Vadem Clio C-1050 Series User Manual

Page 1
C-1050 Series
User Manual
Page 2
Notice
The information in this manual is subject to change without notice. VADEM SHALL NOT BE LIABLE FOR TECHNICAL OR
EDITORIAL ERRORS OR OMMISSIONS CONTAINED HEREIN; NOR FOR INCIDENTAL OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES RESULTING FROM THE FURNISHING, PERFOMANCE OR USE OF THIS MATERIAL.
This manual contains information protected by copyright. No part of this manual may be photocopied or reproduced in any form without prior written consent from Vadem.
© 1999 Vadem. Vadem, Vadem ViewFinder, CalliGrapher® and ClioTM are trademarks of
Vadem. Microsoft®, MS, MSN, PowerPoint®, ActiveX, ActiveSync, Outlook,
InkWriter, Windows, Windows NT, Visual Basic, Visual C++, and the Windows logo are registered trademarks or trademarks of Microsoft Corporation in the United States and/or other countries. Microsoft products are licensed to OEMs by Microsoft Licensing, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Microsoft Corporation.
Product names mentioned herein may be trademarks and/or registered trademarks of their respective companies.
Clio C-1050 User Manual Second Edition (September 1999) Part Number DA-00183
FOR YOUR RECORDS
For your assistance in reporting this product in case of loss or theft, please record the model number and serial number (located on the bottom of the device) below. Please retain this information.
Model Number ______________________________________ Serial Number _______________________________________ Date of Purchase _____________________________________ Place of Purchase_____________________________________
Page 3
Contents
About this Manualx Important Safety Instructionsxii Operating Precautionsxiii Where to Find Informationxiv
Conventionsxvi
1 Getting Acquainted with Clio1-1
Attaching to AC Power1-3 Calibrating and Personalizing the Device1-4 Managing Power1-5
Cycling Power1-6 Notification LED/Switch1-7
Power Manager Control Panel1-7
Battery Status Tab1-8 Suspend Options Tab1-10 Backlight Tab1-11
Managing Battery Pack Life1-12
Recharging the Main Batteries1-12 Using Batteries Efficiently1-13
Using Display Modes1-14
Using Clio in Keyboard Mode1-14 Using Clio in Tablet Mode1-15 Adjusting Contrast/Brightness1-15
Using the Stylus1-16 Exploring the Desktop1-17
My Handheld PC1-17 Taskbar1-18 Start Menu1-18 Online Help1-18
Using Windows and Internet Explorer1-19
Clio User Manual iii
Page 4
Windows Explorer1-19 Internet Explorer1-19
Communications and Connectivity1-20
Connecting to the Modem1-20 Using Infrared1-21
Removing or Replacing the Battery Pack1-22
Removing the Battery1-23 Replacing the Battery1-24
Memory1-26
Using Optional Flash Cards1-26 Installing a Compact Flash Card1-28 Installing ROM1-30
Resetting Clio1-32 Clearing Memory1-33
2 Setting up a Partnership
with a Desktop PC2-1
Connecting with the Travel Dock2-2 Setting up Communications2-4 Customizing Synchronization2-7 Synchronizing Files and File Conversion2-9
Drag and Drop2-10 Synchronized Files2-10
Backup and Restore2-11 Remote Synchronization2-11
3 Setting Up Remote Networking3-1
iv Clio User Manual
Connecting to an ISP3-2 Connecting to a Network3-3
Creating a Dial-up Connection to a Network3-4 Creating a Network (Ethernet) Connection3-5
Synchronizing with a Desktop Computer3-6 Creating a Dial-up Connection to a Modem3-9
Page 5
Inbox: Sending and Receiving E-mail Messages3-10
Setting up Inbox for Connecting to a Mail Server3-10 Connecting to a Mail Server3-13 Downloading Messages from a Mail Server3-13 Disconnecting From a Mail Server3-14 Managing Messages and Folders on a Mail Server3-14 Synchronizing E-mail Using ActiveSync3-15
Creating an Email Message3-18 Getting Help on Connectivity3-18
4 A Tour of Windows CE4-1
Programs4-2 Using the Start Menu and Taskbar4-4 Using the Command Bar4-5 Finding Files and Exploring the Web4-5 Printing4-6 Customizing Clio4-7
Communications4-7 Dialing4-7 Display4-8 Keyboard4-8 Network4-8 Owner4-8 Password4-9 Power Manager4-9 Regional Settings4-9 Remove Programs4-10 Stylus4-10 System4-10 Tablet Mode AutoStart4-10 Volume and Sounds4-11 World Clock4-11
Clio User Manual v
Page 6
5 Using the Microsoft Office and Other
Companion Programs5-1
Pocket Word: Creating Documents5-2 Pocket Excel: Creating Workbooks5-4 Pocket Access: Viewing and Creating Data5-6 Pocket PowerPoint: Showing Presentations5-8 Voice Recorder and InkWriter5-10
Voice Recorder: Capturing Ideas and Thoughts5-10 InkWriter: Creating Notes and Drawings5-12
Microsoft Pocket Outlook5-14
Calendar: Scheduling Meetings and Appointments5-15 Contacts: Tracking Friends and Colleagues5-18 Tasks: Keeping a To Do List5-19
6 Using the Bundled Programs6-1
Vadem ViewFinder™6-2
Viewing, Finding and Editing Your Personal Information6-3 Archiving and Restoring Notes6-4
CalliGrapher® 5.3 6-6
Starting CalliGrapher6-6 Recognition Mode6-7 ScreenDraw mode6-9
BSQUARE® bFAX® Pro6-10
Sending a Fax via the Built-In Modem6-11 Receiving a Fax6-11
BSQUARE bUSEFUL
Starting a bUSEFUL Backup6-12 Some Helpful Tips and Tricks about bUSEFUL6-12
BSQUARE Publisher and Viewer6-15
Starting and running BSQUARE bREADY Publisher6-15 Starting and Running the BSQUARE bREADY Viewer on your
Clio6-16
TM
Backup Plus6-12
vi Clio User Manual
Page 7
A Clio Troubleshooting
Guide and TipsA-1
What should I do if…A-1
…the power button won’t turn the device on?A-1 …my screen is dark?A-2 ...Clio’s Notify button is not working?A-2 …the system is not responding properly to the stylus taps?A-2 …my Clio will not respond to screen taps or keystrokes?A-3 ... my battery is not holding a charge?A-3 ...I can’t install the battery?A-4 ...my Clio doesn’t open and close properly?A-4 ...my Clio’s AC adapter is not charging the unit?A-4 ...my Clio is not receiving audio?A-4 ...I can’t insert a PC card into the card slot?A-5 …I forget my power-on protection password?A-5
....the LCD on my Clio is flickering?A-5
...my Clio’s battery LED is not working?A-6 ...my Clio’s serial port is not working?A-6
How do I…A-6
…minimize an application or window?A-6 …quickly access the desktop?A-6 …create a shortcut to my favorite application or file on the
desktop?A-6 …end an application that is not responding?A-7 …tell if the Caps Lock is active?A-7 …access the context menus (right mouse click in Windows
95)?A-7
…check battery levels?A-7 …find out how much memory I have left for storage and
applications?A-7 …maximize my battery life?A-8
Clio User Manual vii
Page 8
B Hardware SpecificationsB-1
C Regulatory Information for the
C-1050 SeriesC-1
D Supported PC Cards D-1
E Limited WarrantyE-1
F Vadem Software License AgreementF-1
G BSQUARE® EULAG-1
H Software ProgramsH-1
Glossary Glossary-1
Index
viii Clio User Manual
Page 9
Preface
Congratulations on purchasing Clio, the ideal PC Companion powered by the Microsoft® Windows® CE operating system. The size and capabilities of this device let you keep your most impor­tant business and personal information up-to-date and close at hand. Windows ActiveSync® with CE Services increases the power of Clio by letting you synchronize the information on your desktop or laptop computer with this device. Picture yourself in the following situations:
• You’re on a business trip, getting important customer
feedback that you want to discuss with your colleagues back in the office. Using Calendar, Contacts, and Inbox, you schedule a meeting and send it to your colleagues while still on the road.
• You are on the road taking customer orders. Using Pocket
Access, you create records for each customer with their order information. At night, you connect to your network and update the global database with your new orders. You also download updates to the product information database you use when making sales.
• You glance at the time and realize that you are going to be late
for the bus. You grab Clio and catch the bus just in time. Because ActiveSync keeps the information on your device always up-to-date, while on the bus, you leisurely read and respond to the e-mail messages you did not have a chance to get to during the day. Once at home, you use your device to dial into the network at your company and send your replies.
Clio User Manual ix
Page 10
• During a few spare minutes in the airport, you check your e-
mail and send a note to your daughter wishing her luck at the gymnastics meet.
About this Manual
Table P-1 provides a description of each section in this manual.
TABLE P-1 Contents of this Manual
Section Content
Chapter 1: Getting Acquainted with Clio Essential information about Clio, including its
hardware, software applications, supported PC cards, and essential set-up tasks you should perform.
Chapter 2: Setting up a Partnership with a Desktop PC
Chapter 3: Setting Up Remote Networking
Chapter 4: A Tour of Windows CE Description of the features of the Windows CE
Chapter 5: Using Microsoft Office and Other Companion Programs
Chapter 6: Using the Bundled Programs Information about using the Vadem applica-
Instructions for setting up a partnership and synchronizing Clio with a desktop PC.
Instructions for configuring and using dialup and network connections.Instructions for sending and receiving email messages with the Inbox program.
desktop environment.
Information about using the Microsoft appli­cations bundled with Clio.
tions bundled with Clio: ViewFinder, CalliG­rapher, BSQUARE bFAX Pro, bUSEFUL BACKUP Plus and bREADY Publisher and Viewer.
x Clio User Manual
Page 11
About this Manual
TABLE P-1 Contents of this Manual
Section (Continued) Content
Appendix A: Clio Troubleshooting Guide and Tips
Symptom, Cause, and Solution information for commonly encountered difficulties
Appendix B: Hardware Specifications System specifications for Clio
Appendix C: Regulatory Information for the
Regulatory information regarding Clio
C-1050 Series Appendix D:
Supported PC Cards Listing of PC Cards supported by Windows
CE
Appendix E: Vadem Limited Warranty Complete text of Vadem limited warranty
Appendix F: Vadem Software
Complete text of software license agreement
License Agreement Appendix G:
BSQUARE® End-User License Agreement (EULA)
BSQUARE® bFAX® Pro, BSQUARE® bUSEFULTMBACKUP Plus, bREADYTM Pub­lisher and Viewer EULA
Appendix H: Software Programs Complete listing of software programs
included with C-1050 Series
Glossary Translations of commonly used terms
Clio User Manual xi
Page 12
Important Safety Instructions
Follow basic safety precautions to reduce the risk of fire, electric shock, or personal injury:
1. Read and understand all instructions.
2. Follow all warnings and instructions marked on the
product.
3. Never install telephone wiring during a lightning storm.
4. Never install telephone jacks in wet locations unless the
jack is specifically designed for wet locations.
5. Never touch uninsulated telephone wires or terminals
unless the telephone line has been disconnected at the network interface.
6. Use caution when installing or modifying telephone wires.
7. Avoid using a telephone (other than a cordless type) or
modem during an electrical storm. There may be a remote risk of electric shock from lightning.
8. Use only the power adapter supplied with Clio. If you need
to replace the supplied power adapter, go to the Vadem web site,
http://www.vadem.com,
for information on how to order a replacement.
9. Do not overload wall outlets and extension cords as this
can result in the risk of fire or electric shock.
10. Never spill liquid of any kind on the product.
11. To reduce the risk of electric shock, do not disassemble the
product. Instead, take it to qualified service personnel when service or repair work is required. Opening or removing covers may expose you to dangerous voltage or other risks. Incorrect reassembly can cause electric shock when the product is next used.
xii Clio User Manual
Page 13
Operating Precautions
Clio is a precision digital instrument. Be sure to observe the following important precautions in order to prevent malfunction that can result in improper operation or corruption of data in memory.
• Never continue to use the device when battery power is low.
Low battery power can cause corruption or loss of data stored in memory. Recharge batteries as soon as possible after low power is indicated. Charge whenever possible.
• Avoid using the device in areas subjected to the conditions
listed below. Such conditions can create the danger of fire or personal injury, as well as damage to and malfunction of the device.
• Electrostatic charge
• Extreme heat
• Very high humidity
• Sudden temperature change
• Large amounts of dust
Operating Precautions
Also note the following important precautions. Failure to do so can create the danger of fire, personal injury, as well as damage to and malfunction of the device.
• Never drop the device, allow it to be hit by other objects or
otherwise subject it to strong impact.
• Never place heavy objects on top of the device.
• Never disassemble the device.
• Never insert foreign objects into the connectors or slots of the
device.
• Never allow water or other liquids to come into direct contact
with the device.
Clio User Manual xiii
Page 14
• Always use the stylus that comes with the device when
operating its touch screen, and only use the shiny end of the stylus.
• Never use paint thinner, benzene, or other volatile agents to
clean the device or its display panel. Instead, use a soft cloth moistened with water. Wring out all excess liquid from the cloth before wiping the device or display panel.
Where to Find Information
This manual describes your Clio hardware, provides an overview of the programs included, and describes how to set up communications between your device and your desktop computer. Table P-2 is a guide to the different types of information available to help you use your device. Note that although this book introduces the programs on your Clio, it does not describe them completely. For more information, see the comprehensive online Help for each program.
TABLE P-2 Clio Information
Information Source
Program Documentation This User’s Manual
-or­Online Help on your device. Select Start > Help.
Synchronizing and exchanging files with a desktop computer
This User’s Manual.
-or­Online Help on your device. Select Start > Help.
-or­Microsoft ActiveSync online Help on your desktop computer. In the Active­Sync window, click
Help > Windows CE Services Help Topics.
xiv Clio User Manual
Page 15
Where to Find Information
TABLE P-2 Clio Information (Continued)
Information Source
Toolbar buttons Tap and hold on a toolbar button to see
its name. Drag off the toolbar button before lifting to avoid activating the button.
Troubleshooting information on connections
The Communications Troubleshooter on your desktop computer. In the ActiveSync window, click Help > Communications Troubleshooting.
Up-to-date information on Windows CE-based devices
Information on this release of Windows CE
The Microsoft Windows CE Home Page:
http://www.microsoft.com/win­dowsce
Readme.doc file (located in the
Microsoft ActiveSync folder on your desktop computer).
Extensive online support for Clio spe­cific tips, troubleshooting and FAQs
The Vadem Home Page:
http://www.vadem.com
(Frequently Asked Questions) Information about accessories,
software and upgrades for Clio
The Vadem Home Page:
http://www.vadem.com
Vadem Technical Support Email to:
Vadem Technical Support, Service and
1-888-GO-VADEM
Repair
Clio User Manual xv
Page 16
Conventions
This manual uses several conventions to present information of special importance.
Warning: Warnings are cautions and alerts of things that can interfere
with or damage the function of this device.
Note: Notes highlight helpful and important things to keep in mind
when using this mobile device. These include things like tips and tricks, shortcuts, and hints.
Lists of items, points to consider, or procedures that do not need to be performed in a specific order appear in bullet format:
• Item 1
• Item 2
Procedures that must be followed in a specific order appear in numbered steps:
1. Perform this step first
2. Perform this step second
NOTE: The notation [tap] or [double-tap] may appear in this document. It signifies a stylus or finger tapping the touch screen.
xvi Clio User Manual
Page 17
Where to Find Information
The following general text conventions are used to denote special circumstances.
[ENTER]
Specific keyboard keys are shown in square brackets and are capitalized.
[ALT]+[F4]
Keys with a plus sign (+) between them must be pressed simultaneously
{POWER}
Buttons and knobs are depicted in round brackets and are capitalized and italicized.
\\HKEY\CURRENT_USER
Path names to PC or Windows CE resources are shown in Courier font.
Start>Settings>Control Panel Clio paths to resources are shown usually
in bold font
cd \letters\business\legal [ENTER]
http://www.Vadem.com
PC keyboard entries or URLs you are expected to enter exactly as shown are indicated in Courier font.
Clio User Manual xvii
Page 18
xviii Clio User Manual
Page 19
1 Getting Acquainted with Clio
Before you start using Clio, you will need to charge the unit until the orange indicator light on the front turns to green, indicating a fully charged battery.
This chapter will show you how to:
1. Attach to AC power and charge the batteries.
When attached to AC power, the battery pack and backup battery charge automatically, even when Clio is in use. Refer to “Attaching to AC Power” on page 1-3.
Important: The first time you charge Clio, be sure that
your device remains connected to AC power for twelve hours to fully charge both batteries. You may use Clio during this time, but do not remove it from the AC connection. This is only required the first time you charge Clio.
2. Calibrate and personalize Clio.
Refer to “Calibrating and Personalizing the Device” on page 1-4.
Clio User Manual 1-1
Page 20
Getting Acquainted with Clio
Screen contrast control keys
The names and locations of key components on your Clio are shown below. Figure 1-1 shows a top view of Clio in Keyboard Mode, and Figure 1-2 shows a bottom view of Clio.
Display Power Button
External Power Port
Serial/ Docking Port
IR Port
Modem Jack
Microphone
Birghtness control keys
Notification LED/Switch
Stylus
FIGURE 1-1 Top view of Clio in Keyboard Mode
Warning: Be careful when opening Clio. The hinge arm may pinch skin
or clothing that is in contact with the back of the device when it is opened. Always rest Clio on a flat surface before opening.
1-2 Clio User Manual
Page 21
Battery Pack door
FIGURE 1-2 Bottom View of Clio
Attaching to AC Power
To attach Clio to AC power, plug the mini-connector end of the AC adaptor cable into Clio and the two-pronged end into a standard 110V AC power outlet. You can also attach the device to AC power using the Travel Dock (refer to “Connecting with the Travel Dock” on page 2-2).
Attaching to AC Power
Compact Flash Slot (internal, not shown)
Memory Module Cover
Speaker
Reset button
PC Card ejector
PC card slot
When you attach Clio to AC power, the batteries automatically recharge. You can use the device while your batteries are recharging. In fact, it is recommended that you always use AC power when you are near an outlet to insure your batteries stay fully charged for when you travel.
Important: Use only the AC power adapter supplied with Clio.
If you need to replace the adapter, go to the Vadem web site,
http://www.vadem.com,
for information on how to order replacement.
Clio User Manual 1-3
Page 22
Getting Acquainted with Clio
Calibrating and Personalizing the Device
The first time you power on, the “Welcome to Windows CE for the Handheld PC” wizard appears on your screen. Just follow the instructions as they appear.
1. Calibrate the screen: a. Remove the stylus from its holder. b. At the center of each cross or target (+) that appears on
the display, tap using the stylus.
c. Press the ENTER key when you are done.
Note: Always use the Clio stylus to touch the Clio screen. Do not
use any stylus or pen other than the Clio stylus. Using a different pen or stylus may damage your screen. Do not rest the heel of your hand on the screen, as it is quite sensitive to contact and will not work accurately when there is more than one point of contact.
2. Set the world clock.
When the World Clock dialog appears:
a. In the Home tab, select a city in your time zone. b. Optionally, in the Visiting tab, select another city for
which you would like to track local time, then tap OK.
c. In the Date and Time tab, select the date and specify the
time in your Home and Visiting cities.
d. Tap OK in the upper right of the dialog.
3. Enter your personal information.
When the Owner Properties dialog appears, enter your personal information, then tap Done in the lower right corner of the dialog.
1-4 Clio User Manual
Page 23
Managing Power
Clio uses two types of batteries and will maintain memory for at least two weeks when the device is turned off:
• The rechargeable main battery pack, which comes packaged
with the device. It provides approximately 12 hours of power under normal use.
• A built-in, rechargeable backup battery. This battery pack
recharges whenever you recharge the device. Its purpose is as an emergency power source to maintain memory when the main battery pack is removed for short periods.
Note: The device cannot be turned on using only the
backup battery.
Managing Power
Warning: All data will be lost if the main battery is drained or
removed and the backup battery is also drained. Replace the main battery as soon as possible after removing it. Always charge Clio whenever possible to protect your data.
Clio User Manual 1-5
Page 24
Getting Acquainted with Clio
Cycling Power
Clio is ready to use as soon as you power on. Unlike a PC, Clio does not need to boot up or shut down.
There are three ways to power on and off:
• Power Button. To power on, press the Power Button (large button recessed into the frame to the right of the display). To power off, press this same button.
• Opening and Closing Clio. This is an optional feature you can set using the Power Manager Control Panel. When this feature is enabled and you close Clio with the screen facing down, it powers off. When you open Clio, it powers on.
• Docking with the PC. When you dock Clio to your PC using the Travel Dock or Serial Cable, your Clio will automatically power on as part of establishing a partnership with your PC (refer to Chapter 2, “Setting up a Partnership with a Desktop PC”).
Note: If the screen does not appear to be on after you power on the
device, you may need to adjust the screen brightness and contrast (refer to “Adjusting Contrast/Brightness” on page 1-
15). The Clio screen takes a few seconds to reach full brightness after you turn on the device.
1-6 Clio User Manual
Page 25
Power Manager Control Panel
Notification LED/Switch
Clio features a Notification LED/switch on its lower front edge. To interpret signals from the LED, refer to Table 1-1.
TABLE 1-1 Notification LED/switch
Indicator Meaning
Steady green light Clio is attached to AC power and the bat-
tery pack is fully charged.
Steady orange light Clio is attached to AC power and the bat-
tery pack is charging.
Red blinking light An alarm or reminder of an important event
or appointment that occurs while Clio is turned off. Press the LED/switch to turn on Clio and to turn off the alarm/reminder after it lights up.
Power Manager Control Panel
If you select the Power Manager icon in the Control Panel, a dialog box will be displayed that contains information about the Power status of the device. It contains three tabs that allow you to check your battery level and customize options to improve battery life.
Clio User Manual 1-7
Page 26
Getting Acquainted with Clio
Battery Status Tab
Figure 1-3 shows the Power Properties dialog box with the Battery Status tab displayed.
FIGURE 1-3 Battery Status Tab in the Power Properties Dialog Box
The Battery Status tab displays the battery level as a meter with green (good), yellow (low) and red (very low) zones. You can quickly determine whether your battery is empty or full by looking at the meter. The status of the internal, rechargeable backup battery is also shown.
An estimated battery life is displayed for the Main Battery is also shown. The estimated battery life is a continuous calculation based on current use. It may fluctuate based on various factors including the brightness setting of the display, whether or not the modem is being used or even if the user is actively typing or letting the device sit idle. In some cases you may see “Unknown Time Remaining” for a short time before the device has time to calculate estimated battery life. The value should be taken as only an estimate of remaining battery life, not an exact time.
1-8 Clio User Manual
Page 27
Power Manager Control Panel
Note: To preserve your data stored in RAM memory, Clio will
automatically power off after the battery level enters into the red zone. If you attempt to turn the device on again, it may turn on briefly, then turn off again to protect memory. Use the AC Adapter as soon as possible to recharge the device. In order to protect your data, you should never leave the device for long periods of time without recharging the battery. When power becomes low on the device, dialog boxes appear to alert you of the problem.
When AC Power is applied, the Main Battery icon changes to the External Power icon (Figure 1-4), to indicate that the device is running on AC and the Main Battery is recharging.
FIGURE 1-4 External Power Icon
Clio User Manual 1-9
Page 28
Getting Acquainted with Clio
Suspend Options Tab
The Suspend Options tab (Figure 1-5) allows you to set options for automatically powering the device on or off. You can choose to have Clio turn on and off automatically whenever you open or close the case. In addition, you can set a timeout to automatically power off the device after an idle period to preserve battery power.
FIGURE 1-5 Suspend Options Tab in the Power Properties Dialog Box
1-10 Clio User Manual
Page 29
Power Manager Control Panel
Backlight Tab
The Backlight tab (Figure 1-6) allows you to set a timeout to automatically dim the backlight after an idle period. Enabling this feature will maximize the battery life of your device under normal operating conditions. Touching the screen or any key on the keyboard will automatically brighten the backlight back to its original setting.
FIGURE 1-6 Backlight Tab in the Power Properties Dialog Box
Clio User Manual 1-11
Page 30
Getting Acquainted with Clio
Managing Battery Pack Life
When fully charged, the main battery pack supports up to 12 hours of use. The backup battery provides an emergency power source to protect your memory contents if the main battery pack is removed for short periods of time. When attached to AC power, both batteries charge automatically, even when Clio is in use.
Recharging the Main Batteries
Warning: Never continue to use Clio when the battery pack is low.
Complete loss of battery pack power will destroy your data. Recharge the batteries as soon as low power is indicated.
To recharge the main battery pack and built-in rechargeable backup battery:
• If you have a travel dock that is plugged into a wall outlet, attach Clio to the travel dock.
• Otherwise, attach the AC Adapter directly to Clio.
Note: The Notification LED/Switch turns orange whenever AC is
applied and the battery is charging. Be sure to check the LED when you plug Clio into the AC Adapter or dock. The LED turns green when the battery is fully charged.
The backup battery is provided for use by the system on an emergency basis, where the main battery pack cannot be recharged as necessary or when the main battery pack must be removed. Be sure to replace the main battery pack without delay.
1-12 Clio User Manual
Page 31
Managing Battery Pack Life
Using Batteries Efficiently
Here is a list of things you can do to maximize your battery pack’s life and charge:
• Charge the battery pack as soon as the first low battery pack
warning appears. Keep the battery fully charged whenever possible.
• Use AC power as much as possible, especially when you are
using PC cards. These cards consume a lot of power.
• If you are low on power, turn off sounds on the device using
the Volume and Sound Control Panel. These sounds consume a lot of power.
• If possible, use AC power when using the Clio built-in modem
as it requires more power.
• Turn on the dim backlight feature, described above, to
maximize battery life when the device is idle.
• Choose a lower brightness setting if possible. The backlight
consumes a lot of power.
Clio User Manual 1-13
Page 32
Getting Acquainted with Clio
Using Display Modes
The display screen is designed to make Clio as easy to use, under as many conditions, as possible.
Using Clio in Keyboard Mode
To open the screen in keyboard mode:
1. Place Clio face up on a flat surface with the Notification
LED/switch facing you.
2. Lift up on the screen and push the top of it away from you,
keeping the screen inline with the screen arms.
3. Pivot the screen to optimize its readability under different
lighting conditions.
Refer to Figure 1-7.
Step 2. Lift the top away from you
Step 3. Pivot the bottom toward you
FIGURE 1-7 Opening the Display in Keyboard Mode
1-14 Clio User Manual
Page 33
Using Display Modes
To close Clio:
1. Align the screen with the screen arms.
2. Close the screen by pushing it down to meet the body of
Clio.
Using Clio in Tablet Mode
Once the screen is open, you can convert it to tablet mode:
1. Pivot the screen so that it is facing away from the
keyboard and is aligned with the screen arms.
2. Push the screen down to meet the body of Clio (but with
the display facing up), as shown in Figure 1-8.
FIGURE 1-8 Display in Tablet Mode
Adjusting Contrast/Brightness
To adjust display contrast, press ALT+LESSTHAN(<) to decrease or ALT+GREATERTHAN (>) to increase contrast. To adjust display
Clio User Manual 1-15
Page 34
Getting Acquainted with Clio
brightness, press ALT+PLUS (+) to increase or ALT+ MINUS (-) to reduce brightness.
Using the Stylus
Clio comes with a stylus, a pencil-shaped device for tapping or dragging to select or to move displayed items. To reduce the risk of scratching the Touch Screen, use the grey end of the stylus. You can use the stylus much as you would a mouse. For example:
• Tap icons on your screen to select them.
• Double-tapping works like double-clicking a mouse.
• Press ALT and tap to access context-sensitive menus
(equivalent to right-button click on a mouse).
• To move something on the display, or to draw lines or curves, press continuously and drag.
• If the CalliGrapher program is active (refer to “CalliGrapher®
5.3” on page 6-6), you can write on the screen in block or cursive styles and the system will capture your input, as if you had used the keyboard.
Note: You may use your finger instead of the stylus, but do not use
any other stylus or pen. Using a different pen or stylus may damage your screen. Also, do not rest the heel of your hand on the screen, as it is quite sensitive to contact and will not work accurately when there is more than one point of contact.
1-16 Clio User Manual
Page 35
Exploring the Desktop
The Clio Windows CE desktop contains shortcuts to programs and features the standard “My Handheld PC” icon, Start menu and taskbar.
The following section briefly describes Clio’s desktop features. For more in-depth information on Windows CE applications, see Chapter 4, “A Tour of Windows CE”.
My Handheld PC
The “My Handheld PC” folder contains standard Windows folders, such as the Control Panel, Databases, My Documents, Program Files, and Windows.
Use these resources to create new folders, create shortcuts to the desktop, navigate files, add files to the Favorites list (on Start menu), view files as icons or list, transfer files using infrared, and switch to the internet.
Exploring the Desktop
For more specific information on the folders contained within the “My Handheld PC’ folder, see the Clio online help.
Clio User Manual 1-17
Page 36
Getting Acquainted with Clio
Taskbar
The taskbar is displayed along the lower edge of the desktop. It displays the programs you are currently running, the Desktop icon, and status tray. When selected, the Desktop icon minimizes all opened programs to display the desktop.
The taskbar icons display the following information from left to right:
• your battery status, including whether you are using AC current or battery.
• your network connection status
• access to Calligrapher resources (For more information on
Calligrapher see “CalliGrapher® 5.3” on page 6-6).
• contrast, brightness, volume and video screen settings, as well as battery charge information.
• the current time
Start Menu
The Start menu is found on the left-most end of the taskbar. Tapping the Start icon opens the menu, where you will find directories containing all software application programs, your favorite documents, recently used documents, and Clio settings. The Run facility lets you set up and run software. The Suspend function lets you save your session settings to return to your current settings when disconnected.
Online Help
Clio contains an online help system that you can access from many ways. From the Start Menu, choose the Help icon. From applications, choose the question mark [?] icon.
1-18 Clio User Manual
Page 37
Using Windows and Internet Explorer
The online help system contains the most up-to-date information about Clio’s features and functions.
Using Windows and Internet Explorer
Clio uses its own version of Windows Explorer and Internet Explorer.
Windows Explorer
The Windows Explorer program is useful for viewing, transferring and organizing files. It is also accessed from the “My Handheld PC” icon.
To open this program, tap Start > Programs > Windows
Explorer.
Internet Explorer
Internet Explorer lets you view HTML files and acts as your Internet browser.
To open this program, tap Start > Programs > Internet Explorer. To view an HTML file residing on your Clio, select File > Open, then choose the file. To connect to the Internet and use Internet Explorer as your browser, see Connecting to an ISP on page 3-2.
Clio User Manual 1-19
Page 38
Getting Acquainted with Clio
Communications and Connectivity
Clio provides a modem jack, an IR (infrared) port, a serial/ docking port, a PC Card slot, and a Compact Flash slot. This section describes the use of each of these features.
Connecting to the Modem
To use the internal modem, plug any analog phone line into the standard RJ11 jack on the side of Clio (Figure 1-9).
Warning: Only use an analog phone line with the built-in modem on
Clio. Digital phone lines may damage the built-in modem. Digital phone lines can sometimes be found in hotels or corporate buildings using PBX systems. Check before using an unknown phone line.
FIGURE 1-9 Plugging in the Modem Cable
1-20 Clio User Manual
Page 39
Communications and Connectivity
To use the built-in modem, choose “Built-in modem on COM5:” as the modem type. Refer to Chapter 3, “Setting Up Remote Networking” for information on creating dial-up connections.
Using Infrared
You can establish an IR (infrared) connection between Clio and another device that runs Windows CE using the infrared port.
To create an IR connection:
1. Power on both devices.
2. Place Clio and the other Windows CE device so that their
IR ports are directly facing each other (refer to Figure 1-
10).
FIGURE 1-10 Infrared Connection
To send a file, highlight the file then select File > Send To > Infrared Recipient in the Windows Explorer menu. To receive a
file, select File > Receive in the Windows Explorer menu. Other programs may support infrared. Check the documentation for other programs for details.
Clio User Manual 1-21
Page 40
Getting Acquainted with Clio
Note: The IR port and the serial port cannot work simulta-
neously.
Removing or Replacing the Battery Pack
For certain operations, such as installing more memory or install­ing certain types of PC cards, you will need to remove the battery pack. Also, if the battery becomes defective, you’ll need to replace it. Follow the steps in this section to safely handle the bat­tery pack.
Warning: Never open the battery pack door or remove the battery pack
without FIRST shutting off the device. REMOVING THE
BATTERY WHILE THE DEVICE IS ON MAY CAUSE YOU TO LOSE ALL OF YOUR DATA.
1. Remove the battery pack door.
2. With Clio face down on a flat surface and the back of the
device facing you, grasp the tabs on the back of the battery pack door and lift away from you (Figure 1-11).
1-22 Clio User Manual
Page 41
Removing or Replacing the Battery Pack
Back of the device facing you
Lift the Battery
Pack door up Device face down on a flat surface
FIGURE 1-11 Removing the Battery Pack Door
and away from
you
Removing the Battery
3. Rotate the tab of the battery pack away from the battery
contacts and lift the battery pack out of the device. Refer to Figure 1-12.
.
FIGURE 1-12 Rotating the Battery Pack away from the Battery Contacts
Warning: Never operate Clio with the Battery Pack removed. When
Clio User Manual 1-23
removing the battery pack, replace it as quickly as possible and be careful not to leave it out of the system for an extended period of time.
Page 42
Getting Acquainted with Clio
Replacing the Battery
1. Open the battery compartment as described in steps 1-3
above.
2. Insert the battery pack.
Orient the battery pack so the tab is on the side matching the three battery contacts on Clio (and so that the tab is facing away from Clio).
Insert the battery pack into Clio. Make sure both ends snap in securely. (Figure 1-13).
.
Tab
Battery Contacts
FIGURE 1-13 Inserting the Battery Pack
3. Rotate the battery pack so that its tab makes a connection
with the three Battery Contacts on Clio.
Refer to Figure 1-14.
.
FIGURE 1-14 Rotating the Battery Pack toward the Battery Contacts
1-24 Clio User Manual
Page 43
Removing or Replacing the Battery Pack
4. Replace the battery pack cover.
Insert the tabs on the curved side of the door into the body of Clio (Figure 1-15), then press down on the straight side and snap into place (Figure 1-16).
Note: If the battery pack door does not close completely, the
device will not power on.
.
FIGURE 1-15 Inserting Door
.
FIGURE 1-16 Closing Door
Clio User Manual 1-25
Page 44
Getting Acquainted with Clio
Memory
Clio uses three types of memory:
• Optional Flash Cards, which can be used to store files.
• ROM, which contains the operating system and built-in
programs.
• RAM, which contains additional programs and data.
This section describes installation and use of each type of memory.
Using Optional Flash Cards
You can use many kinds of Type I or Type II PC cards with Clio. Flash memory PC Cards can be used to store files. Modem and ethernet PC Cards can be used for communications. VGA PC Cards can be used to give presentations. Windows CE supports many such cards with its built-in drivers. Other cards come with their own drivers. A list of supported PC Cards is provided in Appendix D, “Supported PC Cards.”
Installing a PC Card:
1. Insert your PC card into the PC card slot.
If you have not used a PC card with the device before, you need to remove the protection card that is in the slot. To do this, grasp the tab on the end of the card and pull it out.
Insert the PC card connector end first until it is snug and the eject button pops out. Do not force the card, it will still stick out slightly from the slot when fully inserted.
Refer to Figure 1-17.
Note: If the card stops and the Eject button has not popped
out, you may have inserted the PC Card upside down.
1-26 Clio User Manual
Page 45
Memory
Remove the PC Card, flip it over and try again.
After removing the protection card, insert the PC card until snug. Do not force the card, as it will not fit all the way into Clio.
FIGURE 1-17 Inserting a PC Card
2. If this is the first time you have inserted this PC Card, you
may be prompted by the device to identify or format the card.
Follow the instructions on the display. Flash memory PC Cards will appear as the
Storage Card folder inside the My Handheld PC folder.
Clio User Manual 1-27
Page 46
Getting Acquainted with Clio
Removing a PC Card
Note: Carefully follow these steps when removing a PC Card.
Otherwise, you may lose your data.
To remove a PC card from Clio:
1. Exit all programs that are using files that reside on your
PC card.
2. Power off Clio.
3. Eject the card.
Press the button beside the PC card slot.
4. Replace the protection card.
This prevents dust from entering the slot.
Installing a Compact Flash Card
You can use a compact flash card to store files as you would a PC card.
Note: The Compact Flash slot is an internal slot. If swapping a
compact flash card back and forth from a digital camera, you may wish to use a PC card adapter in the external slot.
To insert or change a compact flash card:
1. Follow the steps to remove the battery pack (see
“Removing or Replacing the Battery Pack” on page 1-22).
2. Insert the compact flash card in the available slot.
If there is a compact flash card currently in the slot, remove it first. Refer to Figure 1-18.
1-28 Clio User Manual
Page 47
Memory
Remove the battery pack
Insert compact flash card into available slot, label side up.
FIGURE 1-18 Inserting a Compact Flash Card
3. Replace the battery pack.
Warning: When removing the battery pack, please replace it as
quickly as possible and be careful not to leave it out of the system for an extended period of time. The backup battery provides an emergency power source for up to two hours, BUT IF IT DRAINS YOU
WILL LOSE ALL OF YOUR DATA.
4. Replace the battery pack cover and snap into place.
Insert the tabs on the curved side of the door into the body of Clio, then press down on the flat side and snap into place. If the battery pack door is not completely closed, the device will not power on.
Compact flash cards will appear as the Storage Card 1 folder inside the My Handheld PC folder.
Clio User Manual 1-29
Page 48
Getting Acquainted with Clio
Installing ROM
Warning: Never open the battery pack door or remove the battery pack
without FIRST shutting off the device. REMOVING THE
BATTERY WHILE THE DEVICE IS ON MAY CAUSE YOU TO LOSE ALL OF YOUR DATA.
You can upgrade the ROM module in Clio:
• A new ROM module may be necessary to upgrade to a new
release of the operating system.
To replace the ROM:
1. Synchronize information to your desktop PC.
Backup any files or programs you need. Refer to “Synchronizing Files and File Conversion” on page 2-9.
2. Disconnect any AC power connection, including the travel
dock.
3. Open the battery pack door and rotate the battery pack
away from contacts.
4. Remove the memory module cover, using a phillips
screwdriver.
5. Remove the ROM module currently in the device.
Under the memory module cover are two modules. With Clio face down and its Notification LED/switch light facing you, the ROM module is on the right and the RAM on the left. Put your fingers around the ROM module and lift it out.
Refer to Figure 1-19.
1-30 Clio User Manual
Page 49
Memory
RAM
ROM
FIGURE 1-19 Inserting a ROM Module
6. Install the new ROM module.
The ROM and RAM modules have unique connectors that will not accept the wrong module. Align the connectors on the module with the connectors in the Clio. Then firmly and evenly snap into place. Make sure the module is firmly seated in place. Do not force it.
7. Replace the memory module cover.
Be sure the cover is firmly in place. Clio will not power on if the cover is not in place. Replace the screw and carefully tighten. Do not overtighten the screw.
8. Replace the battery pack (see “Removing or Replacing the
Battery Pack” on page 1-22 for instruction).
9. Optionally, reconnect AC power.
10. Power on the device.
11. Synchronize with your desktop PC to restore your data.
Clio User Manual 1-31
Page 50
Getting Acquainted with Clio
Note: Always read and follow the specific instructions that came
with your ROM module. There may be important updated information.
Resetting Clio
If the device does not turn on after you install the battery pack and attach the device to AC power, first check if the contrast and brightness are set correctly (see “Adjusting Contrast/Brightness” on page 1-15). If the device still does not turn on or appears frozen, you may need to reset the device.
Warning: You will lose any unsaved changes in files or programs when
you reset Clio. All running applications will exit upon reset.
To reset the device, use the Clio stylus to push the reset switch. This switch is recessed on the bottom of the device (Figure 1-20), recessed behind a hole to protect it from accidental triggering. It is labeled RESET.
1-32 Clio User Manual
Page 51
FIGURE 1-20 Resetting Clio
Clearing Memory
Clearing Memory
Warning: Clearing memory will completely erase all data on the
system. This should only be done as an emergency procedure or when you wish to completely erase all data; for example, when assigning your device to a new owner.
To clear memory:
1. Synchronize information to your desktop PC.
Backup any files or programs you need. Refer to “Synchronizing Files and File Conversion” on page
2-9.
2. Remove the memory module cover.
3. Press the silver and black Memory Erase button (under
the memory module cover), and simultaneously press the RESET switch with the stylus.
Clio User Manual 1-33
Page 52
Getting Acquainted with Clio
With Clio face down and its Notification LED/switch facing you, the Memory Erase button can be found adjacent to the RAM module.
4. Replace the memory module cover.
Be sure the cover is firmly in place.
5. Power on the device.
6. Synchronize with your desktop PC to restore your data.
1-34 Clio User Manual
Page 53
2 Setting up a Partnership
with a Desktop PC
Microsoft ActiveSync® with Windows CE Services enables you to synchronize the information on your desktop computer with the information on Clio. Synchronization compares the data on Clio and your desktop computer, then updates both with the most recent information. For example:
• Keep Pocket Outlook data up-to-date by synchronizing your
mobile device with your choice of Microsoft Outlook (Inbox synchronization with Outlook Express is not currently supported), Microsoft Schedule+, or Microsoft Exchange.
• Synchronize Word and Excel documents, Access and other
ODBC databases and tables, as well as InkWriter files between Clio and desktop computer. Your files are automatically converted to the correct format.
With ActiveSync, you can also:
• Back up and restore Clio data.
• Add and remove programs on Clio.
• Copy (rather than synchronize) files between Clio and your
desktop computer.
Clio User Manual 2-1
Page 54
Setting up a Partnership with a Desktop PC
Synchronizing or exchanging files with your PC requires:
• A physical connection with Clio via a Travel Dock or network
connection. Refer to “Connecting with the Travel Dock” on page 2-2.
• Installation of ActiveSync with Windows CE Services and
setting up a “partnership” between Clio and your Desktop PC. Refer to “Setting up Communications” on page 2-4. The travel dock connects Clio to AC power and the serial port
of the PC in one step, helping you to keep your device synchronized and your battery pack fully charged.
Connecting with the Travel Dock
You can connect the device to your PC with the Travel Dock, included with Clio.
To connect Clio and a PC and/or recharge the device with the travel dock:
1. Connect the travel dock to a free serial port on your PC
using the included null modem cable (DB9F-to-DB9F).
2. Connect the mini-plug on the supplied AC Adapter to the
travel dock. Connect the two-prong end of the AC adapter to a standard wall outlet.
2-2 Clio User Manual
Page 55
Connecting with the Travel Dock
3. Insert the travel dock into the serial/docking port.
AC power is supplied to Clio through the serial/docking port when using the Travel Dock.
Refer to Figure 2-1.
4. Verify that AC power is correctly supplied to Clio by
checking the Notification LED/switch on the front of the device.
The LED should be orange when the batteries are charging and green when fully charged.
To AC
To PC
FIGURE 2-1 Travel Dock Connector
Note: After setting up the travel dock, leave it connected to your PC
and plugged in with the AC adapter, so you can conveniently charge and synchronize Clio in one step.
Clio User Manual 2-3
Page 56
Setting up a Partnership with a Desktop PC
Setting up Communications
After you have calibrated and personalized Clio (refer to “Calibrating and Personalizing the Device” on page 1-4), you can install ActiveSync with Windows CE Services and set up a partnership between Clio and your computer.
To install ActiveSync and set up a partnership with a desktop PC:
1. Optionally, upgrade to Microsoft Outlook 98, Microsoft
Outlook 2000, or Schedule Plus 7.0A before installing ActiveSync.
The installation tailors the partnership to the existing system configuration; therefore, the PIM software you will use should be installed on your PC before installing ActiveSync.
2. Connect Clio to your desktop computer.
Refer to “Connecting with the Travel Dock” on page 2-2.
3. Launch the ActiveSync setup wizard.
Insert the Desktop Software for Microsoft ActiveSync with Windows CE Services compact disc into your CD-ROM drive on your desktop PC. The Setup Wizard (Figure 2-2) starts automatically and finds the port with the Clio attached.
FIGURE 2-2 Windows ActiveSync Setup Wizard
2-4 Clio User Manual
Page 57
Setting up Communications
Note: If the wizard does not launch automatically, type
d:\setup, where d is your CD-ROM drive.
The Setup Program automatically searches your PCs COM ports for a device. If it reports no device found, check your serial cable connection, make sure your Clio is turned on, and repeat.
4. Follow the directions as they appear on your screen.
For most users, the Typical installation works best.
5. Set up a partnership with your desktop PC.
The wizard guides you through installing ActiveSync, setting up a partnership (Figure 2-3) and performing your first synchronization.
FIGURE 2-3 Setting up a Parnership
• Frequency. You can synchronize Manually only when you
Clio User Manual 2-5
tap Synchronize Now, On Connection whenever Clio and the PC are connected, or Continuously, as information is updated.
Page 58
Setting up a Partnership with a Desktop PC
• File Type. You can have synchronization apply to
appointments, channel items, contacts, files, messages, tables, and/or tasks.
6. When you are finalized, your device will synchronize for
the first time.
If you chose manual synchronization during setup, you will need to choose Synchronize Now in the Tools menu of the Mobile Devices folder.
2-6 Clio User Manual
Page 59
Customizing Synchronization
The default frequency and file types work well for most users. To change either setting after you’ve completed the wizard:
1. Select your device icon in the Mobile Devices folder and
then tap Tools > Synchronization Options. You can tap Tools > Synchronization Options to make new
choices about the synchronization of the partnership (Figure 2-4).
Customizing Synchronization
FIGURE 2-4 Mobile Devices ActiveSync Options
As follows:
• Appointments. All appointments in Outlook or Schedule
• Channel Items. Advanced users may require this new
Clio User Manual 2-7
Plus (or another calendaring program if you have third­party software that supports ActiveSync ).
technology.
Page 60
Setting up a Partnership with a Desktop PC
• Contacts. All address book or contact information in
Outlook or Schedule Plus (or another contacts program if you have third-party software that supports ActiveSync).
• Files. Allows synchronization of desktop and Clio files. If
you do not select this, you can still drag and drop files between systems.
• Messages. Refers to email in your Inbox.
• Tables. Refers to Access database tables.
• Tasks. All “to do” items in Outlook or Schedule Plus (or
another tasks program if you have third-party software that supports ActiveSync).
2. Optionally, check synchronization status.
When the Mobile Devices window appears at the end of the installation, you can tap Tools > Synchronization Status to display status information about the synchronization of the partnership (Figure 2-5).
FIGURE 2-5 Mobile Devices ActiveSync Status
2-8 Clio User Manual
Page 61
Synchronizing Files and File Conversion
Synchronizing Files and File Conversion
When you transfer a file from your desktop computer to your device, the file is converted to a format that the device can read. During file conversion, some of the file’s attributes may be changed or removed, and the file extension is changed.
For example, when you transfer a Microsoft Word file to your device, some of the file’s formatting may be removed or changed, and the file extension is changed to .pwd (Pocket Word). When this file is transferred back to the desktop computer, the file extension is converted back to .doc, but any changed or removed formatting will still be lost. Therefore, if you are using the Synchronized Files folder to transfer files and you want to preserve all formatting in the original document, keep a copy of the original file in another folder. See ActiveSync Help for specific information on how file attributes are affected during conversion.
Note: If you have password protection on an Excel or Word file on
your device, you must first turn off the password protection before the file is synchronized with the desktop computer. To do so, open the file, select File> Password, and clear the Password field.
Clio User Manual 2-9
Page 62
Setting up a Partnership with a Desktop PC
Drag and Drop
Files can be dragged and dropped from Clio to the PC workstation and vice-versa. To do this, connect Clio and desktop computer, double-tap the desktop computer’s device icon (in the Mobile Devices folder), and drag the files between the PC and the Mobile Devices folder. The files will be converted and copied onto Clio.
Synchronized Files
Where updates occur frequently on both Clio and desktop computer, you can synchronize the two instances of a file so that you always have an up-to-date copy on both computers. To do this, store such files in the Synchronized Files folder on both systems. During synchronization, files are updated in both locations.
Note: On the device, the Synchronized Files folder is in the My
Documents folder. On the desktop computer, the Synchronized Files folder is called device Synchronized Files, where device is the name of your device. If you are using Windows 95 or Windows 98, the folder is located in the My Documents folder (c:\My Documents\device
Synchronized Files). If you are using Windows NT, the
folder is located in the Personal folder (c:\Winnt\Profiles\your username\Personal\device Synchronized Files.
2-10 Clio User Manual
Page 63
Backup and Restore
Backup and Restore
Regularly back up your device data on your desktop computer using ActiveSync, or use BSQUARE bUSEFUL BACKUP Plus (see page 6-12), to prevent losing information if your device is ever corrupted or lost. To do this, connect your systems, then tap Tools > Backup/Restore in the Microsoft ActiveSync folder on your desktop computer. Your first backup may take some time, depending on how much information you have on your device. Subsequent backups will be faster if you select Incremental
instead of Full.
Note: Check the Automatic backup option to perform incremental
backups each time your Clio is connected to your desktop PC. The automatic backup minimizes the possibility of data loss.
Remote Synchronization
You can synchronize with your desktop computer while away from the office by connecting to your network or directly to your computer via a modem attached to your computer. For more information, refer to “Synchronizing with a Desktop Computer” on page 3-6.
Clio User Manual 2-11
Page 64
Setting up a Partnership with a Desktop PC
2-12 Clio User Manual
Page 65
3 Setting Up Remote Networking
With a dialup connection, you can connect to your desktop computer, a network, or the Internet while away from your office. This is called remote networking and Clio provides the following remote networking options:
• Use the Internet Connection Wizard to connect.
• Connecting to an ISP (Internet Service Provider). Once
connected, you can send and receive e-mail messages and view Web pages.
If this is the method you want to use, refer to “Connecting to an ISP” on page 3-2.
• Connecting to a Network. Once connected, you can send and
receive e-mail messages, view intranet Web pages, and access files on the network.
If this is the method you want to use, refer to “Connecting to a Network” on page 3-3.
• Synchronizing with a Desktop Computer. Once connected, you
can synchronize information such as your Pocket Outlook data.
If this is the method you want to use, refer to “Synchronizing with a Desktop Computer” on page 3-6.
Clio User Manual 3-1
Page 66
Setting Up Remote Networking
Connecting to an ISP
You can connect to your ISP via a dial-up connection. Once connected, you can send and receive e-mail messages and view Web pages.
To create a dial-up connection to an ISP:
1. Obtain the following information from your ISP:
• ISP dial-up phone number
• POP3 or IMAP4 server name
• SMTP host name
• User name
• Password
• Domain name (for network connections only)
2. If you use a PCMCIA card, insert it into Clio.
3. Select Start > Programs > Communications, then Remote
Networking.
4. Double-tap the Make New Connection icon.
5. Enter a connection name (e.g., “ISP Dial-Up”), select Dial-
Up Connection, then select Next.
6. Select your modem type.
To use the built-in modem on Clio, select “Built-in modem on COM 5:”
7. Optionally, select configuration and TCP/IP settings.
You should not need to change any settings in the Configura­tion or TCP/IP Settings dialog boxes. Most ISPs now use server-assigned addresses. If the ISP you are connecting to does not use server-assigned addresses, enter the addresses in the TCP/IP Settings dialog box. When finished, tap Next.
8. Enter your access phone number and tap Finish.
Once created, the dial-up connection is available anytime. To use it, double-tap its icon, enter your user name and password,
3-2 Clio User Manual
Page 67
Connecting to a Network
then tap Connect. Once connected, you can use Pocket Inter­net Explorer to visit Web pages or Inbox to send and receive e­mail.
Note: Before you can use Inbox, you need to provide the
information it needs to communicate with the mail server. For specific instructions, refer to “Inbox: Sending and Receiving E-mail Messages” on page 3-10.
Connecting to a Network
If you have access to a network, you can send e-mail, access file servers, view intranet pages, and possibly access the Internet. You can connect to your network in one of two ways:
• Create a dial-up connection using a RAS (Remote Access
Service) account. Before you can create this dial-up connection, your network administrator will need to create a RAS account for you on the network.
If this is the method you want to use, refer to “Creating a Dial­up Connection to a Network” on page 3-4.
• Connect to the network using an Ethernet PC Card.
If this is the method you want to use, refer to “Creating a Net­work (Ethernet) Connection” on page 3-5.
Clio User Manual 3-3
Page 68
Setting Up Remote Networking
Creating a Dial-up Connection to a Network
To create a dial-up connection to a network:
1. Obtain the following information from your network
administrator:
• Corporate dial-up access telephone number
• User name and Password
• Domain name
2. If you use a PCMCIA modem card, insert the card into
Clio.
3. Tap Start > Programs > Communications, then Remote Net-
working.
4. Double-tap the Make New Connection icon.
5. Enter a connection name (e.g., “Corporate Dial-Up”),
select Dial-Up Connection, then tap Next.
6. Select the Dial-Up Connection.
• Dial-Up Connection: is used for softmodem, wireless
modem, or PCMCIA modem card to send and receive email or to access the Internet (or shared resource).
• Direct Connection: is used for infrared port, serial cable, or
Ethernet card. The infrared port and serial cable are used to transfer files (.doc, .pxl, etc.) from Clio to the PC or vice versa. The Ethernet card is used to network Clio to another mobile device or to the PC Internet connection.
Note: The serial cable connection provides the same data
3-4 Clio User Manual
transfer rate as the SIR infrared connection. On the other hand, the infrared connection saves you the has­sle of using a wire to connect the devices. An Ethernet card can connect Clio to the Internet at extremely fast speeds. It can also network other
Page 69
Connecting to a Network
devices/PCs to Clio.
7. Optionally, select configuration and TCP/IP settings, then
tap Next. You should not need to change any settings in the Configura-
tion or TCP/IP Settings dialog boxes.
8. Enter your access phone number and tap Finish.
Once created, the dial-up connection is available anytime. To use it, double-tap its icon, enter your user name and password, then tap Connect. Once connected, you can use Pocket Inter­net Explorer to visit Web pages or Inbox to send and receive e­mail.
Creating a Network (Ethernet) Connection
You do not need to create a new connection in Remote Networking on your device for a network connection. Instead, you must install and configure an Ethernet card. The drivers for the card may already exist on your device.
To create a network (Ethernet) connection:
1. Insert the Ethernet card into your device and connect it to
your network cable.
Note: For a list of supported cards, refer to Appendix D,
“Supported PC Cards.”
2. If you have an A/C Adapter, plug it into your device.
Ethernet PC Cards consume a significant amount of power.
3. In the Settings dialog box, enter the information for your
server. Tap Start > Settings > Control Panel, then double-tap Net-
work:
Clio User Manual 3-5
Page 70
Setting Up Remote Networking
a. Select your Ethernet driver, then tap Properties.
Most networks use DHCP, so you should not have to change these settings.
b. In the Identification tab, enter your name, password, and
domain.
See your network administrator if you need assistance. Once connected, you can use Pocket Internet Explorer to visit
intranet Web pages and Inbox to send and receive e-mail.
Note: Before using Inbox, you need to provide the informa-
tion it needs to communicate with the mail server. For instructions, see “Inbox: Sending and Receiving E­mail Messages” on page 3-10.
Synchronizing with a Desktop Computer
To synchronize remotely, the following conditions must be met:
• You must first establish a partnership between your device and
desktop computer while at your desktop computer. The partnership cannot be established remotely.
Refer to “Setting up Communications” on page 2-4.
• The desktop computer must be powered on and you must be
logged in. Schedule+, Exchange, or Outlook must be running with your user profile.
• In the lower-right corner of the ActiveSync window, the
connection status must display “Waiting for mobile device to connect.”
• Synchronization must be enabled or set to “Automatically
synchronize if data is out-of-date.” To verify this, check the ActiveSync Options dialog box.
• Auto Connect must be set to “At all times” in ActiveSync.
3-6 Clio User Manual
Page 71
Synchronizing with a Desktop Computer
• If you are communicating with the desktop computer through
a dial-up or network connection, you must be logged on to the network on the desktop computer.
Select “Enable a network connection” in the ActiveSync Properties dialog box.
Note: If your computer must be turned off while you are away from
your office, you cannot synchronize remotely. However, since your email resides on the network’s mail server, you can still receive messages by dialing in directly to your network. Refer to “Connecting to a Network” on page 3-3.
If the above conditions are met, you can synchronize with your desktop computer while away from the office in one of three ways:
• Create a dial-up connection using a RAS (Remote Access
Service) account. If this is the method you want to use, refer to “Creating a Dial-
up Connection to a Network” on page 3-4. Once the connection has been created and you are connected,
select Start > Programs > Communications > ActiveSync in the Clio Start menu. In the ActiveSync dialog box, select a dial-up connection and the name of a computer with which to connect.
Once connected to the network, your device will find your desktop computer and initiate synchronization.
• Use an Ethernet card to connect to the network.
If this is the method you want to use, refer to “Creating a Net­work (Ethernet) Connection” on page 3-5.
Once the connection has been created and you are connected, select Start > Programs > Communications > ActiveSync.
Clio User Manual 3-7
Page 72
Setting Up Remote Networking
In the ActiveSync dialog box, select Network Connection as the method to connect and the name of the computer with which to connect.
Once connected to the network, your device will find your desktop computer and initiate synchronization.
• Create a dial-up connection to a modem connected directly to
your computer. The modem must be set up to answer incoming calls. If this is the method you want to use, refer to “Creating a Dial-
up Connection to a Modem” on page 3-9. Once the connection has been created and you are connected,
select Start > Programs > Communications > ActiveSync. In the ActiveSync dialog box, select a dial-up connection the name of a computer from the Connect to list.
3-8 Clio User Manual
Page 73
Creating a Dial-up Connection to a Modem
Creating a Dial-up Connection to a Modem
To create a dial-up connection to a modem attached to a desktop computer:
1. Perform any relevant prerequisite steps: a. If you are a Windows 95 user, install the Dial-Up Net-
working Upgrade 1.2.
b. If User Level Access is enabled in Dial-Up Networking,
create a user account.
c. If you are a Windows 98 user, you will need to add a sec-
ond dial-up adapter.
For more information about any of these prerequisites, see ActiveSync Help.
2. Follow the modem manufacturer's directions to install a
modem on your desktop computer.
3. Note the telephone number for your desktop computer
modem.
4. On your desktop computer, open the Mobile Device folder.
Tap File > Communications.
5. Under “Device Connections via Serial Port”, tap your
modem in the Ports list.
6. Tap “Enable mobile device connection.”
7. Tap “Enabled” in both “Device Connections via Serial
Port” and “Device Connections via Network.”
8. To create the connection, refer to “Connecting to an ISP”
on page 3-2.
Substitute the phone number you noted in step 3 for the ISP dial-in number.
Clio User Manual 3-9
Page 74
Setting Up Remote Networking
Inbox: Sending and Receiving E-mail Messages
Use Inbox to send and receive e-mail messages. You can access your e-mail by connecting to a mail server through an Internet or network account or by synchronizing with your desktop computer.
This section shows you how to:
1. Set up your mailbox to use a mail server
Clio connects and synchronizes with third party electronic mail servers that use the POP and IMAP protocol.
1. Synchronize email with the server
Once connections are set up, follow these procedures to synchronize transmission of messages between your PC, or your email server.
2. Send a message
Take a few minutes to familiarize yourself with Clio’s messaging facility.
Setting up Inbox for Connecting to a Mail Server
Note: Inbox does not currently support connecting with proprietary
mail protocols such as AOL and MSN. However, you can still gain access to the Internet through these services. There may be third-party programs available that would enable you to send and receive mail through proprietary protocols.
1. Obtain the following information from your ISP or net-
work administrator:
• POP3 or IMAP4 server name
• SMTP host name
3-10 Clio User Manual
Page 75
Inbox: Sending and Receiving E-mail Messages
• User name
• Password
• Domain name (for network connections only).
2. Select Start > Programs > Pocket Outlook > Inbox.
3. Select Services > Options.
4. On the Services tab, tap Add.
5. Choose “IMAP4 Mail” or “POP3 Mail”, enter a name for
the connection, and then tap OK.
6. In the Mail Service Definition dialog box, enter the infor-
mation from step 1.
7. In Connection, choose the remote connection you want to
use.
For example, if you are receiving e-mail through a network connection, select “Network Connection.”
If you have not created a connection, select “Create new con­nection”, double-tap the Make New Connection icon, then follow the instructions in the wizard. When finished, tap Inbox in the taskbar and continue.
8. In the Mail General Preferences dialog box, select desired
options.
9. In the Mail Inbox Preferences dialog box, select desired
options:
• In When Getting Messages, choose how you want
messages downloaded by default:
• “Get full copy of messages” will take up more storage
space on your device.
• “Only synchronize Inbox folder hierarchy” (IMAP4
only) will speed up the time it takes to download your messages.
Clio User Manual 3-11
Page 76
Setting Up Remote Networking
• In When Getting Full Copy, choose whether you want to
download file attachments and meeting requests with messages.
This setting applies whether you have chosen to download full copies of messages by default, or to selectively down­load full copies of messages (by opening the message and selecting the Get Full Copy button).
Note: If you want to receive meeting requests, your Exchange
Server administrator must enable support for Rich Text Format for your account. Ask your administrator if this feature is enabled for you.
10. Tap Finish.
The service connection appears on the Installed services box in the Options dialog box.
Creating Another Connection
You can create other mail connection configurations just as you created your initial ISP or Network Connection.
1. Tap Start > Programs > Pocket Outlook > Inbox. a. Tap Services > Options.
• From the Connection menu in the POP3 Service
Definition Window, select "Create new connection."
• Double-tap the Make New Connection icon, then
follow the instructions from the Wizard.
• When finished, tap Inbox in the taskbar and continue to
fill in your POP or IMAP information and other options you prefer.
3-12 Clio User Manual
Page 77
Inbox: Sending and Receiving E-mail Messages
Connecting to a Mail Server
You can send and receive messages by connecting directly to your mail server. To do this, either:
• Connect to your Internet service provider (ISP) via modem.
• Connect to the local area network that includes your mail
server, via modem or Ethernet PC card.
Downloading Messages from a Mail Server
To send and receive e-mail:
1. Verify that the service you want is selected.
Tap the Services menu and make sure that the service you want to use has a bullet next to it.
2. Tap Connect.
When you connect to the mail server, the messages on your device and mail server are synchronized:
• New messages are downloaded to the device Inbox folder
• Messages in the Clio Outbox folder are sent
• Messages that have been deleted on the server are removed
from the Clio Inbox.
These folders are stored under the service you created when setting up Inbox. Double-tap a message in the message list to open it. If you read a message and decide that you need the full copy, tap Get Full Copy.
Clio User Manual 3-13
Page 78
Setting Up Remote Networking
Disconnecting From a Mail Server
To disconnect Inbox from a mail server, tap Services/Disconnect. You must also disconnect your dial-up connection by double­tapping the icon in the status bar and selecting Disconnect.
Managing Messages and Folders on a Mail Server
By default, messages are displayed in one of four folders in the service you created: Inbox, Deleted (local), Outbox, and Sent. The Deleted (local) folder contains messages that have been deleted on the device. If you are using IMAP4, you may see a Deleted Items folder. This folder is for deleted messages on the server. The behavior of the Deleted and Sent folders depends on the Inbox options you have chosen.
To organize messages into additional folders:
1. Select File > Folder, then New Folder.
2. Name the new folder.
3. Drag messages into the folder you created.
The behavior of the folders you create depends on whether you are using POP3 or IMAP4. Differences in behavior are described below.
• If you are using POP3, when you drag messages to a folder
you created, the link is broken between the messages and their copies on the mail server. The next time you connect, the mail server will see that the messages are missing from the device Inbox and delete them from the server. This prevents you from having duplicate copies of a message, but it also means that you will no longer have access to the messages you move to the folders you create (from anywhere except the device).
• If you are using IMAP4, the folders you create and the
messages you move are mirrored on the server. For
3-14 Clio User Manual
Page 79
Inbox: Sending and Receiving E-mail Messages
example, if you move two messages from the Inbox folder to a folder called Family, the server will create a copy of the Family folder and copy the messages into that folder. Therefore, messages are available to you anytime you connect to your mail server, whether it is from your device, laptop computer, or desktop computer. This synchronization of folders occurs when you create a new folder, move messages into a folder, exit the Inbox program, or select Services > Synchronize Folders. If you want to view the messages in a folder while disconnected from your mail server, select the folder and then Services >
Offline Folder.
Synchronizing E-mail Using ActiveSync
Another way to access your e-mail is by synchronizing your device and desktop computer. Using ActiveSync on your desktop computer, you can send and receive e-mail messages by exchanging information between Inbox on your device and Inbox in either Outlook or Exchange on your desktop computer.
Clio User Manual 3-15
Page 80
Setting Up Remote Networking
When you synchronize, any changes made on either computer are transferred to the other:
• If you have received new messages in Inbox on your desktop computer, the messages are copied to your device.
• If you delete a message on the device, it is deleted from the desktop the next time you synchronize.
• If you compose and send new e-mail messages on your device, the messages are moved to the desktop computer and sent the next time you synchronize. In addition, changes you’ve made to Calendar, Contacts, and Tasks are updated.
If you are receiving e-mail by synchronizing with your desktop computer, the device Inbox is set up by default. However, because e-mail messages are not synchronized by default, you will need to set up ActiveSync Services on your desktop computer to include e-mail messages when synchronizing. To do so, select your device icon in the ActiveSync folder on the desktop and then tap Tools > ActiveSync Options. Tap Options to set options such as how much of a message to download and whether you want attachments included. You will not be able to change these settings from the device.
Downloading Messages Using ActiveSync
To send and receive e-mail, connect to your desktop computer and initiate synchronization. The way you initiate synchronization depends on how you are connected to your desktop computer and the settings you have chosen in ActiveSync.
When you synchronize, the first 100 lines of new messages in Inbox on the desktop computer are copied to the Inbox folder on your device, and messages in the device Outbox folder are sent. Double-tap a message in the message list to open it.
3-16 Clio User Manual
Page 81
Inbox: Sending and Receiving E-mail Messages
Managing Messages and Folders Using ActiveSync
Messages are stored in one of four folders in the ActiveSync service: Inbox, Deleted (local), Outbox, and Sent. The behavior of the Deleted and Sent folders depends on the Inbox options you have chosen.
If you want to store messages in a folder other than Inbox, select File > Folder > New Folder. Create the folder and then drag messages into it. Doing so breaks the link between these messages and their copies on the desktop computer. When you synchronize next, the messages in the folder you created will not be synchronized. In addition, the desktop computer will see that the messages are missing from the device Inbox folder and delete them from the Inbox folder on the desktop so that both Inbox folders match. This prevents you from getting duplicate copies of a message, but it also means that you will no longer have access to the messages you move out of Inbox except from the device.
Clio User Manual 3-17
Page 82
Setting Up Remote Networking
Creating an Email Message
To create a message:
1. Tap Compose > New Message.
2. In the To field, enter the address of one or more recipients.
You can also tap Address Book to select addresses from the Contacts list or an address service.
3. In the Subject field, enter a title for the message.
4. Select the message body and type your message.
5. To attach a file, tap Add Attachment.
6. Tap Send.
If you are not connected to your mail server, the message is moved to the Outbox folder and will be sent the next time you connect or synchronize.
Getting Help on Connectivity
More information on the procedures described here, as well as information on additional procedures, can be found in the following locations:
• Online Help on the device. Select Start > Help, then Inbox, Remote Connections, or Synchronization.
• Microsoft ActiveSync online Help on the desktop computer.
Open the Microsoft ActiveSync icon, then tap Help Topics on the Help menu. Troubleshooting information is also contained there.
3-18 Clio User Manual
Page 83
4 A Tour of Windows CE
Your device comes with a keyboard, touch screen, and stylus. You use the keyboard just as you do on your desktop computer. The stylus and touch screen replace the pointing device; you select and move objects on the screen by tapping and dragging them with the stylus. The stylus also allows you to write on the screen just as you do with a pen and paper.
Note: If you have difficulty accurately selecting objects with your
stylus, press CTRL+ALT+PLUS (+) to calibrate the screen.
Clio User Manual 4-1
Page 84
A Tour of Windows CE
Programs
The Windows CE programs that come with your device are stored in ROM (read-only memory) and cannot be removed or lost. You can install additional programs that will be placed in RAM (random access memory). Table 4-1 provides a listing of programs and descriptions.
TABLE 4-1 Programs Bundled with Clio
Program Description
Calendar Keep track of your appointments
Contacts Keep track of your friends and col-
Inbox Send and receive e-mail. Tasks Keep track of your tasks. Microsoft Pocket Access View ODBC databases and create
Microsoft Pocket Excel View and create Excel documents. Microsoft Pocket PowerPoint Present PowerPoint presentations. Microsoft Pocket Word View and create Word documents. ActiveSync Initiate synchronization with your
PC Link Initiate a connection with your
Remote Networking Set up connections with other com-
Terminal View and download files from a
Microsoft Voice Recorder Record your spoken ideas. Microsoft InkWriter Create handwritten or typed notes
and create meeting requests.
leagues.
Access information.
desktop computer from your device.
desktop computer.
puters or the Internet.
bulletin board or send and receive e-mail.
and drawings.
4-2 Clio User Manual
Page 85
Programs
TABLE 4-1 Programs Bundled with Clio
Program Description
World Clock Set the date, time, and alarm for
your home city or the city you are
visiting. Calculator Perform calculations. Solitaire Entertain yourself while on the
road.
Note: There are many Windows CE programs available, including
freeware and shareware. Visit
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsce/
or try searching the Web on the keyword “Windows CE” to find additional programs for your device.
Clio User Manual 4-3
Page 86
A Tour of Windows CE
Using the Start Menu and Taskbar
Use the Start menu to open programs, settings, Help, and recently used documents. Just select Start, and then select the program or item you want to open. In addition to the Start menu, the taskbar contains buttons for the programs you have running, a status area, and a desktop icon (Figure 4-1).
FIGURE 4-1 Start Menu and Taskbar
4-4 Clio User Manual
Page 87
Using the Command Bar
Each program has a command bar located at the top of the program window (Figure 4-2). The command bar displays both menu names and toolbar buttons. Select the slider to switch between displaying toolbar buttons only or menu names and toolbar buttons. You can drag the slider to display the buttons and menu names you want. You can also drag the slider down to move the toolbar buttons under the menus.
FIGURE 4-2 Command Bar
Finding Files and Exploring the Web
To find files on your device, select Start > Programs > Windows Explorer. When you create and save a file on your
device, it is stored in a folder called My Documents unless you select another location. You can copy or move a file from one location to another by selecting the file and then using the Copy or Cut and Paste commands on the Edit menu.
Using the Command Bar
To view Web pages, select Start > Programs >Internet Explorer:
• For pages that are stored on your device, select, File > Open, then tap Browse and locate the file.
• For pages on the Internet or an intranet, type a URL in the
Address box.
Clio User Manual 4-5
Page 88
A Tour of Windows CE
To access Internet or intranet Web pages, you must first set up a connection between your device and the Internet or an intranet.
Note: To view the HTML source code of a Web page on your
device, tap File > Save As to save the page on your device. Then, in Pocket Word, tap File > Open, select “All Documents” from the Type list, then select the page you saved.
Printing
Microsoft Pocket Word, Microsoft Pocket Excel, Microsoft InkWriter and Pocket Outlook support printing. In order to print, you will need to connect to a PCL 3 printer. Clio can print directly to IrDA (infrared) capable PCL printers. Choose Print under the File menu within these programs. Select PCL Laser or PCL Inkjet, depending on the type of printer. Choose IRDA as the Port.
To print to a serial printer, use the travel dock and connect the printer to the DB9 connector on travel dock. You will need appropriate printer driver support for Windows CE. Contact your printer manufacturer for printer driver support for Windows CE.
In addition, you can transfer files to your desktop PC and print them from your desktop.
4-6 Clio User Manual
Page 89
Customizing Clio
Clio uses the standard Microsoft CE Control panel. You can customize and adjust settings on Clio by using the Control Panel. To open the Control Panel, tap Start > Settings > Control Panel. Double tap any icon to bring up properties for that item.
A list of icons and their functions follows. For detailed information about the properties of any Control Panel item, tap the “?” in the upper right corner of the dialog box for online Help.
Communications
Assigns a name to Clio for use in communicating with other computers. You can also specify whether to allow a connection with a desktop computer and the port specifications for that connection.
Customizing Clio
Dialing
Specifies dialing settings, including area code, country code, dial type, and the code to disable call waiting. You can store multiple dialing patterns (e.g., “Work”, “Home”, etc.).
Clio User Manual 4-7
Page 90
A Tour of Windows CE
Display
Keyboard
Network
Changes the background (wallpaper) and appearance (window color scheme) on the Windows CE desktop. You can add a bitmap by copying a .bmp file to your the Windows directory on Clio. Then select this .bmp file in the Appearance tab.
Toggles character repeat on and off, and specifies delay and rate for repeated characters.
Selects the network adapter and provides identification of the device to the network.
Owner
Provides fields in which owner information can be entered. A notes tab also allows other information to be entered and to be displayed when powering on, for example, “Reward for return of this device.”
4-8 Clio User Manual
Page 91
Password
Power Manager
Customizing Clio
Allows you to set a password to restrict access when Clio emerges from suspend mode. Once set, password access cannot be circumvented: Clio must be reset. Thus, if you set a password, write it down in a retrievable place. Password mode can be toggled on and off.
Displays battery pack status and provides power management option selections.
Alternatively, battery status can be viewed from the status bar.
Regional Settings
Allows you to customize Clio to display text in a local language, as well as format numbers, currency, time and date for regional preference.
Clio User Manual 4-9
Page 92
A Tour of Windows CE
Remove Programs
Stylus
System
Lists programs that can be removed. Tap to select a program from the list, then tap Remove.
Adjusts how Windows CE recognizes your double taps (as slow or rapid successive taps). You can also recalibrate your screen.
Displays system and memory properties. You can allocate memory between storage memory and program memory.
Tablet Mode AutoStart
Runs programs automatically when Tablet mode is enabled. By default, CalliGrapher is selected to run when Clio is opened in Tablet Mode.
4-10 Clio User Manual
Page 93
Volume and Sounds
Lets you adjust volume and select sounds to accompany programs, notices, and events. Toggles sound on or off, enables audible clicks and taps (for keys and screen taps). You can also add a sound by copying a .wav file to the Windows directory on Clio. To play the sound, select the .wav file in the Sound tab.
World Clock
Allows you to specify a Home time zone and Visiting city (from a list that you can customize), local time for each, and the date. You can also set alarms to alert you.
Customizing Clio
Clio User Manual 4-11
Page 94
A Tour of Windows CE
4-12 Clio User Manual
Page 95
5 Using the Microsoft Office and
Other Companion Programs
The Microsoft Office companion programs consist of Microsoft Pocket Word, Microsoft Pocket Excel, Microsoft Pocket Access, and Microsoft Pocket PowerPoint. You can access the Office companion programs by tapping Start > Programs > Office, and then the program you want to open.
Other Microsoft companion programs include Voice Recorder and InkWriter. You can access these companion programs by tapping Start > Programs > Accessories, and then the program you want to open. To access Microsoft Pocket Outlook, tap Start > Programs > Pocket Outlook, and then the component program that you want to open.
Note: More information on the procedures described in this chapter
can be found in online Help on Clio. Tap Start > Help, then the program name. Because programs work in similar ways to their counterparts on the desktop computer, online Help covers basic procedures and the differences between the companion programs and desktop programs. If you need more information on using a companion program, refer to the documentation that came with the desktop version of the program.
Clio User Manual 5-1
Page 96
Using the Microsoft Office and Other Companion Programs
Pocket Word: Creating Documents
You can use Pocket Word to create documents, such as letters, meeting minutes, and trip reports. You can also use Pocket Word to open and edit documents created in the desktop version of Word. When you are ready to save a document you created or edited, you can save it in a variety of formats, including Pocket Word (.pwd) and Word (.doc). If you plan to send the document through e-mail to someone who will be using Word, not Pocket Word, be sure to save it in the Word (.doc) format.
To type text in Pocket Word, tap or tap the screen to place the insertion point and start typing. Use the spelling checker to verify accuracy. You can quickly format the text, using buttons and menu commands. You can format as you go or apply formatting later.
You can type text in either Outline view or Normal view, and you can easily switch from one view to the other, using the View menu. Work in Outline view when taking notes in meetings. As shown in Figure 5-1, use the formatting of the templates to highlight main points and provide formatting for detail text.
5-2 Clio User Manual
Page 97
Pocket Word: Creating Documents
FIGURE 5-1 Pocket Word: Meeting Minutes Template
To take meeting minutes using Pocket Word:
1. Tap File > New > Document from Template.
2. In the Template dialog box, tap Meeting Notes, then OK.
3. Tap File > Save.
4. Enter a name, choose a storage location, then tap OK.
5. Overtype the text in the template with your agenda items
and notes.
Note: To see more of your document, tap View > Full Screen.
Clio User Manual 5-3
Page 98
Using the Microsoft Office and Other Companion Programs
Pocket Excel: Creating Workbooks
You can use Pocket Excel to create workbooks, such as expense reports and mileage logs. You can also use Pocket Excel to open and edit workbooks created in the desktop version of Excel. When you are ready to save a workbook you created or edited, you can save it in a variety of formats, including Pocket Excel (.pxl) and Excel (.xls). If you plan to send the document through e-mail to someone who will be using Excel, not Pocket Excel, be sure to save it in the Excel (.xls) format.
Pocket Excel provides fundamental spreadsheet tools, such as formulas, functions, sorting, and filtering. You can split panes to easily view different areas of a large worksheet. You can also “freeze” the top and leftmost panes in a worksheet to keep row and column labels or other data visible as you scroll through a sheet.
FIGURE 5-2 Pocket Excel: Expense Report Template
5-4 Clio User Manual
Page 99
Pocket Excel: Creating Workbooks
To log travel expenses using Pocket Excel:
1. Tap File > New > Workbook from Template.
2. In the Template dialog box, tap Expense Report, then OK.
3. Tap File > Save.
4. Enter a name, choose a storage location, and then select
OK.
5. Overtype the text in the template.
Note: If your workbook contains sensitive information, you can
protect it with a password. To do so, open the workbook, tap File > Password. Every time you open the workbook, you will need to enter the password, so pick one that is easy for you to remember but hard for others to guess. Workbooks with password protection cannot be synchronized.
Clio User Manual 5-5
Page 100
Using the Microsoft Office and Other Companion Programs
Pocket Access: Viewing and Creating Data
Use Pocket Access to view and update data from Microsoft Access, Microsoft SQL Server, and other ODBC databases on your desktop computer. Simply create the database on your desktop computer and then transfer the data to your device. You can also use Pocket Access to create new databases, tables, and SQL procedures directly on your device.
Note: Programmers can use Microsoft ActiveX Data Objects for
Windows CE (ADOCE) and Microsoft Visual Basic or Microsoft Visual C++ to develop custom database solutions. For more information, see http://www.microsoft.com/windowsce/.
FIGURE 5-3 Pocket Access: Database Table
5-6 Clio User Manual
Loading...