Novell LINUX ENTERPRISE DESKTOP 11 - OPENOFFICE, SUSE LINUX ENTERPRISE DESKTOP 11 OPENOFFICE.org Quick Start Manual

Page 1
OpenOfce.org is a powerful open-source ofce suite that provides tools for all types of ofce tasks such as writing texts, working with spreadsheets, creating graphics and presentations, or designing scientic formulas. With OpenOfce.org, you can use the same data across different computing platforms. You can also open and edit les in other formats, including Microsoft Ofce, then save them back to this format. The OpenOfce.org Novell Edition contains improved functionality and additional features not available with the standard version.
OpenOfce.org Novell Edition
SUSE® Linux Enterprise Desktop includes the OpenOf­ce.org Novell Edition. This version includes several special features that are not yet included in the standard edition:
Excel VBA Macro Interoperability:
The OpenOfce.org Novell Edition makes the migration of many macros from Microsoft Excel easier.
Data Pilots
Data Pilots are interoperable with Microsoft Ofce Pivot­Tables*. The OpenOfce.org Novell Edition substantially improves the Data Pilot feature, making it possible to edit pilots after creation.
Special Fonts:
Licensed fonts from Agfa* Monotype*, which are metri­cally identical and visually compatible with some of the key Microsoft fonts.
EMF+ Support:
The ability to render EMF+ formatted graphics.
SVG Support:
The ability to import scalable vector graphics.
GroupWise® Integration:
The OpenOfce.org Novell Edition includes improved integration with ODMA (Open Document Management Architecture) services, for example for GroupWise.
You can also use the OpenOfce.org standard version, rather than the The Novell Edition. If you install the latest version of OpenOfce.org, all of your Novell Edition les remain compatible. However, the standard edition does not contain the enhancements made in the Novell Edition.
Compatibility
OpenOfce.org can work with documents, spreadsheets, presentations, and databases in many other formats, includ­ing Microsoft Ofce. They can be seamlessly opened like other les and saved back to the original format. Though some work has already been invested in interoperability, occasionally there are still formatting issues. If you have problems with your documents, consider opening them in the original application and resaving them in an open format such as RTF for text documents. In case of migration prob­lems with spreadsheets however, it is advisable to resave them as Excel les and use this as intermediate format (with CSV format you would lose all cell formatting and CVS sometimes leads to incorrect cell type detection for spreadsheets).
OpenOfce.org Modules
OpenOfce.org consists of several application modules (subprograms), which are designed to interact with each other. All modules feature the same graphical user interface and similar functionality.
OpenOfce.org Quick Start
SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11
NOVELL® QUICK START CARD
1
Page 2
Table 1. The OpenOfce.org Modules
UsageModule
Text document moduleWriter
Spreadsheet moduleCalc
Presentation moduleImpress
Database moduleBase
Vector graphics moduleDraw
Mathematical equation moduleMath
Starting OpenOfce.org
To start the OpenOfce.org suite, press Alt + F2, type ooffice and press Enter. In the Welcome dialog, select the module you want to open. If an OpenOfce.org appli­cation is open, you can start any of the other applications by clicking File → New → Name of Application.
Saving OpenOfce.org Files
1. To save a new le, select File → Save or Save as from the Menu Bar or use the shortcut Ctrl + Shift + S.
2. Select the directory where you want to save the le.
3. Enter the lename in the Location box.
4. From the Filter box, select the le type in which you want to save the le.
In all modules you can save your documents as native OpenOfce.org les, OpenOfce.org templates, Microsoft les and StarOfce les.
Navigator and Navigation Shortcuts
The Navigator tool displays information about the contents of a document. It also lets you quickly jump to different elements. For example, you can use the Navigator to get a quick overview of all images included in the document. To open the Navigator, click Edit → Navigator or with F5. The elements listed in the Navigator vary according to the document loaded in Writer.
You can also navigate your les with the following shortcuts:
Table 2. Navigation Shortcuts
ShortcutAction
Ctrl + Del or Ctrl + <—Delete Word
Ctrl + EndEnd of Document
EndEnd of Line
Ctrl + ASelect All
HomeStart of Line
Ctrl + HomeTop of Document
Ctrl + ←Word Left
Ctrl + →Word Right
Using and Creating Templates
OpenOfce.org comes with a set of predened templates, and you can nd additional templates on the Internet. If you want to create your own templates, you need to deter­mine what you want the document to look like and create the styles you need in that template.
For text document, spreadsheets, presentations, and draw­ings, you can easily create a template from an existing document as follows:
1. Start OpenOfce.org and open or create a document that contains the styles that you want to use as a tem­plate.
2. Click File → Templates → Save.
3. Specify a name for the template.
4. In the Categories box, click the category where you want to place the template.
5. Click OK.
OpenOfce.org Writer
OpenOfce.org Writer is a full-featured word processor with page and text-formatting capabilities. Its interface is similar to interfaces for other major word processors, and it includes some features that are usually found only in ex­pensive desktop publishing applications. Many of the OpenOfce.org Writer features apply also to other OpenOfce.org modules.
What is New in Writer
Below is a list of new features:
Displaying Multiple Pages in Editing Mode
OpenOfce.org now includes a set of icons at the right corner of the status bar which allow you to display mul­tiple pages in the editing mode. With the slide bar, zoom seamlessly in and out of the document. When zooming out, OpenOfce.org displays more pages of your docu­ment.
2
Page 3
Display and Usability of Notes
When editing or reviewing a document, users can add notes to the text. In contrast to earlier versions of OpenOfce.org where notes were only shown as small rectangles within the text, the notes are now displayed on the side of the document. Notes from different users are displayed in different colors and also show editing date and time.
The OpenOfce.org Novell Edition includes additional fea­tures available also in Writer, like enhanced fonts, support of certain le formats and GroupWise integration.
Creating a New Document
There are two ways to create a new document:
To create a completely new document, click File → New → Text Document.
To use a standard format and predened elements for your own documents, try a wizard (a small utility that lets you make some basic initial decisions and then produces a ready-made document from a template). For example, to create a business letter, click File → Wizards → Letter. With the wizard's dialogs, you can create a basic document that uses a standard format.
Enter text in the document window as desired. Use the Formatting toolbar or the Format menu to adjust the ap­pearance of the document. Use the File menu or the rele­vant buttons in the toolbar to print and save your docu­ment. With the options under Insert, add extra items to your document, such as a table, picture, or chart.
Customizing OpenOfce.org
With OpenOfce.org you can customize the default settings with the Format menu.
Below is a list of the most popular options available in most modules:
Customizing Character Settings
To set all character elements at the same time, select Format → Character.
Customizing Paragraph Settings
To format paragraphs, select Format → Paragraph and select the appropriate tabs for making changes.
Customizing Alignment
To modify the alignment, select Format → Paragraph and choose the alignment you want.
Inserting Headers and Footers
If you want to add headers and footers, click Insert and select either Header or Footer.
Inserting Special Characters
If you want to insert special characters, select Insert → Special Character.
Inserting Footnotes
If you want to insert footnotes, click Insert and select Footnote.
Inserting Columns
If you want to insert columns, click Insert and select Columns.
Inserting Indexes and Table of Contents
If you want to insert indexes or a table of contents, click Insert and select Indexes and Tables.
The Object Toolbar offers additional text formatting op­tions.
3
Page 4
Using Master Documents
If you are working with a very large document (such as a book), you might nd it easier to manage the book with a master document, rather than keeping the book in a single le. A master document enables you to quickly apply for­matting changes to a large document or to jump to each subdocument for editing.
A master document is a Writer document that serves as a container for multiple Writer les. You can maintain chap­ters or other subdocuments as individual les collected in the master document. Master documents are also useful if multiple people are working on a document. You can sepa­rate each person’s relevant part of the document into sub­documents, allowing multiple writers to work on their sub­documents at the same time without fear of overwriting each other’s work.
1. Click New → Master Document.
or
Open an existing document and click File → Send → Create Master Document.
2. Insert subdocuments.
3. Click File Save.
The OpenOfce.org help les contain more complete infor­mation about working with master documents. Look for the topic entitled Using Master Documents and Subdocu- ments.
Using Writer as HTML Editor
In addition to being a full-featured word processor, Writer also functions as an HTML editor. Writer includes HTML tags that can be applied as you would any other style in a
Writer document. You can view the document as it will ap­pear online, or you can directly edit the HTML code.
1. Click File → New → HTML Document.
2. Press F11 to open the Styles and Formatting window.
3. Click the arrow at the bottom of the Styles and Format- ting window.
4. Select HTML Styles.
5. Create your HTML document, using the styles to tag your text.
6. Click File → Save As.
7. Select the location where you want to save your le, name the le, and select HTML Document (.html) from the Filter list.
8. Click OK.
If you prefer to edit HTML code directly, or if you want to see the HTML code created when you edited the HTML le as a Writer document, click View → HTML Source. In HTML Source mode, the Formatting and Styles list is not available. The rst time you switch to HTML Source mode, you are prompted to save the le as HTML, if you have not already done so.
Tables
You can include tabular data in the Writer, Impress and Draw module. Insert basic tables directly into your docu­ment either with the following menus items or by using the toolbar:
• Insert → Table,
• Table → Insert → Table,
• or use the Table icon.
To enter data, select a cell with your mouse pointer and begin typing. To move around cells, use the arrow keys. →| moves to the next cell, skipping over the contents of the cell and Shift + →| moves backwards.
You can use Table menu or the Table toolbar to modify the table.
4
Page 5
OpenOfce.org Calc
Calc is the OpenOfce.org spreadsheet and data-plotting module. Spreadsheets consist of a number of sheets, con­taining cells which can be lled with elements like text, numbers, or formulas. A formula can manipulate data from other cells to generate a value for the cell into which it is inserted. Calc also allows you to dene ranges, lter and sort the data, or create charts from the data to present it graphically. By using DataPilots, you can combine, analyze or compare larger amounts of data.
As with the entire OpenOfce.org suite, Calc can be used across a variety of platforms. It provides a number of ex­change formats (including export to PDF documents), and can also read and save les in Microsoft Excel's format.
What is New in Calc
Below is a list of new features for Calc:
Spreadsheet Collaboration
It is now possible to share a spreadsheet with other users. To do so, click Tools → Share Document. In the dialog that appears, activate the sharing mode and save the document. This creates a lock le .~sharing .filename.ods# in the same directory to store the list of users who are currently accessing the document. When a different user, tux, opens the le, he or she is informed of the sharing mode and can make the changes to the le. User may now save changes. If the document has been modied by another user in the meantime, an alert appears. Upon saving the document, the changes of both users will be merged.
NOTE: Access Permissions
Note that all writers working on the shared document need writing permission for both the shared le and the lock le.
Higher Number of Columns Per Calc Sheet
Instead of only 256 columns per spreadsheet, OpenOf­ce.org can now handle 1024 columns per spreadsheet.
The OpenOfce.org Novell Edition includes the following additional features available in Calc:
Variable Formula Syntax Support (Calc A1, Excel A1, and Excel R1C1)
Accessible from the Options dialog: Click Tools → Op-
tions → OpenOfce.org Calc → Calculate and select the respective Formula Syntax.
Support of External Range Names
Allows users to access named ranges in external docu­ments, as in Microsoft Excel. For example,
SUM('file:///external.ods'#NamedRange)
Support for Encrypted Excel Export
Allows you to save to an *.xls le with password and encrypt its content. Click File → Save As ... and select the Microsoft Excel 97/2000/XP (.xls) format. Set the check­box Save with password, save and type your password.
Protecting Sheets
Allows you to protect sheets and the contents of locked cells with a password. Click Tools → Protect Document → > Sheet to access the available options.
Changing Source Data Ranges of DataPilots
Allows you to change the source data range of a DataPi­lot after the table has been created.
Toggling Grid Lines Per Sheet
Allows you to hide or show the grid lines individually for each sheet. The grid line settings are saved with the document. Access the function from the right end of the toolbar.
Argument Separators in Formula Expressions
The argument separators in formula expression are de­pendent on locales. You can use a comma instead of a semicolon as a separator for expressions. For example, you can write =SUM(A1,A2,A3) instead =SUM(A1; A2;A3).
Creating a New Document
Start OpenOfce.org and select File → New → Spreadsheet to create a new spreadsheet. Access the individual sheets by clicking the respective tabs at the bottom of the window.
Enter data in the cells as desired. To adjust appearance, ei­ther use the Formatting toolbar or the Format menu—or dene styles. Use the File menu or the relevant buttons in the toolbar to print and save your document.
Customizing OpenOfce.org Calc
Calc comes with a few built-in cell and page styles to im­prove the appearance of your spreadsheets and reports. Although these built-in styles are adequate for many uses, you will probably nd it useful to create styles for your own frequently-used formatting preferences.
Creating a Style
1. Click Format → Styles and Formatting.
5
Page 6
2. In the Styles and Formatting window, click either the Cell Styles or the Page Styles icon.
3. Right-click in the Styles and Formatting window, then click New.
4. Specify a name for your style and use the various tabs to set the desired formatting options.
5. Click OK.
Modifying a Style
1. Click Format → Styles and Formatting.
2. In the Formatting and Styles window, click either the Cell Styles or the Page Styles icon.
3. Right-click the name of the style you want to change, then click Modify.
4. Change the desired formatting options.
5. Click OK.
Other OpenOfce.org Modules
Besides OpenOfce.org Writer and OpenOfce.org Calc, OpenOfce.org also includes the modules Impress, Base, Draw, and Math. With these you can create presentations, design databases, draw up graphics and diagrams and create mathematical formulas.
Using Presentations with Impress
Use OpenOfce.org Impress to create presentations for screen display or printing, such as slide shows or transparen­cies. If you have used other presentation software, you can move comfortably to Impress, which works very similarly to other presentation software.
Impress can open and save Microsoft Powerpoint presenta­tions, which means you can exchange presentations with Powerpoint users, as long as you save your presentations in Powerpoint format.
The OpenOfce.org Novell Edition allows you to use 3D transitions for your slides. Access the available transitions by selecting Slide Show → Transitions.
You can either create a brand new presentation (without any preformatted slides) or use an existing template or presentation for your new document. Impress uses styles and templates the same way other OpenOfce.org modules do. A wizard leads you through the options available for creating new presentations.
Using Databases with Base
OpenOfce.org includes a database module (Base). Use Base to design a database to store many different kinds of information, from a simple address book or recipe le to a sophisticated document management system.
Tables, forms, queries, and reports can be created manually or using convenient wizards. For example, the Table Wizard contains a number of common elds for business and per­sonal use. A wizard guides you through the steps to create a new database.
OpenOfce.org Base comes with several predened database elds to help you create a database. A wizard guides you through the steps to create a new database. The following steps are specic to creating an address book using predened elds, but it should be easy to use the predened elds for any of the built-in database options. The process for creating a database can be broken into several subprocesses:
Creating a Database
1. Click File → New → Database.
2. Select Create a new database Next.
3. Click Yes, register the database for me to make your database information available to other OpenOfce.org modules, select both check boxes in the bottom half of the dialog, then click Finish.
4. Browse to the directory where you want to save the database, specify a name for the database, then click
OK.
Setting Up the Database Table
1. In the Table Wizard, click Personal.
2. The Sample tables list changes to show the predened tables for personal use. If you had clicked Business, the list would contain predened business tables.
In the Sample tables list, click Addresses. The available elds for the predened address book appear in the Available elds menu.
3. In the Available elds menu, click the elds you want to use in your address book.
6
Page 7
You can select one item at a time, or you can shift-click multiple items to select them.
4. Click the single arrow icon to move the selected items to the Selected elds menu.
To move all available elds to the Selected elds menu, click the double right- arrow.
5. Use the arrow keys to adjust the order of the selected elds.
The elds appear in the table and forms in the order in which they are listed.
Creating Graphics with Draw
Use OpenOfce.org Draw to create graphics and diagrams. You can save your drawings in today’s most common for­mats and import them into any application that lets you import graphics, including the other OpenOfce.org mod­ules. You can also create Flash versions of your drawings.
The OpenOfce.org Novell Edition allows you to import Scalable Vector Graphics (*.svg) and WordPerfect Graphics (*.wpg). Select File → Open and use the Filter drop-down list to view which le formats can be opened.
Creating a Graphic
1.
Click Alt + F2 and enter oodraw to open OpenOf­ce.org Draw.
2. Use the toolbar at the bottom of the window to create a graphic.
3. Save the graphic.
To embed an existing Draw graphic into an OpenOfce.org document, select Insert → Object → OLE Object. Select Create from le and click Search to navigate to the Draw le to insert. If you insert a le as OLE object, you can easily edit the object later by double-clicking it.
Opening Draw From Other OpenOfce.org Modules
One particularly useful feature of Draw is the ability to open it from other OpenOfce.org modules so you can create a drawing that is automatically imported into your document.
1. From an OpenOfce.org module (for example, from Writer), click Insert → Object → OLE Object → OpenOfce.org 3.x Drawing → OK. This opens Draw.
2. Create your drawing.
3. Click in your document, outside the Draw frame.
The drawing is automatically inserted into your docu­ment.
Creating Mathematical Formulas with Math
It is usually difcult to include complex mathematical for­mulas in your documents. The OpenOfce.org Math equa­tion editor lets you create formulas using operators, func­tions, and formatting assistants. You can then save those formulas as objects that can be imported into other docu­ments. Math functions can be inserted into other OpenOf­ce.org documents like any other graphic object.
Using Math, you can enter your equation in three different ways:
• Type markup in the equation editor,
• Right-click on the equation editor and select the symbol
from the context menu,
or
• Select a symbol from the Selection toolbox.
NOTE
Math is not a calculator. The functions it creates are graphical objects. Even if they are imported into Calc, these functions cannot be evaluated.
For More Information
OpenOfce.org contains extensive online help. In addition, a large community of users and developers support it. For more details, see the following links:
http://openoffice.org/dev_docs/features/3 .0
A list of all new features available with OpenOfce.org.
http://support.openoffice.org/index.html
Ofcial OpenOfce.org support page, provides manuals and other documentation
http://www.taming-openoffice-org.com/
Taming OpenOfce.org: Books, news, tips and tricks.
http://documentation.OpenOffice.org/HOW_TO/ index.html
Detailed HowTo's for various OpenOfce.org tasks, in­cluding how to create and use templates.
Legal Notice
All content is copyright © 2006- 2009 Novell, Inc.
7
Page 8
This manual is protected under Novell intellectual property rights. By reproducing, duplicating or distributing this manual you explicitly agree to conform to the terms and conditions of this license agreement.
This manual may be freely reproduced, duplicated and dis­tributed either as such or as part of a bundled package in electronic and/or printed format, provided however that the following conditions are fullled:
That this copyright notice and the names of authors and contributors appear clearly and distinctively on all repro­duced, duplicated and distributed copies. That this manual, specically for the printed format, is reproduced and/or distributed for noncommercial use only. The express autho-
rization of Novell, Inc must be obtained prior to any other use of any manual or part thereof.
For Novell trademarks, see the Novell Trademark and Ser­vice Mark list http://www.novell.com/company/ legal/trademarks/tmlist.html. Linux* is a regis­tered trademark of Linus Torvalds. All other third party trademarks are the property of their respective owners. A trademark symbol (®, ™ etc.) denotes a Novell trademark; an asterisk (*) denotes a third party trademark.
All information found in this book has been compiled with utmost attention to detail. However, this does not guarantee complete accuracy. Neither Novell, Inc., SUSE LINUX Prod­ucts GmbH, the authors, nor the translators shall be held liable for possible errors or the consequences thereof.
8
Page 9
Created by SUSE® with XSL-FO
9
Loading...