Ergodex DX1 User Manual

Page 1
User Guide
Ergodex
®
DX1
TM
Input System
Page 2
2
© 2005 Ergodex Corporation. All Rights reserved.
Ergodex® DX1™ Input System User Guide
Reproduction, adaptation, or translation without prior written permission is prohibited, except as allowed under copyright laws.
Warranty
The information contained in this document is subject to change without notice. Ergodex Corporation makes no warranty of any kind with regard to this material, including, but not limited to, the implied warranties of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose. Ergodex shall not be liable for errors contained herein or for incidental or consequential damage in connection with the furnishing, performance, or use of this material.
Trademark Credits
Ergodex, the Ergodex Logo, DX1, and Performance at Your Fingertips are trademarks of Ergodex Corporation and may be registered.
Microsoft, Windows, Windows 2000, Windows XP, and WordPad are either registered trademarks or trademarks of Microsoft Corporation in the
United States and/or other countries.
Pentium is either a registered trademark or trademark of Intel Corporation in the United States and other countries.
All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
Ergodex Corporation, 1060 La Avenida Mountain View, CA 94043 USA
www.ergodex.com
Notices
Page 3
3
It is important to read and understand fully the following Health and Safety Warnings before using your DX1 Input System.
Use of any computer input device, including the DX1Input System, may be linked to serious injuries or disorders.
When using the DX1 Input System, as with many other activities, you may experience occasional pain or discomfort in your fingers, hands, arms, shoulders, neck, or other parts of your body. However, if you experience symptoms such as persistent or recurring discomfort, pain, throbbing, aching, tingling, numbness, burning sensation, or stiffness, DO NOT IGNORE THESE WARNING SIGNS. STOP USE IMMEDIATELY AND SEE A QUALIFIED HEALTH PROFESSIONAL, even if symptoms occur while you are not working with the DX1 Input System. Symptoms like these can be associated with painful and sometimes permanently disabling injuries or disorders of the nerves, muscles, tendons, or other parts of the body. These musculoskeletal disorders (MSDs) include carpal tunnel syndrome, tendonitis, tenosynovitas, and other conditions.
CHOKING HAZARD. Because they are small, the keys included with the DX1 Input System present a choking hazard. The keys should always be kept out of the reach of children.
ELECTRICAL MEDICAL IMPLANTS. The Radio Frequency (RF) technology used in the DX1 Input System may pose health risks for people with electrical medical implants, such as PACEMAKERS, HEARING AIDS, AND OTHER MEDICAL DEVICES. Immediately unplug the DX1 Input System if you have reason to suspect that interference is taking place. Consult a physician or the manufacturer of the medical device to determine if it is adequately shielded from external RF energy, or if you have any questions.
SWITCH OFF IN HOSPITALS. Follow all regulations and rules. Switch the DX1 Input System off near medical equipment.
SWITCH OFF IN AIRCRAFT. The DX1 Input System may cause interference in aircraft and may be dangerous to the operation of the
aircraft. It may not be legal to use the DX1 Input System during flight.
ELECTRONIC DEVICES. Most modern electronic equipment is shielded from Radio Frequency (RF) signals. However, certain electronic equipment may not be shielded against RF signals emanating from your DX1 Input System.
CONNECTING TO OTHER DEVICES. When connecting to another device, read its user guide for detailed safety instructions. Do not connect incompatible products.
BACKUP COPIES. Remember to make backup copies of all important data on your computer.
WATER-RESISTANCE. Your DX1 Input System is not water­resistant. Keep it dry.
QUALIFIED SERVICE. Only qualified personnel may repair the DX1 Input System. There are no user serviceable parts in the DX1 Input System. Do not attempt to open. Non-expert handling may cause damage, will void all product warranties, and will likely cause your DX1 Input System to fail. Tampering with or removing the label on the back of the DX1 Pad will void all product warranties and will likely cause your DX1 Input System to malfunction.
Warning: CHOKING HAZARD - Small Parts This product is not a toy and should be kept away from children.
Health and Safety
Page 4
4
Regulatory Notices
This information applies to the Ergodex model DX1.
FCC Information to the User
This device complies with Part 15 of the FCC Rules. Operation is subject to the following two conditions:
• This device may not cause harmful interference
• This device must accept any interference received, including interference that may cause undesired operation
NOTE: This equipment has been tested and found to comply with the limits for a Class B digital device, pursuant to Part 15 of the FCC Rules. These limits are designed to provide reasonable protection against harmful interference in a residential installation. This equipment generates, uses and can radiate radio frequency energy and, if not installed and used in accordance with the instructions, may cause harmful interference to radio communications. However, there is no guarantee that interference will not occur in a particular installation.
If this equipment does cause harmful interference to radio or television reception, which can be determined by turning the equipment off and on, the user is encouraged to try to correct the interference by one or more of the following measures:
-- Reorient or relocate the receiving antenna.
-- Increase the separation between the equipment and receiver.
-- Connect the equipment into an outlet on a circuit different from that to which the receiver is connected.
-- Consult the dealer or an experienced radio/TV technician for help.
You may find the FCC Interference Handbook, 1986, to be helpful. It is available for purchase from the U. S. government Printing Office, Washington, DC 20402, Stock No. 004-0000-00450-7 or at http://www.fcc.gov/Bureaus/Compliance/WWW/tvibook.html.
Industry Canada Notice (Canada only) Complies IC Class B ICES-3.
This Class B digital apparatus meets the requirements of the Canadian Interference-Causing Equipment regulations.
Cet appereil numérique de la classe B respect toutes les exigences du Reglement sur le Material Brouiller du Canada.
Regulatory Notices
Page 5
5
CE Notice (European Union)
Marking of this product with the CE marking symbol indicates compliance of this product to the EMC Directive and the Low Voltage Directive of the European Union. This marking indicates compliance with the following technical standards:
• EN 55022 - “Limits and methods of Measurement of Radio Interference Characteristics of Information Technology Equipment.”
• EN 55082-1 – “Electromagnetic compatibility-Generic immunity standard Part 1: Residential, commercial and light industry.”
• EN 60950 – “Safety of Information Technology Equipment.”
VCCI Notice (Japan)
The Voluntary Control Council for Interference classifies this product as Class B. This product meets VCCI requirements and is registered with VCCI.
Regulatory Notices
Page 6
6
NOM Information (Mexico)
The following information is provided on the device described in this document in compliance with the requirements of the official Mexican standards (NOM):
Exporter: Ergodex, Inc. 1060 La Avenida Mountain View, CA 94043
Importer:
Ship to:
Supply Voltage: 5 VDC
Frequency: 0 Hz
Input current rating: 0.5 A
Regulatory Notices
Page 7
7
A
DX1 Pad with USB Cable
A
Removable Key Tra
y
25 positionable DX1 Keys
(numbered 1 through 25)
A Warranty Card
An Installation CD containing:
• Ergodex Manager Software
• Windows® 2000/XP Drivers
• User Guide
Key Labels
A Key Storage Box
A Quick Start Guide
Box Contents
Page 8
8
Notices 2 Health and Safety 3 Regulatory Notices 4 Box Contents 7 Table of Contents 8 Introduction 10
What is it? 10 DX1 Input System Features 10 Overview of the DX1 Input System 11 Installation CD 11 DX1 Keys 11 DX1 Key Tray 11 DX1 Pad 11 Key Storage Box 12 Preprinted Labels 12
Getting Started 13
Minimum System Requirements 13 Removing the Quick Start Guide 13 Installing Ergodex Manager 13 For Window® XP 14 For Windows® 2000 15 Verify Install 15 Placing DX1 Keys on the Key Tray 15
Concepts & Definitions 17
DX1 - Performance at Your Fingertips™ 17 Macros 17 Single Key Macros 17 Multi Key Macros 17 Text Block Macros 18 Program/File/URL Launch Macros 18 Categories 18 Program Profiles 19 Active and Inactive Profiles 19 Automatic Program Profile Creation 19 Pre-created Program Profiles 19 The Global Profile 20 Users 20 Hierarchy Summary 20 Keeping Track of Everything 21
Ergodex Manager Overview 22
Ergodex Manager Main Screen 22 Ergodex Manager 23
Users 26
Creating New Users 26 Switching the Active User 26 Changing the Default User 26 Deleting Users 26
Profiles 27
Program Profiles 27 The Global Profile 27 Creating Program Profiles 28 Automatically Creating a Profile 28 Manually Creating a Profile 28 View and Edit Profile Properties 30 Exporting Program Profiles 30 Importing Program Profiles 30 Deleting Program Profiles 30
Categories 31
Creating New Categories 31
Macros 32
Creating Macros 32 Recording Macros 32 Composing Macros with Ergodex Manager 34 Edit Macro Dialog Box 35 Edit Macro Dialog Box – Single Key Macro 35 Edit Macro Dialog Box – Multi Key Macro 36 Edit Macro Dialog Box – Text Block Macro 38 Edit Macro Dialog Box – Progr/File/URL Macro 38 Assigning Macros 38 Unassigning Macros 39 Playing Macros 39
Stopping Macros 40 Importing Macros 41 Finding Macros 41 Deleting Macros 42 Mouse Clicks 42
Table of Contents
Page 9
9
Wizard 43
Ergodex Manager Wizard 43
Skins 44
Creating Skins 44 Skin Backgrounds 45 Background Grid 46 Importing Skin Backgrounds 46 Exporting Skin Backgrounds 46 Copying Skin to Clipboard 46 Deleting Skin Backgrounds 46 Printing Skins 46 Returning to Main Screen 46
Ergodex Manager Preferences 47
Macro Preferences 47 Macro Recording Timeouts 47 Macro Recording 47 Macro Playback 48 Profiles Preferences 48 Global Profiles 48 Program Profiles 49 User Settings 49
Menu Commands 50
Main Screen Menu Commands 50 File Menu 50 Edit Menu 51 View Menu 51 Help Menu 51 Skin View Menu Commands 52 File Menu 52 Edit Menu 52 View Menu 52 Help Menu 53
Care & Maintenance 54
Care of the DX1 Input System 54 Maintenance of the DX1 Input System 54 Cleaning the Pad 54 Clean the Pad with a damp cloth. 54 Cleaning the Key Tray 54 Cleaning the Keys 54
Troubleshooting 55
Troubleshooting 55 Interference 55
Table of Contents
Table of Contents
Page 10
10
Thank you for purchasing the DX1 Input System from Ergodex. The DX1 is a powerful tool that lets you build a completely personalized computer interface. This User Guide describes the features and operation of your DX1.
Before continuing, we would like to acknowledge upfront that most people detest reading User Guides. It is usually much more fun to discover how a new product works by trial and error, after maybe a brief glance at the Quick Start Guide. However, it is important that
you read and understand fully the Health and Safety Warnings at the beginning of this User Guide before using the DX1 Input System.
We have tried to provide a balance between ease of use and maximum flexibility with the DX1. The intuitive interface and “in program” recording capability allow you to begin using the DX1 right away. However, the DX1 also provides many advanced features that may not be immediately obvious. As you experiment with the DX1, you may want to read the rest of this User Guide to discover all the powerful features that are offered.
What is it?
So, what exactly is the DX1 Input System? Well, if you are reading this guide, you probably have some idea about what it can do. Essentially, the DX1 is a computer peripheral that allows you to create your own custom computer interface. DX1 Keys may be arranged (and rearranged) anywhere on the surface of the DX1 Pad. You assign these Keys powerful Macro functions to control programs on your computer. The DX1 is compatible with most programs including: Games, Graphics Packages, Audio/Video Editing Software, CAD/Engineering Packages, Word Processors, Web Browsers, Email Programs, and Office Applications. Essentially, your DX1 Pad can be used with any program that uses a regular keyboard for input.
You can arrange the DX1 Keys to suit your particular preferences or work style. You no longer have to tolerate awkward layouts or complex key combinations to control your programs. You might arrange the DX1 Keys to fit the geometry of your particular hand.
Alternately, you might group Keys with similar functions into “logical neighborhoods.” The locations and functions of DX1 Keys are whatever you decide they should be.
DX1 Input System Features
Your DX1 Input System provides many features, including:
• A DX1 Pad that connects to your computer with USB 1.1 or 2.0.
• Positionable DX1 Keys that communicate wirelessly with the
DX1 Pad and may be assigned powerful Macro functions.
• A clear removable Key Tray that attaches to the surface of the
DX1 Pad and holds the DX1 Keys. Arrange Keys on the Key
Tray to create your own custom layout.
• Ergodex Manager software to create, assign, edit, and store your
Macros.
• “In program” keystroke recording feature. Create and assign
Macros directly within programs using your regular keyboard.
Ergodex Manager automatically organizes and stores the
Macros you record for future viewing and editing.
• Macro timing options that provide complete control over the
speed at which your Macros play with millisecond precision.
• Four different Macro types supported:
- Single Key Macros – replicate any key on your regular keyboard.
- Multi Key Macros – replace a complex sequence of keystrokes with the press of a single DX1 Key.
- Text Block Macros – store text of virtually any length to be inserted directly into your documents.
- Program/File/URL Launch Macros – open your favorite software program, file, or web site by pressing a DX1 Key.
• Individual DX1 Keys can be assigned a different Macro for each program you use or a single Global Macro that works everywhere.
• Program Profiles allow you to organize your Macros for each program you use with the DX1. Ergodex Manager automatically switches to the correct Program Profile based on the currently active program.
• Key Labels and custom Skins allow you to personalize the look of your Pad and see the function of your Dx1 Keys at a glance.
Introduction
Page 11
11
Overview of the DX1 Input System
Please take a minute to review the following items that constitute your DX1 Input System.
Installation CD
The installation CD contains Ergodex® Manager, the software program that allows your DX1 Input System to work with your computer.
DX1 Keys
Your DX1 Input System comes with twenty-five numbered DX1 Keys. Each Key has a number on its base that identifies the Key. The Keys that come with your Pad are numbered 1 through 25.
The Key number identifies the individual DX1 Key and any of its assigned Macros. If you move a DX1 Key to another location on the Key Tray, the Macro assignment remains with the Key and continues to work.
DX1 Key Tray
The removable DX1 Key Tray provides a surface upon which you arrange your DX1 Keys. The transparent Key Tray snaps onto the DX1 Pad and allows you to print and place custom graphics (or Skins) underneath your Key layouts.
DX1 Pad
The DX1 Pad connects to your computer via a USB cable. The Pad communicates wirelessly with the DX1 Keys that are placed above its surface on the Key Tray. (You should wait until you have installed Ergodex Manager before plugging the DX1 Pad into your computer. See the next section Getting Started for installation instructions.)
There are two buttons and two indicator lights located in the upper right hand corner of the DX1 Pad, with the functions shown below.
Introduction
USB
Cable
Press to Display Ergodex Manage
r
Green Light (shows Pad status)
Red Light (shows Record status)
Press to enter/exit Record Mode
Key number
DX1 Pad
Ke
y
Tray
Page 12
12
Key Storage Box
Your DX1 Keys are delivered in a Key storage box that holds 25 Keys. The box has a plastic base that allows you to park your DX1 Keys when they are not in use on the Pad.
Preprinted Labels
A set of preprinted Key labels comes with every DX1 Input System. The labels provide a wide range of icons that you can use to identify the functions of your individual DX1 Keys. Blank labels allow you to create your own Key labels. The blank labels can be marked with a ballpoint pen.
Introduction
Page 13
13
Minimum System Requirements
Computer:
350 MHz Pentium® III PC (or equivalent) 128 MB RAM 50 MB of free hard drive space Powered USB Port (1.1 or 2.0)* U.S. English Keyboard Mouse
Operating System:
Windows® XP -or­Windows® 2000 (with Service Pack 3 or later)
*The DX1 Input System requires the use of a powered USB Port, such as the USB Ports integrated into your computer or provided by Self-powered Hubs. The DX1 will not work with Bus-powered Hubs, which do not have their own power supply. Windows® will automatically notify you if you attempt to use the DX1 with a Bus­powered Hub.
Removing the Quick Start Guide
If you have not already done so, you should remove and read the Quick Start Guide that is delivered under the removable Key Tray on your DX1 Pad. To remove the Quick Start Guide, gently PULL and LIFT on the two tabs located on the top edge of the Key Tray, as shown below. The Key Tray will rotate forward and you will be able to lift it away from the Pad.
The Quick Start Guide provides an overview of the DX1 Input System and some of its basic features. The placement of the Quick Start Guide under the Key Tray also reveals a useful feature of the DX1. In later sections you will see how to create and print your own paper inserts, or Skins, that you can place underneath the Key Tray. Using Skins allows you to label the functions of your DX1 Keys and provide a custom look for your Pad. Ergodex Manager provides a utility that lets you import graphics and organize a Key layout for your Skins.
For now, you should put the Key Tray back onto the Pad without a Skin. To replace the Key Tray, reverse the steps for removing it. Insert the bottom edge of the Key Tray into the slots on the Pad, as shown. Rotate the Key Tray down until it snaps back into place on the Pad.
Installing Ergodex Manager
Ergodex Manager is the program that allows the DX1 Input System to work with your computer. It is responsible for storing all of your Macros and Key assignments for each program that you use with the DX1. It also monitors the currently active program you are using and switches to your assigned Macros for that program automatically. Ergodex Manager includes an intuitive graphical interface to manage all of your Macros.
To install Ergodex Manager, close all open programs and place the Installation CD into your CD-ROM drive. If you have auto-run enabled on your computer, the installer program should load after a
Getting StartedGetting Started
Page 14
14
few moments. If the installer program does not load automatically, run "Install.exe" from the Installation CD.
When the installer program loads, click on "Install Software" and follow the on-screen instructions to install Ergodex Manager.
During the installation, you will be prompted to plug in your DX1 Pad. When asked, plug the USB cable into one of your computer’s powered USB ports. The port should be marked with the USB symbol shown below.
For Window® XP
After plugging in the Pad, the Windows® "Found New Hardware Wizard" will open. (If Windows® Update is enabled, you will start at Screen 1, otherwise you will start at Screen 2.)
Note: Windows® XP manages each USB port separately. Windows®
XP will require that you go through this installation process each time you plug the DX1 Pad into a new USB port on your computer.
Getting Started
Screen 1
Screen 2
Screen 3
Screen 4
Select “No, not this time” and click “Next”
Select “Install the software automatically” and click “Next”
Wait for installer to complete
Click “Finish” to close the wizard.
Page 15
15
For Windows® 2000
Windows® 2000 will load the DX1 Pad automatically after you install Ergodex Manager and plug in the USB cable.
Verify Install
Once the installation is complete, an Ergodex hand icon will appear in the Windows® System Tray (usually in the lower right-hand corner of your Windows® Desktop). This icon shows the connection status of the Pad. A blue hand icon indicates the Pad is properly plugged into your computer.
A blue hand icon with a red "X" through it indicates the Pad is not plugged in to your computer.
Additionally, when Ergodex Manager is running, and the Pad is plugged in and operating properly, the Green Light in the upper right hand corner of the Pad will be illuminated.
Ergodex Manager will start automatically when you turn on your computer. If there is no Ergodex hand icon in your Windows® System Tray, Ergodex Manager is not running. You will need to launch Ergodex Manager before using your DX1 Input System. (Click on Start > Programs Ergodex > Ergodex Manager) If the Pad is plugged into your computer and the Green Light is on, you are ready to use your DX1 Input System.
Placing DX1 Keys on the Key Tray
To use the DX1 Keys, you must first place them on your Pad. Each DX1 Key has an adhesive base that allows it to “stick” to the Key Tray. The adhesive base has a clear protective film cover that should be removed before using the DX1 Key. Gently peel and remove the cover as shown.
Once removed, this protective film cover may be discarded.
DX1 Keys will only work over the Active Surface of the Pad. When the Key Tray is attached to the Pad, the Active Surface is indicated by the clear rectangular area (shown with dashed lines below). To function properly, the Key Tray should be attached to the Pad and the DX1 Keys must be positioned entirely within the Active Surface, as shown.
Green Light indicates Pad is working properly.
Active Surface
NO
OK
Getting Started
Page 16
16
To position a DX1 Key, place it on the Key Tray and press down firmly to attach the adhesive.
The reusable adhesive is designed to hold the DX1 Key securely under normal use while allowing the Key to be easily repositioned at any time.
To remove or reposition a DX1 Key, gently TWIST and lift the Key off the Key Tray. The twisting motion will free the DX1 Key. To prevent damage to the adhesive base, NEVER PULL or PRY a DX1 Key from the Key Tray.
Care should be taken to keep the adhesive base free from contaminants (dust, dirt, finger oils, etc.). Unused DX1 Keys may be kept on the plastic tray in the Key Storage Box. If a DX1 Key loses its "stickiness," cleaning it with a damp cotton swab or cloth will restore the adhesive. See Care & Maintenance of Your DX1 Input System for more information.
Getting Started
Page 17
17
DX1 - Performance at Your Fingertips™
Computers continue to be too hard to use. Many programs have grown so complex and loaded with features and functionality that standard input devices are insufficient and represent a bottleneck to user performance. Your regular keyboard and mouse do not provide the freedom to best use and interact with your computer. Your DX1 Input System will help you break through this artificial bottleneck.
This section introduces to you basic concepts and terminology of the DX1 Input System and Ergodex Manager. As you read on, we hope you will see that the DX1 Input System opens up a whole new opportunity for improved performance controlling your computer.
Macros
DX1 Macros are the fundamental concept around which the rest of the DX1 Input System is built. A Macro is a collection of keystrokes or functions that are executed with a single press of a DX1 Key. By combining several keystrokes into one action, the DX1 can significantly improve your performance and productivity. Thus, Macros are actions that can be assigned to DX1 Keys.
DX1 Macros can be one of four different Macro Types:
• Single Key Macros replicate any key on your regular keyboard.
• Multi Key Macros replace a complex sequence of keystrokes
with the press of a single DX1 Key.
• Text Block Macros store text of virtually any length to be inserted directly into your documents.
• Program/File/URL Launch Macros open your favorite software, file, or website by pushing a DX1 Key.
The Macro Type is defined when the Macro is first created.
Every Macro also has a Macro Name that is defined during creation. The Macro Name is a short label that allows you to identify the Macro by its function. For example, if you make a Multi Key Macro to copy text (Ctrl + C), you might give it the Macro Name “Copy text.” You can name your Macros any way that makes sense to you. Ergodex Manager allows you to edit or change the Type and Name of a Macro at any time.
Single Key Macros
The most basic Macro Type is the Single Key Macro. Single Key Macros duplicate the behavior of any key on your regular keyboard. For example, if you assign a DX1 Key with a Single Key Macro of the “Q “ key, it functions just like the “Q” key on your regular keyboard. Single Key Macros, like all DX1 Macros, do not interfere with the operation of your regular keyboard. You can think of a DX1 Key with a Single Key Macro as a cloned keyboard key that can be moved.
Single Key Macros are particularly useful for programs that use single keyboard keys for input commands, including graphic editing programs and games.
Multi Key Macros
Multi Key Macros combine a sequence of keystrokes into a single logical group. Multi Key Macros can range from short simple key combinations to long complex key sequences. For example, you might use Multi Key Macros to simplify keyboard shortcuts for a word processor or create a precisely timed script for a game. Multi Key Macros offer nearly unlimited flexibility for controlling your programs.
Multi Key Macros also allow you to have precise control over the playback rate, or Timing, of the keystroke sequence. When you create a Multi Key Macro from your keyboard, there naturally is a time delay between each key that you press. When you record a Multi Key Macro with your regular keyboard, Ergodex Manager automatically captures the exact rate at which you type each key. The information includes the specific time each key is pressed Down and when it comes back Up. The intervals between key presses in a Multi Key Macro can be a short as a few milliseconds, or as long as five minutes.
Ergodex Manager provides the option of playing a Multi Key Macro with or without its associated timing. When a Multi Key Macro is specified to Use Timing, the keystrokes are played back with the exact time delays recorded. If you deselect the Use Timing option of a Multi Key Macro, the key sequence is played back in a single rapid burst.
Concepts & Definitions
Page 18
18
Each Multi Key Macro stores its own timing settings; you may use both timed and untimed Multi Key Macros in the same program. Ergodex Manager allows you to edit the precise timing characteristics of every Multi Key Macro. A graphical interface allows you to edit the timing between every key press event in your Macro.
The timing option you use with your Multi Key Macros depends on your particular application. For simple key commands in applications that do not place large demands on your computer, it is usually best to use untimed Macros. For example, if you wanted to create a simple Cut (Ctrl + X) or Paste (Ctrl +V) Macro to use in a word processor, it is usually acceptable to turn the timing option off to get the fastest response. However, if you wanted to create a complex sequence of key commands that required opening multiple option windows in the same word processor, it might be necessary to create a Macro with the timing option enabled. Often there is a small delay between when a program receives a command and when it is able to respond. If you chain a bunch of commands together you might overrun the ability of your program to keep up. In these cases, you may find that adding a small time delay (30 to 100 ms) between key events allows the program you are using to process the Macro while still keeping the overall playback time reasonably short. You might need to experiment with the exact timing that works on your particular computer/program combination.
We have found that most modern computer games require that you use at least a small time delay (~30 ms) between key events in your Macros. This is due to the way that games process key information under Windows®. If you attempt to play an untimed Multi Key Macro in a game, Ergodex Manager plays the sequence so quickly that the game might miss some of the keystroke events, causing unexpected behavior. The easiest way to create fast executing Macros for games is to record them with timing, then edit the Macro to reduce (but not eliminate) the time between key presses. See the section on editing Macros for more information.
Multi Key Macros offer an advanced feature that lets you play one key sequence when your press a DX1 Key and a second key sequence when you release the same DX1 Key. This Press/Release option allows you to fine tune the playback of your Multi Key Macro.
The option is particularly useful in games. For example, you might create a Macro that switches to binoculars and zooms in when you press a DX1 Key, and then zooms out and switches back to a weapon when you release the Key.
Text Block Macros
Text Block Macros allow you to insert text information into a document with a single DX1 Key press. For example, you could use a Text Block Macro to insert your name and address into a word processing document, an email program, or a web page. The assigned text can be as short as a single word or many pages long. There is no timing associated with the playback of text block Macros; the text is inserted almost instantly at the current text cursor location.
Program/File/URL Launch Macros
Program/File/URL Launch Macros allow you to open or launch your favorite programs, files or web site by pressing a DX1 Key. You can direct the Macro to open any specific file or program on your computer, or a website that you want to visit. If you provide an Internet address (the URL), Ergodex Manager will automatically open your default web browser and navigate to the specified web site.
Categories
You will most likely create many different Macros for each of the programs you use often. Categories allow you to organize your Macros for a particular program within Ergodex Manager. You can use Categories to group similar Macros together. You can think of a Category as a folder to hold similar Macros. Example Categories might include: File, Tools, Weapons, Functions, Play, Actions, and Recorded Macros. You may create or remove a Category in Ergodex Manager at any time, and Categories can be empty.
If you record Macros from within your programs, Ergodex Manager will automatically add the Macro to either a Recorded Single Keys or Recorded Macros Category. You may move a recorded Macro to a different Category at any time.
Concepts & Definitions
Page 19
19
Program Profiles
Most of the programs you use are probably quite different from each other in terms of the commands and functions that they offer. As a result, the set of Macros that you use for each program is likely to be different. When you switch from one program to another, typically you will want a different set of Macros. Ergodex Manager keeps track of Macros for each program with Program Profiles.
A Program Profile or a Profile is a collection of Macros that works with one particular program, such as a word processing program or a game. For each program you use, the DX1 Input System looks for a Profile specifically associated with that program. The Profile contains the Macros and Key assignments to be used with your DX1 Keys.
Thus, each program on your computer may have its own Profile or set of unique Macros associated with it. When you create a Program Profile, it is tied to a particular “.exe” file on your computer (including the path and file name). Once you create a Program Profile, you cannot change the “.exe” file that it is associated with. If you need a Profile to work with a new program “.exe”, you must first create another Profile for the new program and then copy your Macros over. Ergodex Manager provides an easy mechanism to move Macros among Profiles.
Usually, you will have several Macros within a Profile. Each Macro within a Profile will have a Macro Name to identify it. To avoid confusion, each Macro within a Profile must have a unique name. For example, you could not have two different Macros named “Copy” within the same Profile. However, you could use something like “Copy” and “Copy2” for your Macro Names. You may use the same Macro Name for Macros in separate Program Profiles.
Active and Inactive Profiles
Typically, you will have a single Program Profile for each program you use with the DX1 Input system. Sometimes, you might want to have two or more Program Profiles associated with the same program. You may add additional Profiles for a program at any time. However, only one Program Profile may be Active for a given program; the other Profiles are Inactive. Ergodex Manager will only
use the Active Profile for a particular program. You can use Ergodex Manager to select which Profile is Active for your program.
Automatic Program Profile Creation
Whenever you record a new Macro, Ergodex Manager will automatically add it to the correct Program Profile. If a Program Profile does not exist for the program you are using, Ergodex Manager will automatically create a new Profile for you. This is a very handy feature for creating Profiles for your programs.
Pre-created Program Profiles
In addition to automatically creating Profiles with the record feature, there are several ways to obtain pre-built Profiles and Macros. The DX1 installation CD has Program Profile Templates for many popular programs and games. These Profile Templates contain some basic Macros for their respective programs. A typical gaming Profile Template contains the most frequently used default Single Key Macros specified in the game’s user manual. You can choose to use one or more of these Templates as the starting point for your own Profile. Once a Profile based upon one of these pre-packaged Templates has been imported, you can add to, delete, or modify the Macros within it.
You can also import, export, and exchange your Profiles electronically with your friends. If you have created a particularly useful Profile for a program you use, you may share it with others. Ergodex will continue to add Program Profiles to our web site (www.ergodex.com) for download.
Please remember that imported Macros have the potential to cause damage to your computer system. A Macro can do anything to your computer that you can do, including changing data and deleting or installing programs. To prevent harmful or malicious Macros from running on your machine, you should only use Profiles and Macros from sources that you trust. Make sure you examine and understand any Macros that you import before using them.
Concepts & Definitions
Page 20
20
After using the DX1 for a while, you will have several Profiles on your computer, each with its own set of Macros, and each corresponding to a particular program. Ergodex Manager is “program aware,” it knows which program you are using, and will automatically load the Profile for the active program. Whenever you switch to a different program (for example, by clicking on the task bar or using “Alt-Tab”), Ergodex Manager automatically switches Profiles (if any).
The Global Profile
What happens if you have a Macro that you want to use in several programs? For example, it might be useful to have a Text Block Macro that inserts your Name and Address whenever you press a DX1 Key. Instead of trying to copy this Macro into every one of your Program Profiles, you could use the Global Profile. The Global Profile is a unique Profile provided within Ergodex Manager. Unlike other Program Profiles that only work with a single program, Macros assigned under the Global Profile work in every program on your computer. The Global Profile comes with some system related Macros, such as Browser, Email, and Volume commands. Although these pre-packaged Macros are read-only and may not be deleted, you can add your own Macros to the Global Profile. Any Macros you add to the Global Profile can be edited or removed at any time.
Global Profiles serve two special purposes. First, Global Profiles can be used as defaults for programs that do not have their own Profiles. For example, if you do not want to create a separate Profile for your word processing program, the DX1 Keys will use the Macros you have assigned in the Global Profile.
Second, Global Profiles can be used as default settings in other Program Profiles. For example, assume you have DX1 Key 15 assigned as VolumeMute in the Global Profile. You also have a Profile for Wordpad®, where various DX1 Keys are assigned Macros. If you do not have a Macro assigned to DX1 Key 15 in your Wordpad® Profile, the Key will take its Macro setting from your Global Profile configuration and contain the VolumeMute Macro. You can always override the Macro assignments made under the Global Profile within any Program Profile. Overriding a Global Macro assignment will only affect the Key assignment in the particular Profile. The local override will not affect other Profiles.
Users
What happens if more than one person uses your computer? How do you keep each person’s Program Profiles separate? Ergodex Manager provides a way to manage separate Users on the same computer.
When you install Ergodex Manager, it creates the first User with the name you provide. You may add additional Users in Ergodex Manager at any time. Each User in Ergodex Manager can have a completely different set of Program Profiles and Macros. There is only active User at a time; you activate Users from within Ergodex Manager. The name of the currently active User is always displayed in the middle of the title bar of Ergodex Manager. Ergodex Manager uses the Profiles and Macros from the active User. Each User has its own Global Profile.
Note: There is no relationship between DX1 Users and “users” of your operating system, such as administrator, guest, root or other system defined users.
Hierarchy Summary
The above elements constitute the important elements in DX1 Input System hierarchy:
Ergodex Manager contains one or more Users.
Users contain one or more Program Profiles.
Program Profiles contain one or more Categories.
Categories contain individual Macros.
Macros are assigned to individual DX1 Keys.
DX1 Keys are placed on the DX1 Pad to control
your programs.
Concepts & Definitions
Page 21
21
Keeping Track of Everything
After designing your perfect Key layout and assigning all your powerful Macros, how do you keep track of your creation? Well, many people stop there, happy to have an interface exactly the way they like it. However, the DX1 Input System offers more features to customize the display of your Key layout.
Included with your DX1 Input system are two sheets of adhesive Key Labels. The Key Labels contain many icons that you can use to indicate the function of your DX1 Keys. There also are blank labels that you can write on with a ballpoint pen to make your own labels.
Apply Key Labels to identify your DX1 Keys
To further customize you DX1 Pad, Ergodex Manager provides a utility to design and print Skins that you can place underneath your Key Tray to label your DX1 Keys and display your own graphics. You can create plain Skins that simply call out the function of each of your Keys or you can import graphics (“.bmp”, “.jpg”, and “.gif” images) to completely customize the background of your Key layout.
In the Skin creation utility, Ergodex Manager displays a virtual DX1 Pad on your screen. You can drag icons representing your DX1 Keys onto the virtual Pad and arrange them as they are on your actual Pad.
Each Skin you create is associated with one of your Profiles; you can create a different Skin for each program you use. Skin information is saved with your Profile, and can be edited and exported to share with your friends.
Create and print paper Skins for your Profiles.
Concepts & Definitions
Page 22
22
Ergodex Manager Main Screen
Menu
A
ctive User
Connection Status
Help Ba
r
Program Profile
Selection Box
Macro Lis
t
Key Assignment Table
Category/Macro View
Ergodex Manager
Overview
Page 23
23
Ergodex Manager
Ergodex Manager is the core of the DX1 Input System. This software package has many functions, including: communicating with the DX1 pad; tracking the currently active program; creating and managing Users, Profiles, Categories, and Macros; assigning Macros to DX1 Keys; importing and exporting Profiles; and editing custom Skins. Ergodex Manager must be running whenever you want to use the DX1 Input System with your computer. Ergodex Manager will load automatically each time you start your computer. There are two parts to Ergodex Manager, the graphical interface and the runtime component.
The graphical interface lets you configure your DX1 Pad, manages and displays your Profiles and Categories, provides Macro editing and management, and lets you assign Macros to DX1 Keys. You can launch the Ergodex Manager graphical interface in any of the following four ways:
• Pressing the button next to the hand icon on the DX1 Pad
Note: This will only work if you are already running Ergodex
Manager and your Pad is plugged in. Some programs, including many games, do not release control of the Windows ® Desktop; you will need to exit these programs before you can open the Ergodex Manager graphical interface.
• Double-clicking on the Ergodex Manager icon on your desktop
• Right clicking on the Ergodex hand icon in the system tray and
selecting “Open Ergodex Manager”
• From the Start menu, select “Programs > Ergodex > Ergodex Manager”
Whenever you open the Ergodex Manager graphical interface, the runtime program (if not already running) is also launched automatically. The runtime program operates in the background and communicates with the Pad and DX1 Keys according to your Profiles. The runtime program keeps the hand icon visible in the Windows® System Tray when it is running. If the blue hand icon is visible in the System Tray, the Pad is functioning normally. If there is a red “X” across the hand icon, the Pad is either disconnected or not functioning properly. When you close the Ergodex Manager graphical interface, the runtime program continues to operate, allowing you to use the DX1 Pad without keeping the interface open on your desktop. If you need to close Ergodex Manager completely, right click on the hand in the System Tray and select “Exit-Shutdown Pad.” This will close both components of Ergodex Manager. You will need to restart Ergodex Manager before using your Pad.
The figure on the previous page shows the main section of Ergodex Manager. The currently Active User is shown in the center of the window title bar. The currently displayed Program Profile is displayed in the Program Profile Selection Box.
You can change the currently displayed Program Profile by clicking on the down arrow and selecting from the list.
Press to launch the Ergodex
Manger graphical interface
Ergodex Manager
Overview
Page 24
24
Below the Program Profile Selection Box is the Macro List. All the Macros for the displayed Program Profile are shown in the Macro List, grouped into Categories.
The Categories are displayed in bold and have small triangular buttons to their left that can be clicked to expand or contract their contents. Expanding a Category reveals all the Macros within that Category. Contracting a Category will hide its associated Macros in the Macro List. You can also double-click a Category Name to expand or contract a Category. Empty Categories are grayed out and will not expand.
Macros appear in the Macro List as entries underneath Categories. As you drag your mouse over the Macro List, the Macros beneath your mouse cursor will change into 3D-style buttons. Single clicking on a Macro Name in the Macro List will select the Macro. Double­clicking on a Macro Name will open the Macro Edit W indow for the Macro.
The Macro List also displays any DX1 Keys that have been assigned with a Macro. Each Macro may be assigned to up to three separate DX1 Keys. If a Macro is assigned to more than one DX1 Key, moving the cursor over the right side of a Macro in the Macro List reveals all of its Key assignments.
Moving the cursor over the “Insert Bitmap” Macro here reveals that the Macro is assigned to DX1 Keys 1, 2, and 18.
The Category/Macro View region displays summary details of the currently selected Macro or Category. Single-clicking any Macro in the Macro List will select the Macro and display its information in the Category/Macro View.
The Category/Macro View displays the Macro Name, Category, Macro Type, Any Assigned DX1 Keys, and a Description of the Macro.
Underneath the Category/Macro View is the Key Assignment Table. This Table contains a grid of 25 Keys representing the actual DX1 Keys. Each Key image includes the Key number and its associated Macro, if any. The two tabs at the top of the Key Table let you switch the view between DX1 Keys 1 to 25 and DX1 Keys 26 to 50 (available as an add on package).
This close up shows that Key 17 is not assigned a Macro, and Key 18 is assigned the “Insert Bitmap” Macro.
Expanded Category
Contracted Category
Macro
Ergodex Manager
Overview
Page 25
25
You can select a DX1 Key by clicking on its image in the Key Assignment Table. You can also select a DX1 Key by pressing the corresponding Key on your Pad. Selecting a Key will automatically select and show any associated Macro in the Category/Macro View region. This feature is useful if you want to quickly check the function of one of your DX1 Keys. You can open Ergodex Manager and press the DX1 Key in question on your Pad to see its Macro assignments in the current Profile.
Here, pressing Key 18 on the Pad selects the corresponding Key in the Key Assignment Table, and selects the assigned Macro “Insert Bitmap”. The Key images in the Table will animate as you press the Keys on the Pad.
At the bottom of the Ergodex Manager Main Screen is a Help Bar. The Help Bar provides useful information related to your current actions in Ergodex Manager.
To the right of the Help Bar is the Connection Status icon. When your DX1 Pad is connected and working properly, a picture of a USB plug will be displayed. If your Pad is disconnected, a red “x” will appear over the USB plug.
Pad Connected Pad Disconnected
At the top right corner of the Ergodex Manager Main Screen is the Menu. The Menu is used to control the setting and functions of Ergodex Manager.
Ergodex Manager Menu
Along with the Main Screen view, Ergodex Manager provides a Skin view that allows you to create, edit, and print Skins for your Program Profiles. To make a Skin, first select the Profile (in the Program Profile Selection Box) for which you would like to use. Next, select “View > Skin View” from the Menu.
The Skin view is organized differently from the Main view. The list to the left of the Skin view represents the DX1 Keys and shows their currently assigned Macros, if any. The right side of the window represents a virtual DX1 Pad. You can drag the DX1 Key images onto this area, creating Footprints of the Keys. You can also select an image or picture as a background for this template. To navigate back to the Main Screen view, select “View > Main View.”
Ergodex Manager Skin View
Ergodex Manager
Overview
Page 26
26
Ergodex Manager provides a way to manage multiple Users on the same computer. Each User can have unique Profiles, Categories, and Macros for the DX1 Input System. Only one User is active at a time; Ergodex Manager will use the Program Profiles and Macro assignments from the active User.
Creating New Users
When you install Ergodex Manger, a single User is created. You can add additional Users by selecting “File > New > Users” from the Ergodex Manager Menu. A unique User Name is required for each User on your computer.
Switching the Active User
The currently active User Name is always displayed in the center of the Ergodex Manger title bar. You can change the active User by selecting “File > Change User” from the Ergodex Menu. Select from the list of available Users and click “Select”. Ergodex Manager will now use the Program Profiles and Macro Assignments from the User you activate.
Changing the Default User
If you have more than one User in Ergodex Manager, one of the Users will be set as the Default User. On startup (such as when you start your computer) Ergodex Manager will activate the Default User. You may set the currently active User to the Default User by selecting “Actions > Users > Mark as Default” from the Ergodex Manger Menu.
Note: There is an option available under “File > Preferences > Profiles” that will allow Ergodex Manager to use the last active User instead of the Default User on startup.
Deleting Users
You can remove a User from Ergodex Manager by selecting “Edit > Actions > Users > Delete User” from the Ergodex Manager Menu. When a User is deleted, all Profiles, Categories, and Macros for that User are removed from your computer. There must always be at least one active User in Ergodex Manager, and you cannot delete a currently active User. If you want to delete the currently active User, you must first activate another User.
Users
Page 27
27
Program Profiles
Each User in Ergodex Manger will have one or more Program Profiles. Each Profile stores Macros that work with a specific program on your computer. The Profile also stores the DX1 Key assignments for its Macros. You will typically have one Program Profile for each program that you use with the DX1 Input System. Whenever you use a program, Ergodex Manager will load the Macro Assignments from the corresponding Program Profile (if any).
Profiles for the active User are listed in the Program Profile Selection Box on the Ergodex Manager Main Screen. To avoid confusion, every Program Profile (under a particular User) must have a unique Profile Name.
Each Program Profile is associated with only one program on your computer. A program (a game, word processor, web browser,
etc.) is identified by both its path and filename. The path is the directory location where the program resides on your computer (e.g. “C:\Program Files\WordProcessor\”). The filename is the “.exe” file for your program (e.g. “WordProcessor.exe”). Ergodex Manager uses the path and the filename of your program to determine which Program Profile to use. Fortunately, Ergodex Manager provides some helpful tools to associate Profiles with the programs on your computer.
Once you create a Program Profile and associate it with a specific program, you cannot change this link. However, if you need to use Macros from an existing Profile with a new program, you can easily create a new Program Profile and import the Macros you want.
A Profile can only be made for programs that have a stable “.exe” file on your computer. If you need to use the DX1 Input System with “temporary” programs (like some Flash games), you will probably need to use the Global Profile discussed below.
You can have more than one Profile for a program, but only one may be active. Inactive Program Profiles are displayed in italics in the Program Profile Selection Box. To activate a Profile, first select the Profile in the Selection Box then select “Edit > Actions > Profiles > Set Active” from the Ergodex Manager Menu.
Only one Profile may be active for a particular program. Inactive Program Profiles appear in italics in the Program Profile Selection Box.
The Global Profile
In addition to any Program Profiles, each User in Ergodex Manager has one Global Profile. The Global Profile allows you to assign Macros that will play in any program. Unlike Program Profiles, the Global Profile is not associated with a particular “.exe” file.
If the program you are using does not have an associated Profile, Ergodex Manager will use the Macro assignments (if any) from the Global Profile. If the program you are using does have an associated Profile, Ergodex Manager will use the Global Profile Macros for any DX1 Keys without assignments in the Profile. Basically, Macro Assignments made in the Global Profile will work unless they are “overridden” in a Program Profile. Macros that are assigned to DX1 Keys in the Global Profile appear with a small globe icon to the left of the Macro Name in the Key Assignment Table.
Using the Global Profile is optional. If you do not assign any Macros under the Global Profile, Ergodex Manager will not use it.
Profiles
Page 28
28
Creating Program Profiles
Program Profiles contain Macros and DX1 Key Assignments for a particular program. Usually, you create a Program Profile for each program you want to use with the DX1 Input System.
Automatically Creating a Profile
Whenever you record a Macro in a program that is not already associated with a Program Profile, Ergodex Manager creates a new Profile for you. Your recorded Macro (and the DX1 Key to which it is assigned) is automatically added to the new Profile. Automatically creating Profiles is a useful way to work with the DX1 Input System. You do not need to manage any of the details. The Macro record and assign will work whenever the program is active. The “Macros” section of this User Guide describes how to record Macros directly from within a program.
Manually Creating a Profile
You can manually create a new Program Profile from within Ergodex Manager. Selecting “File > New > Program Profile” from the Ergodex Manager Menu displays the “Create a New Program Profile” dialog box. There are several ways to create a Profile.
Select from a list of programs installed on your computer - You can create a new Profile by selecting from a list of installed programs on your computer. Ergodex Manager shows a list of many (not necessarily all) of the available programs. Select your program from this list (if it is available) and click “Next.” Ergodex Manager will automatically find the path and filename of the program for you. When prompted enter a Profile Name and click Finish to create the new Profile.
Using this option frees you from the hassle of searching for the exact location of a particular program file. If the program you are looking for is not in this list, you will need to specify its location using the “Browse for an “.exe” option.
Browse for an “.exe” - You can browse through your hard disk files and select the program “.exe” file for which a Profile is desired. Once you have selected an “.exe” file, enter a Profile Name and click Finish to create the new Profile.
Profiles
Page 29
29
Make a copy of an existing Profile – This option lets you create a new Program Profile by copying an existing Profile. You can select a Profile from any User, including the currently active User.
The “Existing Profile” area allows you to select the Profile you want to copy. Select the User that contains the Profile, and then the Profile itself. Next, in the “New Profile” area provide a unique Profile Name for the new Program Profile. The “Keep Key Assignments” option allows you to retain the DX1 Key assignments of the copied Profile.
If you try to copy a Profile to a User that already has an existing Profile for the same program, two more options will be available. You may either merge the copied and existing Profiles together, or you may create an inactive Program Profile. Click “Finish” to create the new Profile.
Use an Ergodex Template – An easy way to create a new Profile is to start with a Template. Ergodex provides Templates for many common programs. Templates contain pre-created Macros that you can assign to your DX1 Key.
Select the Template you would like to use and click “Next”
Import a Program Profile file (an “.erg” file) – You can create a new Profile by importing a Program Profile file. These files are labeled with an “.erg” extension. Importing and exporting “.erg” files lets you share your Profiles with other people using the DX1 System.
Please remember that imported Macros have the potential to cause damage to your computer system. A Macro can do anything to your computer that you can do, including changing data and deleting or installing programs. To prevent harmful or malicious Macros from running on your machine, you should only use Profiles and Macros from sources that you trust. Make sure you examine and understand any Macros that you import before using them.
Profiles
Page 30
30
View and Edit Profile Properties
Ergodex Manager allows you to view the properties of any Program Profile. First select the Profile from the Program Profile Selection Box. Next select “View > Profile Properties” from the Ergodex Manager Menu. A dialog box will display the Profile Name, the associated program name, and the program path and filename. You can only edit the Profile name. Once a Profile has been created, you cannot change the program with which it is associated. If you need a Profile for a different program, you can create a new Profile and Import the Macros from the existing Profile.
If you uninstall and reinstall a program that has an associated Program Profile, an “Update Path” button will become available. Clicking “Update Path” will allow you to redirect the Program Profile to the new program location.
Exporting Program Profiles
You can export your Profiles to share with other Users of the DX1 Input System. Program Profile files are saved with an “.erg” extension. These “.erg” files can then be used by you or others as a basis for new Profiles.
To Export a Profile, first select the Profile in the Program Profile Selection Box. Next select “File > Export Profile” from the Menu. You will be prompted to provide the name and location for the exported file. When you click “Save,” the Profile will be exported to the disk. If you have a Skin associated with the Profile, you will be asked if you want to include the Skin with the exported Profile.
To ensure they continue to work as designed, exported Profiles remain associated the original program “.exe” name. When you import an “.erg” file to a different computer, you may be prompted to identify the location of the “.exe” file if Ergodex Manager cannot locate it.
Global Profiles cannot be exported or imported.
Importing Program Profiles
Selecting “File > Import Profile” from the Menu lets you browse your computer for “.erg” files. Importing and Exporting Profiles allows you to share your Macros with other DX1 Input System Users. See “Import a Program Profile” file under the “Create a Profile” section.
Please remember that imported Macros have the potential to cause damage to your computer system. A Macro can do anything to your computer that you can do, including changing data and deleting or installing programs. To prevent harmful or malicious Macros from running on your machine, you should only use Profiles and Macros from sources that you trust. Make sure you examine and understand any Macros that you import before using them.
Deleting Program Profiles
To delete a Program Profile, select “Edit > Actions > Profiles > Delete Profile(s)” from the Menu. You can specify the Profile that you want to delete for any User. You can select more than one Profile by holding down the CTRL key while clicking on the Profiles to delete. Deleted Profiles are permanently removed from Ergodex Manager.
You can also delete the current Profile by right clicking the Profile Name in Program Profile Selection Box and selecting “Delete Profile.”
The Global Profile cannot be deleted from any User.
Profiles
Page 31
31
Categories allow you to group similar Macros together within a Profile.
Creating New Categories
You can create a new Category in the Macro List by selecting “File > New > Category” from the Menu. You can also create a new Category by right clicking on an existing category (or by right clicking on the empty space at the bottom of the Macro List) and choosing “Create New Category.” Each Category within a Profile must have a unique name.
Categories
Page 32
32
Creating Macros
You can create new Macros in two ways:
• Record a Macro directly from within a program.
• Compose a Macro using the Edit Macro Screen in Ergodex
Manager.
Each of these methods has advantages. Recording a Macro from within a program allows you to see the effects of your Macro immediately in the environment it will be used. If you make a mistake in your recording, you can “record over” the flawed Macro assignment with a corrected version. Recording a Macro is simple; it does not require you to interact with editing screens. Ergodex Manager will automatically organize and store your recorded Macro in the background.
Composing Macros in Ergodex Manager offers much more flexibility and some advanced options not available when Recording Macros. If you choose to compose your Macros, the exact sequence and timing of each key event is under your precise control. However, when composing Macros it is often necessary to switch back and forth between Ergodex Manager and your program to see the exact results of your edits.
Of course, it is also possible to use a combination of both methods to create your Macros. For example, it is sometimes useful to record a Macro from within your program, and then open Ergodex Manager to “fine tune” the Macro timing.
Recording Macros
To record a Macro using the DX1 Input System, you must have the Pad plugged in and operational (as described in previous sections). During Macro recording, you type keys on your regular keyboard while using a program (such as a word processor or game). Ergodex Manager automatically captures your key presses in the background and stores the recorded Macro in a Program Profile for the program you are using.
To record a Macro, you must have at least one DX1 Key placed on your Pad. Switch to the program for which you would like to create a Macro.
Make sure the program is the active window. Next, place the DX1 Pad into RECORD mode by pressing the REC button.
After you press the REC button, the Red Light on the DX1 Pad will begin blinking, and a metronome sound will play (if you have sound enabled on your computer). This blinking Red Light and the “tic - tic
- tic” sound notify you that Ergodex Manager is now recording whatever you type on your regular keyboard.
Once the Pad is in RECORD mode, you create Macros by typing one or more keys on your regular keyboard, followed by pressing a DX1 Key on your Pad. A brief “plunk” sound will indicate that you have assigned the Macro to your DX1 Key. Whatever sequence you type on your keyboard is recorded as a new Macro in a Program Profile, and this Macro is assigned to the DX1 Key that you pressed.
Blinking Red Light
Macros
Page 33
33
By default, the Pad stays in RECORD mode after you have recorded a Macro. This feature allows you to continue to create and assign Macros to your DX1 Keys. To create each Macro, first type on your regular keyboard then press a DX1 Key to which you want to assign the Macro.
When you have finished recording Macros, you can exit RECORD mode by pressing the REC button on your Pad (the Red Light will turn off and the metronome sound will stop). After exiting RECORD mode, your Macros are ready to use. Pressing the DX1 Key will play back the Macro that you recorded in your program.
Record a Single Key Macro
To record a Single Key Macro, first make sure you are in RECORD mode. Press the key you want to “clone” on your regular keyboard, and then press a DX1 Key on your Pad. A Single Key Macro will be created and assigned to that DX1 Key. Whenever you type only one key in a record sequence, Ergodex Manager automatically creates a Single Key Macro. No timing information is recorded for Single Key Macros; you control the timing directly by pressing and releasing the DX1 Key (just like a key on your regular keyboard).
Record a Multi Key Macro
To record a Multi Key Macro, first make sure you are in RECORD mode. Type a sequence of two or more keys on your regular keyboard, and then press a DX1 Key on your Pad. A Multi Key Macro will automatically be created and assigned to that DX1 Key. By default, Ergodex Manager records Multi Key Macros with timing; the Macro you record will play keystrokes back at the same rate that you originally typed them.
The Macro timing is often necessary for slow or complex programs, where the computer needs time to process one command before receiving the next command. It is also useful for many games, where the time delay between key presses is important. You may easily adjust or remove this timing from your recorded Macros using Ergodex Manager.
Advanced Recording
If you would like to record your Multi Key Macros without timing, the DX1 Input System offers some advanced features. First, you may change the default record timing mode from the Menu in Ergodex Manager. Click on “Edit > Record Macros with Timing” to toggle the record timing mode.
If “Record Macros with Timing” is checked, Multi Key Macros will be recorded with timing enabled. If it is unchecked Multi Key Macros will be recorded without timing.
You can tell which RECORD mode you are using based on the metronome “tic” sounds. Recording with timing has a slower “tic” rate (once per second) while recording without timing has a faster “tic” rate (twice per second).
Additionally, the DX1 Pad offers the ability to select which RECORD mode (with or without timing) is used based on how you press the record button. If you press the record button on your Pad normally, Ergodex Manager will enter the RECORD mode that you have specified with the ”Edit > Record Macros with Timing” option. If you press and hold the record button for 3 seconds, the other record mode will be used. Pressing the record button again while in either RECORD mode will exit the RECORD mode.
Press and hold 3 seconds to enter alternate RECORD mode
Press and release to enter default RECORD mode.
Macros
Page 34
34
When you record a Macro from within a new program, Ergodex Manager will automatically create a Program Profile for that program (if one is not already available). Ergodex Manager will then insert the Macro you recorded into the Macro List for that Profile. Recorded Macros are added to either “Recorded Macros” or “Recorded Single Keys” Categories. Ergodex Manager will automatically name your Macros (e.g. “1
st
MACRO”, “Z Key”). After recording your Macro, you can use Ergodex Manager to change the Macro Name to something more meaningful or move the Macro into another Category.
Composing Macros with Ergodex Manager
You may compose and edit Macros from within Ergodex Manager. To compose a Macro, make sure Ergodex Manager is open and is the active window on your desktop.
Before you compose a new Macro, you should first make sure that you have selected the correct Program Profile for the Macro. Display the correct Profile by selecting it from the Program Profile Selection Box. (See the section on Creating New Profiles for more information on adding new Profiles with Ergodex Manager.)
Once you have the correct Profile displayed in Ergodex Manager, you may use one of the following methods to create a new Macro:
• In the Menu, select “File > New > Macro”
• In the Menu, select “File > Wizard” and then select the “Create a
New Macro” option
• Type the keyboard shortcut “Ctrl+M”
• Right click on a Category in the Macro List and select “Add New
Macro”
• Double click on an unassigned Key Image in the Key
Assignment Table. (This method has the advantage of both creating a Macro and assigning it to a DX1 Key at the same time.)
Each of these methods will open a dialog box that will require you to provide a Macro Type, a Macro Name, and a Category for the Macro.
You must provide the Macro Type, Macro Name, and the Category to create the Macro. A Macro Description is optional; it allows you to enter a brief description of the Macro function.
The Category list box will display the currently active Category with a drop down arrow for changing to another category (if any). You can also create a new Category by typing in the name of a Category that does not already exist.
When you click “Finish,” an empty Macro with the Name and Type you specified will appear in the Macro List. The Edit Macro dialog box will open to allow you to specify the new Macro function.
Macros
Page 35
35
Edit Macro Dialog Box
You can use the Edit Macro Dialog Box to provide the information for a new Macro, or to edit the function of an existing Macro.
The Edit Macro dialog box allows you to specify all the characteristics of a Macro, including the Type, Name, Category, Macro Sequence, Description, playback timing, and Press/Release properties. Also, this dialog box can be used to view additional information about the Macro. You can see DX1 Key assignments (if any), as well as Macro data and timing information from several views. Each Macro Type has a unique set of Macro data.
You can open the Edit Macro dialog box by double-clicking an existing Macro, through the “Edit > Macro” command, or by using one of the “Create New Macro” options. The Edit Macro dialog box lets you provide data for a new Macro, edit an existing Macro or view a Macro’s properties. The dialog box appears over the Key Assignment Table in the Main Screen. The Edit Macro dialog box always points to the Macro that is currently being created or edited.
The dialog box has many components, and you can edit Macro information in several different ways.
The top left corner of the dialog box shows the Macro Name and Category. To the right of the Macro Name is a box that shows the current DX1 Keys that are assigned with this Macro. At the bottom of the dialog box is the Macro description.
The area in the middle of the dialog box labeled “Key Action” represents the Macro’s data and defines its behavior. The information shown here depends upon the current Macro Type. The four buttons at the bottom of this area allow you to change the current Macro to another Macro Type.
Edit Macro Dialog Box – Single Key Macro
A Single Key Macro needs to know which key from the regular keyboard it is expected to reproduce.
For a Single Key Macro, a Key Image appears in the middle of the dialog box and represents the keyboard key that is currently assigned to this Macro. The buttons to the right allow you to assign a keyboard key using your keyboard or by picking from a list of “special” keys. “Special” keys include keys that are usually used for window navigation or may be difficult to insert from your regular keyboard. For example, the “Enter” key is included under “special” keys, because pressing the Enter will normally dismiss a dialog box window.
Macros
Page 36
36
Edit Macro Dialog Box – Multi Key Macro
For a Multiple Key Macro, you can insert the Macro sequence in the yellow “Play on Press” edit box. For the example here, the keys “H” “E” “L” “L” and “O” were entered from a regular keyboard.
The “Play on Press” edit box displays the keystroke sequence that will play when you play this Macro. Click “Insert Special” to insert navigational keys from your keyboard. For example, the left/right arrow keys on your keyboard will move the edit cursor left and right in the “Play on Press” edit box. If you wanted to insert a left or right arrow key into your Macro sequence, you need to select it from the “Insert Special" list.
The Key Action provides three potential views of your Macro. If the Macro does not use timing (the “Use Timing” option in the Key Action window is unchecked) only the standard “Macro View” will be available.
If the Macro is specified to use timing (the “Use Timing” option in the Key Action window is checked), the Key Action area will display two additional view options for your Macro, “Timed Macro View” and “Timeline View.” You can switch between the three views by clicking the corresponding tabs in the Key Action area.
The Timed Macro View shows the precise sequence of keystrokes (both down and up) that constitute the Macro. Keystroke presses are shown with green down arrows; keystroke releases are shown with red up arrows.
Following each keystroke event, there is a clock icon that displays the precise time delay before the next keystroke event in your Macro. Clicking on the time delay will open an edit window that lets you specify a time delay between 1 millisecond and 5 minutes.
Macros
Page 37
37
Right clicking a clock icon will display a useful list of time editing shortcuts that allow you copy, paste and set the timing for the Entire Macro.
The Timeline View graphically displays the time of each keystroke event. Using the Timeline View, you can see the relative timing between each of the keystroke events.
You can drag keystroke events along the timeline to adjust the Macro timing. Click on the “plus” and “minus” magnifying glass icons with the to adjust the zoom level of the timeline.
It is important to note that each of the timed Macro views (Macro View, Timed Macro View, and Timeline View) all represent the same Macro. You may edit the Macro in any of these three views.
In all three Multi Key Macro views you may edit the order of the keystroke events by dragging a key image to another position. Of course, in the Timed Macro View, Ergodex Manager will prevent you from making impossible Macros combinations (e.g., A keystroke must have a “down event” before it can have an “up event.”)
Press/Release Macros
Press/Release Macros allow you to play one sequence of keystrokes when you press a DX1 Key, and a second sequence of keystrokes when you release the DX1 Key. Checking the “Use Press/Release” Macro option in the Key Action displays a “Play on Release” edit box. This sequence will play when you release the DX1 Key assigned with this Macro. The “Play on Release” edit box works the same as the “Play on Press” edit box discussed in this section.
Macros
Page 38
38
Edit Macro Dialog Box – Text Block Macro
The Text Block Macro lets you provide the text that is inserted into a form or document when the Macro is played. You can type in the space provided, or copy and paste a block of text from another document. Text Block Macros do not contain timing; text is inserted instantly.
Edit Macro Dialog Box – Program/File/URL Launch Macro
The Program/File/URL Launch Macro (or Launch Macro) allows you to specify a program, a file, or a web site to open whenever the Macro is played. To open a file or program, you provide the full path and filename to the file. To launch a web site, you provide the web site address (called the URL) that you wish to launch. The Macro area provides a box to type in the required information. You can also use the browse button to find a program or file on the disk.
You can edit the properties of a Macro at any time, including the Macro Type. Whenever you make a change to a Macro in the Macro Edit dialog box, the “Accept Changes” in the lower right hand corner of the dialog box will become available. Your edits will only take effect after you click “Accept Changes.” If you do not want to keep the changes you made to your Macro, hit “Cancel” to close the Macro Edit dialog box.
Assigning Macros
Assigning a Macro associates the Macro with a specific DX1 Key (for a given Program Profile). When you press the DX1 Key in the program for which you have a Profile, the corresponding Macro will play. When you first install the DX1 Input System, there are no Macros assigned to any of your DX1 Keys. Macros can be assigned to DX1 Keys in several ways. Within Ergodex Manager, you can drag a Macro and drop it onto a Key image in the Key Assignment table. Alternately, you can drag a Key image from the table and drop it onto a Macro in the Macro list.
Macros
Page 39
39
Whenever a Macro is assigned to a DX1 Key, the Key number will appear to the right of the Macro in the Macro List. Likewise, the Macro name will appear over the assigned DX1 Key. In the example shown below, the Macro “Save As” has been assigned to DX1 Key number 1.
If a DX1 Key already has a Macro assigned to it, and you drag and drop another Macro onto it, the new Macro replaces the old one. The Key image will have a new caption representing the new Macro name. The same Macro can be assigned to up to three DX1 Keys.
Macros can also be assigned to Keys by several other methods. You can right click on a Macro Name in the Macro List and choose “Assign Macro” to select from a list of DX1 Keys. Alternately, you can right click on a DX1 Key in the Key Assignment Table to select from a list of available Macros. As was shown in the Recording Macros section, DX1 Keys are automatically assigned when you record Macros directly from within a program.
Unassigning Macros
Unassigning a Macro removes the link between the Macro and a DX1 Key within a Profile. When you unassign a Macro, the Macro remains in the Macro List of the Profile, but it will no longer play when you press the Key. Macros assigned to DX1 Keys can be unassigned by dragging the Macro away from the Key Image in the Key Assignment Table.
Drag the Macro Name off the Key Image to unassign a Macro
You can also unassign a Macro by selecting it and choosing “Actions > Keys > Unassign” from the Menu. Alternately, can also right click on a Macro in the Key Assignment Table and choose “Unassign.” The shortcut for unassigning a selected Macro is “Ctrl + U”
DX1 Keys are automatically reassigned when you record a new Macro over them. The Macro that you replace will remain available in the Macro List, but the newly recorded Macro will be assigned to the DX1 Key.
Playing Macros
Once you have created and assigned your Macro to a DX1 Key, you can play the Macro by pressing the DX1 Key when running the program you have specified. Ergodex Manager keeps track of all your Macro assignments, and will play the assigned Macro based upon the currently active program on your computer. For example,
Macros
Page 40
40
you might assign a DX1 Key with a “Copy” Macro in a Profile for a word processing program. You might assign a “Jump” Macro to the same DX1 Key in a Profile for a game. When you are using the word processor and you press the DX1 Key, the “Copy” Macro will play. Likewise, whenever you are running the game program, pressing the DX1 Key will play the “Jump” Macro. Ergodex Manager automatically switches the Program Profile and the associated Macros depending on the program that is active on your computer.
You may press multiple DX1 Keys if they are assigned Single Key Macros. In fact, the DX1 Input System will register up to six simultaneous DX1 Key presses. (Most regular keyboards only support three or four simultaneous key presses, which can be a problem in some games.)
Although you may use up to six simultaneous Single Key Macros, you may only play one Multi Key Macro at a time. This feature prevents your Multi Key Macros from “colliding” and causing unintended results. For example, if you played two Multi Key Macros simultaneously, and one of them included a “Control” or “Shift” keystroke, the other Macro function could change dramatically. Ergodex Manager avoids this problem by blocking a second Multi Key Macro when another Multi Key Macro is already playing. Once the first Macro is finished, you can play the second Macro.
Note that playing a Multi Key Macros does not interfere with playing Single Key Macros at the same time. If you are playing a game, you can continue to use any Single Key Macros (to move or jump, for example) while a Multi Key Macro is also playing.
Whenever a timed Multi Key Macro is playing, the Green Light on your DX1 Pad will pulse. This pulsing is a signal that the Multi Key Macro is still playing. When the Green Light stops pulsing, the Multi Key Macro has finished playing.
Stopping Macros
Ergodex Manager allows you to create very long and complex Multi Key Macros with precise control over the playback timing. However, what happens if you want to stop your Multi Key Macro early? Ergodex Manager provides a number of ways to stop a Multi Key Macro.
One way to stop a Multi Key Macro is to press either the “Escape” key or the “Apps” key on your regular keyboard. (The “Apps” key is usually in the lower right hand corner of your regular keyboard, next to the Right “Ctrl” key. It usually has a menu select icon of some kind on it.)
Pressing either the “Esc” or “Apps” keys on your regular keyboard will halt a Multi Key Macro.
Another way to stop a Macro early is to press a DX1 Key assigned either “Esc” or “Apps” with a Single Key Macro. Since Single Key Macros perform identically to regular keyboard keys, pressing a DX1 Key assigned with “Esc” or “Apps” would stop the Multi Key Macro in the same way.
Finally, if pressing either the “Esc” or the “Apps” key might interfere with your program, you can assign a “Break Macro” to one of your DX1 Keys. The “Break Macro” is a special Single Key Macro that will stop a Multi Key Macro. You will find “Break Macro” in the “Insert From List” feature in the Edit Macro dialog box.
Note: Although the “Break Macro” feature is useful when pressing either the “Esc” or “Apps” key would interfere with the program you are using, there is a slight time delay between playing the “Break Macro” and stopping the Multi Key Macro. We have found that for game programs in particular, assigning the “Apps” key to a DX1 Key on your Pad is the best way to stop a Multi Key Macro.
Pulsing Green Light indicates a
timed Multi Key Macro is playing
Macros
Page 41
41
Importing Macros
Ergodex Manager lets you import Macros from the existing Profiles of any User on your computer. You can use the import Macro feature to copy Macros between Profiles. To import one or more Macros select “File > Import Macro(s)” from the Menu. A dialog box will let you choose the User and Profile for the Macros you would like to copy. A list box will display all the available Macros in that Profile.
You can now choose one or more Macros to import. If you select a single Macro, you can provide a new name for the imported Macro. If you select more than one Macro (using CTRL + click) to import, Ergodex Manager will automatically create the Macro names. Ergodex Manager uses a special merge technique to create the new Macros. If the names of any imported Macros match those already in your Profile, Ergodex Manager compares the contents of both Macros. Identical Macros are automatically removed from your Profile. If the imported Macro has a duplicate Macro Name but a different Macro keystroke sequence, Ergodex Manager will mark the imported Macro by appending an “*” to the end of the Macro Name.
Selecting the “Keep Key Assignments” option will import the DX1 Key assignments for any imported Macros. Ergodex Manager will overwrite the existing assignments (if any) on affected Keys. If this option is not selected, Ergodex Manager will only import the Macros, not the DX1 Key assignments.
You can import all of the Macros from a Profile by selecting the “Import All” option.
Finding Macros
Using the DX1 Input System can quickly produce a large number of Macros. Ergodex Manager provides a very powerful way of searching for a Macro within a Program Profile. Select “Edit > Find Macro” from the Menu to open a Macro search dialog box.
You can search for a Macro by Name or by the contents of the Macro keystroke sequence. If you choose to enter a Key pattern, Ergodex Manager will identify any Macros in the current Profile that contain that pattern.
Macros
Page 42
42
Deleting Macros
You can delete Macros by first selecting a Macro. Next select “Actions > Macro > Delete” from the Menu. You may also delete a Macro by right clicking on the Macro Name in the Macro List and selecting “Delete Macro.”
Deleting a Macro permanently removes the Macro from Ergodex Manager. Deleting a Macro also removes its assignments to any DX1 Keys.
Mouse Clicks
Sometimes, when you are creating a Multi Key Macro sequence, you would like to include one or more Mouse Clicks. This is often helpful in games where mouse button clicks trigger actions that you want to include in your Macro. W hen recording a Multi Key Macro, Ergodex Manager treats the buttons and scroll wheel of your mouse just like the keys on your regular keyboard. If you click a mouse button during your recording, the action will be added to the Macro sequence. You can also add mouse click events to Macros from the Edit Macro dialog box by clicking “Insert Special.”
Important Note: When you add a mouse click to a Multi Key Macro, Ergodex Manager inserts the click into the Macro Sequence. However, no information about the mouse cursor location is recorded. If you play a Macro that contains a mouse click, Ergodex Manager will simply insert the click during playback. The effect of this mouse click may depend upon where your mouse cursor is on the desktop when the click occurs. You should not, for example, try to record a Macro by clicking on menu items in a program. This is because Ergodex Manager only records the actual clicks, not the location or action of the mouse clicks. If you want to record a Macro to select menu items in a program, you should use keyboard navigation not the mouse cursor. Mouse click recording is primarily included for game compatibility.
Mouse clicks are treated like other key press events. You can record them directly or use “Insert Special” to include them in your Macros.
Macros
Page 43
43
Ergodex Manager Wizard
Ergodex Manager has a built in Wizard that helps you configure the DX1 Input System. The Wizard will help you create a new Program Profile, Macro, Category, or User.
To use the Wizard, select “File > Wizard” from the Ergodex Manager Menu. The Wizard will let you choose what you want to do, and then guide you through the appropriate steps.
Please see the Users, Profiles, Categories, or Macros section of this User Guide for more information on each of these options.
Wizard
Page 44
44
A Skin is a picture that you can design and print to complement your Key Layout. A Skin is placed between the DX1 Pad and the Key Tray. You can use Skins to display the functions of your DX1 Keys or to customize the look of your Pad. Skins can include the positions of your DX1 Keys in a Key Layout and/or a graphical background.
Creating Skins
Each Skin that you create is attached to a specific Program Profile. This link allows Skins to display and use the correct DX1 Key assignment information from the corresponding Profile. You can create a separate Skin for each of your Program Profiles. To create a Skin, first display the Program Profile you want to use by selecting it from the Program Profile Selection Box. Next, select “View > Skin View” from the Ergodex Manager Menu. This will switch the Main Screen to display the Skin View utility.
Each “blue orb” in the list on the left side of the screen represents the Footprint of a DX1 Key. You can drag a Key Footprint onto the virtual Pad located in the middle of the screen. Footprints placed on the Skin are the same size (when printed) as the DX1 Keys. The
Key Footprints are circles to allow you to place your DX1 Keys in any rotation, and still cover the entire Footprint image on the Skin.
If you would like to specify the location and rotation angle of a DX1 Key, you can right click on a Footprint on the Skin and select “Show Outline”
Outlines around a Footprint allow you show the exact desired location of a DX1 Key. You can show or hide all Outlines by right clicking on the Skin and selecting “Show/Hide Outline for all Footprints”
Skins
Page 45
45
Once the Outline of a Footprint is visible, you can right click on it and select “Rotate Outline” to specify the rotation angle of the Outline. You can use the left/right arrow keys to adjust the rotation. Clicking the Footprint will exit the rotation edit mode.
You can also display the Name of the assigned Macro next to the Key Footprint. Ergodex Manager automatically supplies the Macro Name for the Key from the current Profile. To view the Macro Name, right click on a Footprint and select “Show Text.” The Macro Name will display with a connector line to the corresponding Footprint.
You can drag the Macro name to a different location. You can also edit the text color of the Macro Name by right clicking on the text and selecting “Text Color”.
You can show or hide all the Macro Names by right clicking on the Skin and selecting “Show/Hide text for all Footprints”
Ergodex Manager allows you to assign Macros to DX1 Keys from within the Skin View utility. To change the Macro assignments, right click on the Footprint and select “Assign” or “Unassign.” Changes made to Macro assignments in the Skin View utility will automatically update the Profile.
Footprints can also be locked at their locations by using the right click menu. Locking a Footprint prevents you from accidentally moving it while editing your Skin.
Skin Backgrounds
Backgrounds let you personalize your Skin by selecting an underlying image. The Ergodex Manager software contains a few basic background images to get you started. To add a background image, select “Edit > Change Skin Background” from the Menu.
The image you select will become the background for the skin. Note that every Skin you create can have a different background image. Selecting an image for one Skin will not affect any other Skin background.
Skins
Page 46
46
Background Grid
To help you align and position the Footprints, you can display a reference grid on the Skin background. To toggle the gridlines on or off, select “View > Gridlines” from the Menu.
Importing Skin Backgrounds
You can add your own images for Skin backgrounds. To import a background image, select “File > Import Skin Background” from the Menu. You can use “.bmp”, “.jpg”, or “.gif” type image files. Once imported, these images are available for use with any of the Skins you have created.
Note: When printed, a Skin is 240 mm wide by 170 mm high. (9.4” wide by 6.7” high)
Exporting Skin Backgrounds
Skin background images can be exported as image files from the Ergodex Manager software. To export a skin as an image file, select “File >Export Skin Background” from the Menu.
Copying Skin to Clipboard
If you would like to capture the current Skin image (both the background and the Footprints), you can copy the current Skin to the Windows® Clipboard. Select “Edit > Copy Skin to Clipboard” from the Menu. Once you have copied the Skin to the clipboard, you can paste and edit the image in other graphics programs.
Deleting Skin Backgrounds
Skin background images can be deleted by selecting “Edit > Delete Skin Background” from the Menu. You can only delete the currently selected Skin background. Once you delete a Skin background, it will no longer be available for use in any other Skin.
Printing Skins
Once you have created your Skin, you can print it by selecting “File > Print” from the Menu. After you have printed your Skin, you can cut or fold the paper around the Skin border, and place it between the Key Tray and the Pad.
Returning to Main Screen
To exit the Skin View utility and return to the Ergodex Manager Main Screen, select “View > Main Screen” from the Menu.
Skins
Page 47
47
The Preferences dialog box allows you to control the behavior and settings of Ergodex Manger. To open Preferences, select “File > Preferences” from the Menu. The Preferences box displays settings for both “Macros” and “Profiles.”
Macro Preferences
The Preferences provided under ”Macros” allow you to control how Ergodex Manager manages Macros.
Macro Recording Timeouts
Macro recording timeout value.
Specify the maximum duration, in seconds, of a recorded Multi Key Macro. The default duration is 3600 seconds (1 hour).
Macro recording inactivity timeout value.
Specify the maximum amount of time, in seconds, that is allowed between any two keystroke events in a Multi Key Macro. The default duration is 300 seconds (5 minutes).
Macro Recording
Record Macros with Timing.
Toggle the default RECORD mode for Ergodex Manager. If checked, recorded Macros will be created with the time delay between keystrokes that you enter. If unchecked, Macros will not include the time delay between keystrokes. Changing this setting does not change the playback timing for Macros that already exist. This option is also displayed in the Menu under “Edit > Record Macros with Timing.”
Play metronome sound while recording.
If checked, Ergodex Manager will play the “tic” sound when the Pad is in RECORD mode.
If unchecked, Ergodex Manger will not play the “tic” sound when the Pad is in RECORD mode.
Remain in RECORD mode after a valid assignment.
If checked, the Pad will stay in RECORD mode after recording a Macro. This allows you to continue recording and assigning Macros without interruption. To exit RECORD mode, press the REC button.
If unchecked, the Pad will exit RECORD mode automatically after you record a Macro.
Ergodex Manager
Preferences
Page 48
48
Allow recording over already assigned Keys.
If checked, Ergodex Manger allows you to replace Macros assigned to DX1 Keys while in RECORD mode. The replaced Macro will remain in the current Profile, but will no longer be assigned to the DX1 Key.
If unchecked you cannot assign a Macro while in RECORD mode to a DX1 Key that already has an assigned Macro.
Record mouse clicks along with keystrokes.
If checked, Ergodex Manger records Mouse button clicks in Macro sequences. Note: The position of the cursor, or the result of the mouse button click is not recorded. Only the mouse button state is recorded and played back in the Macro. See “Mouse Clicks” in the “Macros” section of this User Guide for more information.
If unchecked, Ergodex Manager does not record mouse button clicks in Macro sequences.
Macro Playback
Stop playback on program switch.
If checked, Ergodex Manager will stop any currently playing Macros if you switch away from the program that you are using.
If unchecked, Ergodex Manager will allow a Macro to finish playing even if you switch away from the program in which the Macro was started.
Profiles Preferences
The Preferences provided under ”Profiles” allow you to control how Ergodex Manager manages Profiles and Users.
Global Profiles
Use Global Profile for programs without Profiles.
If checked, Ergodex Manager will use the Global Profile Macro assignments for any program that does not have an associated Program Profile.
Ergodex Manager
Preferences
Page 49
49
If unchecked, Ergodex Manager will not use the Global Profile Macro assignments for programs without an associated Program Profile. The DX1 Keys will be unassigned while using the program.
Automatically load unassigned Keys with Global Profile Assignments.
If checked, Ergodex Manager will use the Global Profile Macro assignments for any unassigned DX1 Keys in a Program Profile.
If unchecked, Ergodex Manager will not use the Global Profile Macro assignments for any unassigned DX1 Keys in a Program Profile. Only DX1 Keys assigned in the Program Profile will have Macro assignments.
Program Profiles
Automatically create Profiles for new programs (on 1
st
valid
recording).
If checked, Ergodex Manager will automatically create a new Program Profile if the program you are using does not already have one. The new Profile will be created only if you record a new Macro while using the program.
If unchecked, Ergodex Manager will not create a new Program Profile for programs that do not have one. If you record a Macro in a program without a Profile, the Macro and DX1 Key assignment will be stored in the Global Profile.
User Settings
Start Ergodex Manager with the last active User.
If checked, on startup Ergodex Manager will remember and activate the last User to be set as active in Ergodex Manager.
If unchecked, on startup Ergodex Manager will always activate the default User.
Ergodex Manager
Preferences
Page 50
50
The Ergodex Manager Menu provides a series of commands to configure and control your DX1 Input System. The following is a brief description of the commands found in the Menu.
Main Screen Menu Commands
File Menu
File > New >Macro
(Hot Key - Ctrl + M) Create a new Macro in the current Profile.
File > New >Category (Hot Key - Ctrl + G) Create a new Category for Macros in the current Profile.
File > New > Program Profile (Hot Key - Ctrl + L) Create a new Program Profile for the current User.
File > New > User (Hot Key - Ctrl + N) Create a New User in Ergodex Manager.
File > Change User (Hot Key - Ctrl + O) Switch the currently active User in Ergodex Manager.
File > Save
(Hot Key - Ctrl + S) Ergodex Manager automatically saves any updates or changes you make to Users, Profiles, Categories, Macros, and Skins. Accumulated changes are normally written to your hard drive when you close the Ergodex Manager graphical interface. This command forces Ergodex Manager to write changes before you close the interface.
File > Import Profile (Hot Key - Ctrl + I) Import a Program Profile “.erg” file to the current User.
Please remember that imported Macros have the potential to cause damage to your computer system. A Macro can do anything to your computer that you can do, including changing data and deleting or installing programs. To prevent harmful or malicious Macros from running on your machine, you should only use Profiles and Macros from sources that you trust. Make sure you examine and understand any Macros that you import before using them.
File > Import Macro(s) (Hot Key - Ctrl + T) Import one or more existing Macros to the current Program Profile.
File > Export Profile (Hot Key - Ctrl + E) Export the current Program Profile as an “.erg” file.
File > Wizard (Hot Key - Ctrl + W) Launch the Ergodex Wizard to perform common tasks.
File > Preferences (Hot Key - Ctrl + R) Open the Ergodex Manager Preferences screen which allows you to control the behavior of Ergodex Manager.
File > Close – Keep Pad Running
Close the Ergodex Manager graphical interface. This is the normal method of closing the Main Screen. Ergodex Manager will continue to run in the background and allow you to use the DX1 Input System with programs on your computer. This command is identical to clicking the close button in the upper left hand corner of the Ergodex Manager Main Screen (the “x” button).
File > Exit – Shutdown Pad
Exit Ergodex Manager. Closes both the graphical interface and runtime component of Ergodex Manager. You will need to restart Ergodex Manager before using your DX1 Input System.
Menu Commands
Page 51
51
Edit Menu
Edit > Find > Macro
(Hot Key - Ctrl + F) Search for a Macro in the current Profile by Name or keystroke sequence.
Edit > Macro Edit the currently selected Macro in the Edit Macro dialog box.
Edit > Profile Name
Edit the current Program Profile Name.
Edit > Category Name
Edit the name of the currently selected Category.
Edit > Actions > Profiles > Add Profile
(Hot Key - Ctrl + L) Add a new Program Profile to the currently active User.
Edit > Actions > Profiles > Delete Profile(s) Delete one or more Program Profiles.
Edit > Actions > Profiles > Set Active
Activate the currently displayed Program Profile. Used if you have more than one Program Profile associated with the same program on your computer. Only one Program Profile can be active for a given program.
Edit > Actions > Users > Add New User
(Hot Key - Ctrl + N) Create a New User in Ergodex Manager.
Edit > Actions > Users > Delete a User Delete a User from Ergodex Manager. Ergodex Manager must contain at least one User.
Edit > Actions > Users > Set Current User as Default
Set the current User as the default User. Ergodex Manager activates the Default User at startup.
Edit > Actions > Macros > Add New
(Hot Key - Ctrl + M) Create a new Macro in the current Profile.
Edit > Actions > Macros > Delete
(Hot Key - Ctrl + D) Delete the currently selected Macro.
Edit > Actions > Macros > Import (copy)
(Hot Key - Ctrl + T) Import a Macro from an existing Program Profile.
Edit > Actions > Keys > Unassign
(Hot Key - Ctrl + U) Unassign the Macro from the currently selected DX1 Key.
Edit > Record Macros with Timing
Toggle the default RECORD mode for Ergodex Manager. If checked, recorded Macros will be created with the time delay between keystrokes that you enter. If unchecked, Macros will not include the time delay between keystrokes. Changing this setting does not change the playback timing for Macros that already exist.
View Menu
View > Skin View
(Hot Key - Ctrl + 2) Switch to the Skin View utility. “Ctrl + 1” switches back to the Main Screen.
View > Properties
Show the current Program Profile properties.
Help Menu
Help > Help
(Hot Key – F1) Open the Ergodex Manager Help.
Help > About Ergodex Manager
Show the About screen. Includes copyright notice, Ergodex Manager version and DX1 Pad Firmware version.
Menu Commands
Page 52
52
Skin View Menu Commands
File Menu
File > Change Profile
(Hot Key - Ctrl + O) Change the currently displayed Profile.
File > Import Skin Background
Import a “.bmp”, “.gif”, or “.jpg” image file to use as the background for a Skin.
File > Export Skin Background
Export a background image file to disk. The exported image file does not contain the Key Footprints. To capture the background image with the Key Footprints, select “Edit > Copy Skin to Clipboard” from the Menu.
File > Save
(Hot Key - Ctrl + S) Ergodex Manager automatically saves any updates or changes you make to Users, Profiles, Categories, Macros, and Skins. Accumulated changes are normally written to your hard drive when you close the Ergodex Manager graphical interface. This command forces Ergodex Manager to write changes before you close the interface.
File > Print
(Hot Key - Ctrl + S) Print the currently displayed Skin.
Edit Menu
Edit > Change Skin Background
Select a new background image for the current Skin from the available Skin backgrounds. To use your own image, you must first import it as a Skin background using “File > Import Skin Background”
Edit > Delete Skin Background
Delete the current Skin background and remove it from the list of available backgrounds.
Edit > Copy Skin to Clipboard
Copy the current Footprint layout and background image to the Windows® Clipboard. You can paste the image from the Clipboard to edit it in another graphics program.
Edit > Clear All Footprints
Remove all Key Footprints from the Skin and place them back in the Footprint list.
Edit > Clear Unassigned Footprints
Remove Key Footprints from the Skin for any DX1 Keys that are not assigned with a Macro. The Footprints are placed back in the Footprint list.
Edit > Footprint > Show Outline
Show the outline for the currently selected Key Footprint.
Edit > Footprint > Rotate
Rotate the Outline of the currently selected Key Footprint.
Edit > Footprint > Locked
Lock/Unlock the currently selected Key Footprint. A locked Footprint cannot be moved.
Edit > Footprint > Unassign
Remove the Macro assignment from the DX1 Key of the currently selected Key Footprint.
Edit > Footprint > Clear
Remove the currently selected Key Footprint from the Skin and place it back in the Footprint list.
View Menu
View > Main Screen
(Hot Key - Ctrl + 1) Switch to the Ergodex Manager Main Screen. “Ctrl + 2” switches back to the Skin View utility.
View > Gridlines
Toggle the display of gridlines on the background image of the Skin.
Menu Commands
Page 53
53
View > Footprint > Show Outline
Show/Hide the Outline of the currently selected Key Footprint.
View > Footprint > Show Text
Show/Hide the Macro Name associated with the DX1 Key of the currently selected Key Footprint.
Help Menu
Help > Help
(Hot Key – F1) Open Ergodex Manager Help.
Help > About Ergodex Manager
Show the About screen. Includes copyright notice, Ergodex Manager version and DX1 Pad Firmware version.
Menu Commands
Page 54
54
Care of the DX1 Input System
Like any electronic device, the Ergodex DX1 Input System should be handled with care. Please observed the following guidelines:
Protect the DX1 from extremes in temperature. Don’t leave your system in a car where it could be subjected to very high or low temperatures. High temperatures can shorten the life of electronic devices. Do not store parts or accessories in hot areas.
When electronic equipment, such as the DX1 Input System, has been stored in a colder area and moved to a relatively warmer area, moisture can form inside the equipment. As electronic equipment warms up to its normal operating temperature, this moisture may damage electronic circuit boards. Do not store parts or accessories in cold areas.
Protect the DX1 Input System from temperature extremes.
Precipitation, humidity, and liquids contain minerals that will corrode electronic circuits. Keep all parts and accessories dry.
Allowing dust or dirt to get into moving parts can cause damage. Do not use or store parts or accessories in dusty, dirty areas.
Only qualified personnel may repair the DX1 Input System. There are no user serviceable parts in the DX1 Input System. Do not attempt to open. Non-expert handling may cause damage, will void all product warranties, and will likely cause your DX1 Input System to fail. Tampering with or removing the label on the back of the DX1 Pad will void all product warranties and will likely cause your DX1 Input System to malfunction.
Maintenance of the DX1 Input System
Cleaning the Pad
You may clean your Pad with a damp cloth, but NEVER submerge it in water or allow liquids to spill on it. Do not use harsh chemicals, cleaning solvents, or strong detergents to clean parts or accessories.
Clean the Pad with a damp cloth.
Cleaning the Key Tray
Always remove the Key Tray from the Pad for cleaning. The Key Tray may be cleaned with warm soapy water. Always remove any attached Keys before cleaning the Key Tray.
Cleaning the Keys
The Keys, like the Pad, should be protected from temperature extremes. The Keys should NEVER be submerged in liquid. The adhesive surfaces of the Key bottoms may pick up dirt with repeated use and become less sticky. To restore the Key adhesive, wipe with a damp cotton swab or paper towel and let dry.
Restore Key adhesive by wiping with water and allowing to dry.
Care & Maintenance
Page 55
55
Troubleshooting
If your DX1 System is not working properly, you can refer to the status lights on the DX1 Pad to help you diagnose the problem.
Interference
Your DX1 Input System is designed to work in any standard home or office environment under normal use. However, some conditions may cause your DX1 Pad to experience interference. If the DX1 Pad detects a condition that causes interference with its normal operation, both the Red and Green lights on the Pad will blink simultaneously (every two seconds, both lights will blink on briefly).
Conditions that may cause your DX1 Pad to report interference include:
• Placing large metal objects over the Active Surface of the pad.
• Locating the Pad close to electrical equipment or machinery.
• Pressing and holding more than 10 to 15 DX1 Keys on your Pad
simultaneously. (The Pad will recognize up to six simultaneous DX1 Key presses.)
If your DX1 Pad encounters interference, try to identify and remove the source or move the Pad to a different location. Once the interference is removed, the Pad will resume normal operation.
Troubleshooting
Loading...