A. Using the Document Setup Wizard ...............1
B. Opening files ..................................3
C. Sharing files ................................... 3
D. Scanning files .................................4
D. Entering notes into the score with a MIDI keyboard 13
E. Working with Layers ...........................13
Playing in Your Music —HyperScribe® 15
A. Recording a performance ......................15
B. Setting the smallest note value ..................15
C. Recording into two staves ...................... 16
Navigating Your Music 5
A. Choosing a view ...............................5
B. Zooming In and Out ............................ 7
C. Dragging the Visible Score Region ...............8
D. Switching pages ...............................8
Entering Your Music: Simple Entry 9
A. Entering notes with your mouse .................9
B. Entering notes with your computer keyboard .....10
C. Typing notes into the score with your computer
keyboard .....................................11
Table of ConTenTs
Selecting Music 17
A. Selecting regions and measures ................17
B. Expanding selection ...........................18
Using Contextual Menus 19
Copying, Pasting, and Inserting 21
A. Drag-copying .................................21
B. Clipboard-copying .............................21
C. Inserting music ...............................22
wiNdows
Page 3
Changing the Measure Layout 23
A. Fitting a certain number of measures per system ..23
B. Adjusting the measure layout manually .......... 24
Working with Staves 25
A. Inserting staves ...............................25
B. Deleting staves ...............................25
C. Applying Alternate Notation ...................26
D. To move staves ...............................26
Lyrics, Chords, and Repeats 33
A. Typing in lyrics ................................33
B. Typing in chord symbols .......................34
C. Creating repeats with 1st and 2nd endings .......34
Playback 35
A. Playback Controls .............................35
B. Changing the playback tempo ..................35
®
C. Using Human Playback
.......................36
Markings and Text 27
A. Adding expressions ...........................27
B. Adding articulations ...........................28
C. Adding slurs and hairpins ......................29
D. Adding text ...................................30
Key Signatures, Time Signatures, and Clefs 31
A. Defining a key signature .......................31
B. Defining a time signature ......................32
C. Defining a clef change .........................32
wiNdows
Page Layout 37
Sharing Your Music 38
A. Printing your score ............................38
B. Exporting an audio file ......................... 39
C. Sharing your music online with Finale Reader™ ..39
Online customer service
and technical support:
www.finalemusic.com/support
7615 Golden Triangle Drive, Suite M
Table of ConTenTs
MakeMusic
Eden Prairie, MN 55344-3848
www.finalemusic.com
Page 4
Getting Started
A. Using the Document Setup Wizard
PrintMusic’s Document Setup Wizard is usually the fastest way to begin a new score.
The pages in this wizard allow you to quickly specify all the basic score elements.
1
From the File menu, choose New >
Document with Setup Wizard.
Choose the ensemble and Document
2
Style and click Next.
Document Styles include fonts and
markings designed for particular
types of documents, in this case,
a choral jazz arrangement.
See “Setup Wizard” in the User Manual for details.
1
GeTTinG sTarTed
wiNdows
Page 5
3
Add or remove instruments
and click Next.
4
On pages 3 and 4, indicate
the desired score elements,
and click Finish.
Pages 3 and 4 allow you to specify the:
• Title
• Credits and copyright
• Key signature
• Time signature
• Tempo indication
• Pickup measure
• Number of measures
wiNdows
GeTTinG sTarTed
2
Page 6
B. Opening files
Open a PrintMusic file by choosing Open from the File menu. PrintMusic 2011 can open all Finale® notation files
(*.MUS) saved in PrintMusic 2011 or earlier, as well as those saved in other Finale-family notation products.
C. Sharing files
PrintMusic's native file format is the Finale Notation file (*.MUS). These files are cross-platform, which
®
means the same file can be opened on either a Macintosh
or a Windows® computer. PrintMusic files are
not backwards compatible, which means a PrintMusic 2011 document cannot be opened in PrintMusic 2010
or any previous version of PrintMusic. To open a PrintMusic 2011 file in PrintMusic 2010, export the file in
MusicXML format. PrintMusic versions 2006 and later can import Music XML files.
PrintMusic 2010
MusicXML
PrintMusic 2011
3
GeTTinG sTarTed
PrintMusic 2011
PrintMusic 2010
wiNdows
Page 7
D. Scanning files
Use PrintMusic’s built-in SmartScore technology to scan and import a piece of sheet music, or to
import an existing scanned TIFF graphic. Go to File > Scanning: SmartScore Lite to find these options.
See “Scanning” in the User
Manual for details and
specifications.
Tip: After scanning and importing a page of sheet music, use the Selection Tool to copy the music into a new empty
document with the desired orchestration and Document Style.
wiNdows
GeTTinG sTarTed
4
Page 8
Navigating Your Music
Getting the best view of your score-in-progress is crucial to working with PrintMusic efficiently.
A. Choosing a view
You can view your music in Page View or Scroll View.
From the View menu, choose Scroll View or Page View.
5
naviGaTinG Your MusiC
wiNdows
Page 9
ctrl
Press +
E
to switch between Page
View and Scroll View
Page View
displays your music exactly as it will appear on the printed
page. Use this view for system and page layout.
Scroll View
displays your music in
one continuous horizontal
system, free from page
constraints.
Search “Views” in the User Manual for more details.
wiNdows
naviGaTinG Your MusiC
6
Page 10
B. Zooming In and Out
You can find zoom commands under the View menu, but to save time, use keyboard shortcuts.
ctrl
Press + to zoom in
+
=
Zooming in and out using your mouse cursor:
Click with the middle mouse button to zoom in to the position clicked.
ctrl
+ click with the middle mouse button to zoom out.
For more, search “Zoom” in the User Manual.
7
naviGaTinG Your MusiC
ctrl
Press + to zoom out
—
–
wiNdows
Page 11
C. Dragging the Visible Score Region
Use PrintMusic’s Hand Grabber Tool to reposition your view of the score.
Right-click and drag to move the score.
D. Switching pages
In Page View, use the arrow buttons in
the lower left corner of your screen to
navigate between pages. Or, use the
keystrokes listed here:
Search for “Page View” in the User
Manual for more information.
wiNdows
ctrl
Press +
Page
Down
to move to the previous page.
naviGaTinG Your MusiC
Search for “Hand Grabber” in the User
Manual for more information.
ctrl
Press +
Page
Up
to move to the next page.
8
Page 12
Entering Your Music: Simple Entry
1
Click the Simple Entry Tool.
Note the Simple menu (a) appears at the top of your screen. You will use
2
this menu to change settings and refer to keyboard shortcuts.
Note the Simple Entry Palette (b), which you will use to specify note
3
durations and other note properties.
A. Entering notes with your mouse
1
Click the note duration in the Simple Entry Palette, as well as
the accidental, tie, tuplet, or grace note.
2
Position your mouse cursor where you would like to enter the note.
Click to enter the note. PrintMusic flips the stem direction
3
when appropriate.
a.
b.
Tip: Double-click one of these tools to
de-select all other tools in the Simple
Entry Palette.
9
enTerinG Your MusiC: siMple enTrY
wiNdows
Page 13
B. Entering notes with your computer keyboard
Use your numeric keypad (c) to choose note durations before you click them in. Use
the image to the right as a guide. To remove extra tools, double-press as shown below.
To change the
selected duration.
(press once)
Press numpad 9 and
click to add a triplet.
To select only the
duration and remove
(press twice)
the dot and flat.
Notes are purple when you enter them,
indicating they can be edited with a keystroke.
Change the duration of the note you just
entered by pressing Alt + # (1-8).
alt
+
6
wiNdows
enTerinG Your MusiC: siMple enTrY
c.
LAPTOP USERS: Use the
“Laptop Shortcut Table” to
improve the efficiency of your
smaller keyboard. Choose
Simple > Keyboard Shortcut
Set > Laptop Shortcut Set.
All Simple Entry keyboard shortcuts
are listed under the Simple menu.
10
Page 14
C. Typing notes into the score with your computer keyboard
Using your computer keyboard to type notes into the score is faster than clicking. To do so, type the
duration, then:
11
enter
1
Press Enter to activate the
23
Simple Entry Caret, which is
PrintMusic’s entry cursor.
4
Or, simply type the letter of the
desired pitch, 0 (zero) for a rest.
enTerinG Your MusiC: siMple enTrY
Use the up and down arrows
to choose the pitch.
ABC0D
enter
Press Enter to enter the note.
wiNdows
Page 15
shift
5
Press Shift-down arrow to move
+
the caret down an octave.
Here are some common ways to modify a selected note.
—
=+–
Sharp FlatAdd tieFlip stem Flip
T
L\3
enharmonic
Add
interval
third
Moves selection
left/right.
//
Break/join beam
ctrl
+
Moves selection up/down.
+–
Half step
Half step
increase
decrease
(numpad)
(numpad)
See “Simple Entry” in the User
Manual for more information.
wiNdows
enTerinG Your MusiC: siMple enTrY
12
Page 16
D. Entering notes into the score with a MIDI keyboard
You can use your MIDI keyboard (or other MIDI
device) to quickly enter notes. With the caret
active, simply play the desired note or chord to
add it to the score.
Check Simple > Use MIDI Device for Input,
to use a MIDI keyboard for note entry.
E. Working with Layers
When a second voice with a different rhythm is required within a measure, like the eighth notes shown here,
enter the line in a new layer. Each layer is a rhythmically independent voice. Simply choose the new layer and
enter as you would normally.
13
enTerinG Your MusiC: siMple enTrY
See “Speedy Entry” and
“HyperScribe
Manual for other ways to enter
music using a MIDI keyboard.
®
” in the User
The layer selection buttons are located in the lower
left corner of the PrintMusic window.
wiNdows
Page 17
Use the following shortcuts to quickly change layers.
alt
alt
alt
alt
shift
+
shift
+
shift
+
shift
+
+
+
+
+
1
= Layer 1
2
= Layer 2
3
= Layer 3
4
= Layer 4
From the Document menu, choose Show Active Layer
Only to work with a single layer independently.
+
See “Multiple Voices” in the User
Manual for more information.
wiNdows
Always use layers 1 and 2 first when notating
multiple voices. If there are three or four voices in
a single staff, then use layers 3 and 4 as needed.
Show Active Layer Only allows you to edit or clear
individual layers without affecting the hidden layers.
(Compare to figure above).
enTerinG Your MusiC: siMple enTrY
14
Page 18
Playing in Your Music
HyperScribe allows you to record directly from your MIDI
keyboard into the score. To configure your MIDI keyboard
(or other external MIDI device) for use with PrintMusic, see
“Setting up your MIDI system” in the Tutorials section of the
PrintMusic User Manual.
A. Recording a performance
—
HyperScribe
®
Click the HyperScribe Tool.
1
Click a measure.
2
3
Wait for two countoff measures and begin playing.
When you’re done, click the score.
4
B. Setting the smallest note value
Since a live performance is never perfect, PrintMusic rounds off your performance to the nearest note
value you choose. For example, if your piece does not include any notes shorter than an eighth note, tell
PrintMusic this by specifying eighth as the smallest note value to ensure there will not be sixteenth notes in
the transcription. This setting is configured in the Quantization Settings dialog box.
15
plaYinG in Your MusiC—HYpersCribe
wiNdows
Page 19
Choose MIDI > Quantization
Settings to open this dialog box.
C. Recording into two staves
Click the HyperScribe Tool.
1
2
From the HyperScribe menu, choose Record
Mode > Split Into Two Staves.
3
Enter the split point (middle C = 60) and click OK.
Record your performance.
4
Results of your HyperScribe
recording depend on the
Smallest Note Value selected
and other quantization settings.
wiNdows
plaYinG in Your MusiC—HYpersCribe
16
Page 20
Selecting Music
The Selection Tool is PrintMusic's universal editing tool. It can be used to select, move, delete, copy, paste,
or otherwise edit any region of measures and virtually any individual item in the score.
A. Selecting regions and measures
click
drag
17
Click and drag diagonally
across any measure region
(partial or whole measures)
to select a measure region.
Tip: See “Selecting Music” in the
User Manual for more details.
seleCTinG MusiC
Click on the staff lines
(between beats) to select
a full measure.
Double-click a full measure, or
Command-click between beats.
Copying measure-specific
items or deleting full measures
requires a stack selection.
wiNdows
Page 21
B. Expanding selection
Use keyboard shortcuts to expand or contract
the selected region on a single staff...
...or on multiple staves.
wiNdows
To next beat
To end of measure
To end of score
shift
shift
ctrl
shift
+
shift
+
shift
+
2
+
end
+
+
(again)
A selected region including full
measures in every staff
is called a measure stack
and is indicated by highlighting
that extends from the top to the
bottom staff, including
the area between staves.
seleCTinG MusiC
18
Page 22
Using Contextual Menus
Right-click to open contextual menus.
You can perform many common tasks using contextual menus.
Or, choose from one of the many other options. By context-clicking a region you can perform a multitude
of additional tasks:
• Edit measure attributes
• Change the barline style
• Create or break multimeasure rests
• Cut, copy, or paste
• Transpose
• Add, insert, or delete measures
• Change the key, meter, or clef
• Apply alternate notation
• Add repeats
19
usinG ConTexTual Menus
wiNdows
Page 23
Transpose, add
repeats, insert
measures, and make
other changes to
measure regions.
Change the key.
Edit or
delete text.
wiNdows
usinG ConTexTual Menus
20
Page 24
Copying, Pasting, and Inserting
PrintMusic offers a great deal of control over copying, inserting and pasting (replacing).
A. Drag-copying
If the source and target regions are both visible on your screen, quickly copy music by dragging the selected region.
1
Click and hold
2
Drag
Release
3
B. Clipboard-copying
If the source and target regions are not both visible on your screen, copy music
to the clipboard, then paste the contents of the clipboard to the target region.
Tip: See “Copying Music” in the
User Manual for more details.
21
CopYinG, pasTinG, and inserTinG
wiNdows
Page 25
ctrl
+
1
C
2
Select the target
ctrl
+
3
V
C. Inserting music
Using the above methods, PrintMusic overwrites the content in the target region. When you insert, all
subsequent music is pushed toward the end of the score, usually increasing the total number of measures.
alt
+ click and drag to insert instead of paste.
A red insertion bar indicates the inserted
music will nudge music toward the end of the
score. Full measures will not be inserted.
wiNdows
A green insertion bar appears when copying and inserting
stacks. It indicates PrintMusic will insert the full measure(s),
pushing subsequent measures toward the end of the score.
CopYinG, pasTinG, and inserTinG
22
Page 26
Changing the Measure Layout
A. Fitting a certain number of measures per system
1
Select the measures you would like to fit.
2
From the Utilities menu, choose Fit Measures.
Type the number of measures and click OK.
3
To add, delete, or insert measures,
see “Measures” in the User Manual.
23
CHanGinG THe Measure laYouT
wiNdows
Page 27
PrintMusic automatically adjusts the
measure layout to fit the specified
number of measures throughout the
selected region.
B. Adjusting the measure layout manually
You can move individual measures from one system to the next, or to the previous.
1
Select the measure(s).
ctrl
Press to
2
move to the next system, or
ctrl
to move to
the previous.
Tip: To add a pickup measure, from
the Document menu, choose Pickup Measure.
+
+
Tip: See “Measure Layout” in the
User Manual for more details
wiNdows
CHanGinG THe Measure laYouT
24
Page 28
Working with Staves
Use the Staff Tool to easily insert, delete, or edit staves. When you click the Staff Tool, the Staff Menu
appears at the top of your screen. The following instructions assume the Staff Tool is selected.
A. Inserting staves
1
Select a measure region in a staff. The
inserted staff will appear above this one.
2
From the Staff menu,
choose New Staves.
25
WorkinG WiTH sTaves
B. Deleting staves
1
Click outside or between staves to remove
all selections. Then double-click a staff handle.
ctrl
2
Press Delete. PrintMusic removes the staff
and repositions adjacent staves accordingly.
+
Alternatively, rightclick a staff handle and choose Delete.
wiNdows
Page 29
C. Applying Alternate Notation
1
Select the measure region.
Right-click the region and select the
2
desired Alternate Notation Style.
Alternate Notation can be used to apply a notation
style, such as the following, to a portion of a staff.
D. To move staves
Click a staff handle and drag to move it vertically
for one system only. (Double-click the handle and
drag to position the staff in all systems.)
See “To move staves” in the User Manual for more details.
1-bar repeats
wiNdows
Rhythmic notation
Slash notation
WorkinG WiTH sTaves
26
Page 30
Markings and Text
Most markings and text are added with one of three tools; the
Expression Tool, Articulation Tool, or Smart Shape Tool. In this
section, you will learn how to easily add these figures, and
which tool to use.
A. Adding expressions
Six different types of figures are added with expressions,
each with its own category:
F
Adagio = 40
accel.
con brio
arco
A
27
MarkinGs and TexT
Articulation Tool
Expression Tool
Add an expression:
1
Click the Expression Tool.
2
Double-click the score.
Choose the category.
3
Double-click the expression.
4
Smart Shape Tool
wiNdows
Page 31
B. Adding articulations
Articulations are markings attached
to a single note, including:
Ornaments
Accents
Staccato
Tenuto
Add an articulation
to a single note:
1
Click the Articulation Tool.
Double-click the note.
2
Double-click the articulation.
3
Add an articulation
to multiple notes:
1
Click the Articulation Tool.
2
Drag-select a region of notes.
3
Double-click the articulation.
wiNdows
MarkinGs and TexT
28
Page 32
C. Adding slurs and hairpins
Lines, curves, and other shapes are added with
the Smart Shape Tool.
Adding a Smart Shape:
1
Click the Smart Shape Tool.
2
Choose the desired tool from
the Smart Shape Palette.
3
Double-click and drag to add
the Smart Shape.
TrillsOttavas (8va/8vb)
HairpinsSlurs
Drag the diamond
handles to adjust the
slur contour.
29
MarkinGs and TexT
wiNdows
Page 33
D. Adding text
Titles, subtitles, composer, arranger, lyricist, and other
text that does not need to adjust with the music is added
with the Text Tool.
Titles
Subtitles
Composer
Setting a document’s title page text:
From the File menu, choose File Info.
1
Enter the page text information in the
2
File Info dialog box.
Click OK.
3
To enter Lyrics, use
the Lyrics Tool.
wiNdows
Adding other text on a page:
Double-click to display the text frame.
1
Type the desired text, or, choose an insert.
2
3
Press Return.
To add a text insert,
choose Text > Insert.
MarkinGs and TexT
30
Page 34
Key Signatures, Time Signatures, and Clefs
Changing the key, time, or clef:
1
Choose the Selection Tool.
2
Right-click a measure.
3
Choose the Key Signature, Time Signature, or Clef
command and choose the desired option.
A. Defining a key signature
1
Click the Key Signature Tool.
2
Double-click a measure.
3
Use the slider next to the key signature
preview to specify the key.
4
Click OK.
31
keY siGnaTures, TiMe siGnaTures, and Clefs
Time Signatures
Key SignaturesClef Changes
wiNdows
Page 35
B. Defining a time signature
C. Defining a clef change
1
Click the Time Signature Tool.
Double-click
2
a measure.
3
Use the Number
of Beats slider
to specify the
number of beats per measure.
4
Use the Beat Duration slider to specify the
duration (e.g. eighth, quarter, etc.).
Click OK.
5
wiNdows
1
Click the Clef Tool.
2
Double-click
a measure.
3
Double-click
the desired clef.
keY siGnaTures, TiMe siGnaTures, and Clefs
32
Page 36
Lyrics, Chords, and Repeats
A. Typing in lyrics
1
After the notes are entered, click the Lyrics Tool.
From the Lyrics menu, check Type Into Score.
2
Click a note to display a blinking cursor beneath the staff.
3
4
Type a syllable and then press the spacebar to advance.
Use - (dash) to add hyphens between syllables.
Type the chord root and suffix. For example, “Amin7”.
To show guitar fretboards, from the Chord menu, choose
When typing chord symbols, use “b” for flat
and “#” for sharp.
Show Fretboards.
C. Creating repeats with 1st and 2nd endings
1
Click the Repeat Tool.
2
Select the region of measures you would like to
enclose in repeat barlines, including the first ending
measures.
3
From the Repeat menu, chose Create Simple Repeat.
wiNdows
4
Select the first ending measures.
From the Repeat menu, choose Create First
5
and Second Endings.
lYriCs, CHords, and repeaTs
Type: “Amin7 [spacebar]”
34
Page 38
Playback
A. Playback Controls
The Playback Controls
are located in a floating
palette that gives you
tape deck-like buttons for
controlling the playback
of your score.
Hold down and click a measure to start playback (no HP).
Press + + click and drag to spot-check.
ctrl
spacebar
spacebar
ctrl
Press + + + to spot-check a single staff.
B. Changing the playback tempo
If you have not defined a tempo marking:
In the Playback Controls, click the Tempo popup
1
menu and choose the desired note duration.
Enter the number of beats per minute in the adjacent text box.
2
35
plaYbaCk
shift
spacebar
Tempo marking expressions override
the tempo indicated in the Playback
Controls. See “Tempo Marks” in the
PrintMusic User Manual.
wiNdows
Page 39
C. Using Human Playback
®
The proper performance of any piece of music depends on the genre and style. For example, you wouldn’t
expect a jazz piece to be performed the same way as a classical sonata. Tell PrintMusic how you want your
piece performed using Human Playback. Human Playback performs the music in the style specified, and even
interprets the markings you’ve added. To choose a Human Playback style, from the MIDI menu choose Human
Playback, and then select the desired style.
1
From the MIDI menu, choose Human Playback and then
select the desired style.
To turn off Human Playback, from the MIDI menu, choose Human
2
Playback > None.
Choose MIDI > Human Playback > Jazz to activate the Swing submenu
(under the MIDI menu) where you can select the type of swing feel to add
(light, standard, or heavy).
wiNdows
plaYbaCk
36
Page 40
Page Layout
Adjusting the position of systems and page margins should be the final step before printing your
score. Use the following techniques to finilize the page layout:
37
Click and drag these handles
to adjust the position of the
page margins for this page.
paGe laYouT
Click and drag these
handles to adjust the
system’s top margin.
Click and drag a system to adjust the
position of the system, which also adjusts
all subsequent systems vertically.
Click and drag these handles to adjust the
system's bottom margin.
ctrl
+ click and drag to move
a system independently.
See “Page Layout” in the User Manual
for more details on laying out your pages.
wiNdows
Page 41
Sharing Your Music
A. Printing your score
ctrl
+
To print, press and click OK.
See “Printing”in the User Manual for details.
P
wiNdows
sHarinG Your MusiC
38
Page 42
B. Exporting an audio file
1
From the File menu, choose Export to Audio File.
2
Choose a location and filename.
3
Choose whether to save a compressed
or standard audio file.
4
Click Save.
C. Sharing your music online with Finale Reader
Share your music with anyone over the Internet, even if they don’t own a Finale-family product.
Simply instruct your recipient to download and install the free Finale Reader available here:
www.finalemusic.com/reader
Then, e-mail the file as an attachment, or post it to a website such as www.finaleshowcase.com.
With Finale Reader, anyone can open, play, and print your masterpiece.
39
sHarinG Your MusiC
™
wiNdows
Loading...
+ hidden pages
You need points to download manuals.
1 point = 1 manual.
You can buy points or you can get point for every manual you upload.