 3D lighting design application software. To export to IES simply select File->Export->IES or LDT.
Page 37
37 LabSpion user guide
Exporting to PDF
All measurements can be exported directly to a PDF document just by selecting the measurement and then clicking File->Export->PDF. It is also possible to implement your own logo in the PDF, and export to different languages such as English, German and Chinese. A typical export is shown below.
Click and add logo
Select language
Page 38
38 LabSpion user guide
Exporting to PNG
All measurements can be exported to PNG picture file for use in reports, sales and marketing material. To export simply select a measurement in your measurement library and then select File->Export->PNG (Image). A typical export is shown below.
Page 39
39 LabSpion user guide
Exporting to CSV
Measurements can be exported to a CSV tab separated file, so that measurement data can be imported into excel or other calculation software for further examinations. To export to CVS simply click File->Export->CSV (Tab separated)
The contents of the CVS file can be seen below:
Product name
Demo 1
Date and time
30. juli 2012 09:03:52
Item number
Efficiency
64
CRI
60
CCT
3166
Lumens
257,9
Peak cd
353,75
Power
4,01
PF
0,56
CIE x
0,427
CIE y
0,403
Angle
Candela
-180
0,46
-179
0,43
-178
0,48
-177
0,47
Etc…
Page 40
40 LabSpion user guide
Emailing measurement
The “Viso Light Inspector” software is capable of directly emailing measurements by clicking on the email icon.
Page 41
41 LabSpion user guide
Specifications
Measurement method .................................................... Far Field
Physical
Shipping dimensions (L x W x H) ...... (See shipping dimensions)
Shipping weight ................................................................... 69 Kg
Dimensions (L x W x H) .................................... (See dimensions)
Weight ................................................................................. 63 Kg
Sensor distance ........................................................ 50m to 0.5m
....................................................................Sensor distance >= lamp length x10
Sensor distance setup ............. Laser range finder (build into sensor)
Lamp diameter............................ 0 – 1,5m at 2 axis (1 axis upto 6m)
Maximum lamp weight .......................................................... 25Kg
Electrical
Power supply input ............................... 90 to 260 VAC, 50/60 Hz
Power consumption ............................................ 60W (Idle 15 W)
USB current consumption ................................................ 200 mA
Power analyzer voltage range ............ 30VAC-400VAC <+/- 0.2V
Power analyzer current range .................0A-3A (Avg: +/- 0.1mA)
Power analyzer power range .......... 0W-300W (Avg: +/- 0.001W)
Power analyzer sample rate ......................... 70.000 samples/sec
Photometric
Lumen .............................................. typ 1 – 1.000.000 +/- 4.00%
Candela ............................................ typ 0,3 - 500.000 <+/- 2,5%
Color temperature ............................... 1.000K-10.000K <+/- 35K
Color rendering index (CRI) .................................. 0-100 <+/- 0,7
Angular resolution LOW MODE .......................... 3.6 degree step
Page 42
42 LabSpion user guide
................................................... (About 20 sec measurement time per C-plane)
Angular resolution HIGH MODE............................. 1 degree step
..................................................... (About 1 min measurement time per C-plane)
Spectrometer type ........................... Ibsen Photonics FREEDOM
............................................... Custom viso (high sensitive transmission grating)
Spectrometer range .............................. 360-830nm (1024 pixels)
Spectrometer detector ......................................... SONY ILX511B
Calibration ........................ Fully calibrated plug and play solution
Re-calibration ................................. Every 1 year (Maximum 2 years)
Control and interface
Control interface .............................................................. USB 2.0
Control connector .............................................................. USB-B
Connections
AC power in (power supply) .......................................... IEC 3-pin
AC power out lamp .............................................Universal socket
Light source adaptors ................................ E27, E14, B22, GU10
PC ...................................................................................... USB B
Approvals
Power supply ................................ cUL/UL, CE, CCC, TUV, FCC
Power analyzer - LabSensor ................................................... CE
Ordering information
LabSpion ............................................................. P/N LABSP001
Loading...